Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
7,555 ratings
1,483 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP
Jun 15, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

S
Nov 30, 2020

for the beginer like me i have experience in banking of 8 years still for me this fundamentals are new specially quantitative modelling.Kindly provide banking related examples in here too.\n\nthanks

Filter by:

1376 - 1400 of 1,460 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Charles C W

May 10, 2018

Perhaps I was expecting too much given the reputation of the institution, but this is a course for beginners.

By Pedro B

Jun 17, 2017

Could come a bit deeper in more complex examples at the end of the course. Most of them were too simple.

By dianthera

Feb 1, 2021

I think this course is too easy for students with Probability and Mathematical Statistics knowledges...

By Yuan Z

Mar 9, 2019

General description of the modeling, need further work or pre-understandings for some of the contents.

By Johnny V

Jul 10, 2016

Felt a little rudimentary until the last week. I hope the specialization picks up after this point.

By Michael S

Dec 6, 2017

Not enough about formulas or real world application. Was hoping to see examples applied in Excel.

By Sidney A

May 8, 2016

Nice primer for modeling, but wish there were more workable problems to help hit the point home.

By Bharat J

Jun 20, 2020

Too descriptive for a quantitative course. Would've preferred more problem solving exercises.

By Eike A H

Sep 9, 2019

-no explanation on errors

-too theoretical and abstract with lack of examples and own practice

By Siva S B

Mar 26, 2018

Could have been more advanced from the perspective of practical use-cases of data modeling.

By jyoti v

Oct 23, 2018

The course is a bit too introductory for me. I'm looking for more challenging material.

By Kangkang W

Oct 17, 2016

most contents are explicit on ppt, it is sometimes not necessary to view the lectures.

By Josh R

May 17, 2020

Lots of information, not much opportunity to apply practical usage to the theories

By martino g

Mar 30, 2020

Content is good but the teacher is extremely boring. Had to struggle to finish it.

By Paul M

Jul 7, 2020

My name was spelled incorrectly on my certificate, how to do I correct this?

By Mathew L

Apr 27, 2016

I would have liked the quizzes to explain why an answer was right or wrong.

By Brendan C

May 22, 2018

good course, quizzes should not be locked though...disappointed with that.

By Deleted A

Feb 19, 2018

I think the contents of this course can be more difficult and challenging.

By Michelle l G

Feb 9, 2017

It was an interesting module, however, not sure how I will apply this in

By Gary V

Jul 11, 2017

Very basic things that any person with a stats background should know

By Alec E

Jul 23, 2020

Not that enjoyable. Decent information but pretty boring to watch.

By Abhed M

Jan 12, 2020

It should be more rigorous. I completed this course in three days.

By Chalal S

Oct 8, 2021

The explaining is good, but the concepts in the course are basic.

By Dominique B

Apr 8, 2020

a bit too simple, I would have expected more practical excersises

By TheSovereignIndividual

Apr 13, 2020

Nice, course - could spend more time on practice and examples.