Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
7,417 ratings
1,462 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP
Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

S
Nov 30, 2020

for the beginer like me i have experience in banking of 8 years still for me this fundamentals are new specially quantitative modelling.Kindly provide banking related examples in here too.\n\nthanks

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,440 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Luís C

Jun 5, 2020

I enjoyed the fact that this course covers a lot of the baseline stats needed for Data Science, and does it in a very objective way, with examples and focusing on interpretation and usability. Loved it.

By Rory W

Feb 11, 2021

Fantastic Lectures and easy to follow. Only feedback would be if possible to provide feedback on the questions/quiz at the end and then slightly change the wording/numbers if you want to redo the quiz.

By Shweta

Dec 1, 2020

for the beginer like me i have experience in banking of 8 years still for me this fundamentals are new specially quantitative modelling.Kindly provide banking related examples in here too.

thanks

By Ali R S

Mar 21, 2020

A great introductory course to quantitative modelling. Videos are very concise and clear with great examples. Course is well balanced between theory and applications. Overall a great experience.

By Sarah A B

Apr 10, 2020

Amazing learning, easy to follow descriptive examples, enough detailed content and examples to go in depth in the subjects. I really appreciate how well put together this program is. Thank you!

By Yunzhi C

Apr 10, 2021

It is structured in a logical way with clear explanations into different types of quantitative models. Basic knowledge and easy to understand. The quiz is helpful to consolidate understanding.

By KUNAL D

Jun 8, 2020

The explanations were lucid and to the point.Much of the emphasis was laid on conceptual clarity rather than solving mechanically the equations. A good course to build intuitive understanding.

By Daniel E S P

Aug 4, 2020

Very clear and undertandable explanations but you need to have previous knowledge of basic concepts, otherwise, you're goning to have a difficult time. Basic Calculs and Probability is neede.

By Hayley

Jan 7, 2021

Good Course, the slides are very informative and I suggest you keep these for future use. I've studied statistics and modeling before, so this may be a biased opinion. overall great quality

By Anuj K

Apr 9, 2020

I always used to wonder what Regression means and why the term was being thrown around casually. Now I know what are its underpinnings and what it is used for. Thank you Professor Waterman.

By Monu A

Jan 16, 2021

Amazing Introductory Course. Help in understanding the categorization of Quantitative models with real-life examples and also helps in understanding the calculation for a few basic models.

By Oscar F A R

Feb 18, 2017

This course helped me to understand, the main concepts about modeling with log, linear power and exponentials functions with very interesting examples of the real life, highly recommended.

By Eduardo A C

Mar 28, 2021

Very good course. Well explained. I fully recommend for all those who needs to understand how to make predictions and help entrepreneurs to reach their objectives through data analysis.

By Brian M

Mar 19, 2021

Great course. I would suggest providing explanations for quiz questions that students get wrong, if possible. I like the presentation style of the professor and the pace of the course.

By Divya Y

Oct 30, 2018

This course has fundamentals of statistics. Course content is to the point and covers in depth using examples. However, brushing up of stats 101 is required before starting the course.

By WASIU A A

Aug 30, 2017

It was a wonderful experience. The amount of knowledge have been able to acquired within the short while is quite unimaginable. I'm not the same person as at when I started the course.

By Andrew P R

Feb 2, 2021

This was excellent. As someone who is trying to learn the ropes of quantitative analysis, I like having a road map to the different types out there. This did a great job for exposure.

By Paola C

Sep 6, 2020

Es un curso muy completo como introducción al curso de Negocios y Modelos financieros. El profesor explica las cosas formal además de que siempre te da ejemplos que suceden día a día.

By Luis A C E

May 18, 2020

The teacher explains well, in a clear and concise way, he thinks systematically and models problems easily, he also gives many appropriate examples so that you understand the subject.

By Lloyd W

Feb 18, 2021

Very informative, clear and easy for someone to grasp who only has a mild background in statistics. Would highly recommend if one wished to begin to understand modeling fundamentals.

By Ousmane N

Oct 24, 2020

The course is very clear and valuable for someone who don't have English as mother tong. The professor advance step by step and allow the better understanding of the technical terms.

By Cyprian

Jun 26, 2020

Excellent refresher course. Breaks down difficult concepts into easy-to-absorb heuristics. Perfect course for someone new to modelling and a good refresher for a seasoned modeler.

By Galib H K

Aug 21, 2017

This was an awesome course on quantitative modeling. The beauty of math in business modeling is clearly shown here. Very enthusiastic explanation. Thanks for such a great course!

By Vitor L

Apr 16, 2021

Very good overall, basic level of statistics and data interpretations. The explanations are very clear and could be easily followed by students from non-quantitative backgrounds

By Bernard N S

Sep 14, 2020

It's an interesting and insightful course. I'd reccomend anyone with interest in Finance modeling to embark on this programme. Thanks to Coursera and Professor Richard Waterman.