Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
4,145 ratings
799 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 774 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Justin F

Jun 07, 2017

Great introduction to modeling techniques. Regression was covered the most in-depth, but it would have been nice to see this coverage extended to the probabilistic graphical models discussed briefly in the beginning. Still a great short course to take.

By Zarina

May 25, 2017

Thank you to Prof. Waterman and Coursera for a very insightful and inspiring course on the Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling. The course instructions were delivered in a very clear manner, which helped absorb the complicated material more easily. The course allowed me to learn new and polish existing knowledge on the topic of Modeling. The course also opened the door for a further study of the Modeling and related topics.

By Patricio B C

Jun 20, 2018

Gran curso introductorio.

By Byron C

Mar 26, 2018

Great course. Focused on foundational concepts. The concepts are explained very well.

By Dave S

Nov 09, 2016

Great introductory course on modeling.

By Yoshihiro K

Jan 22, 2017

G

By Godwin S C

Jul 08, 2018

Very insightful course. Will recommend this for any student. One will need to read the recommended book earlier on in the course the appreciate and understand the course more, especially if your stats and probability is a bit rusty or absent.I enjoyed the examples in the course as well. Very practical and I can relate to them

By Victoria C

May 25, 2017

Helpful and straightforward.

By Fabiano B

Jan 10, 2017

Excellent Course, Material and Professor .

By YING W

Jul 23, 2017

不错的课程。

By Yan L

Jun 22, 2017

Useful introductory course to models

By Esuene S

Aug 10, 2016

An excellent course content delivered by an equally excellent instructor/professor

By Enkhtuvshin

Mar 30, 2016

Comprehensive, great lessons

By Androniki P

Feb 19, 2017

While a student, I couldn't understand any of these, the probabilistic, deterministic models, their types, differences and applications. I would usually memorize when to use them just to pass the course. Now, this time I feel I really comprehend them. And it happened smooth and quite easily because the instructor was amazing. The material was well presented and gradually getting more advanced. U would highly recommend the course! Thank you.

By Valentin Z

Sep 23, 2017

Brilliant Fundamentals! Outer simplicity hides a lot of systematized knowledge and very structured and intuitively clear material.

By Scott v K

Mar 01, 2016

Good introduction to elements of quantitative analysis and modeling for business operations.

By Alejandro C

Feb 15, 2017

excellent

By Piotr P

Feb 20, 2017

Great way to introduce someone like me, with no business/mathemarical education, to the basic concepts of modelling.

By Federico V

Sep 01, 2017

Clear and concise. Recommended.

By Scott S

Mar 07, 2016

Great course with some

By Richard D

Oct 02, 2016

Great professor. Wish it went into how to do this with Excel, but I can look that up myself. Clear, well-articulated descriptions of various quantitative models.

By John P

May 20, 2017

Great review of key concepts! Easy to learn format. Looking forward to completing this specialization.

By DIONYSIOS Z

Oct 17, 2016

This introductory course is perfect. It gives you time to think (you don't have to spend too much time in order to understand the material/concepts) and it is self-sufficient. I would suggest to set the playback rate at 1.25 since the teacher talks really slow. In addition, I would like to see the teacher talking like a human being instead of reading his notes in a black background but this is not super important for me. All in all, I totally recommend it!

By Hao W

Feb 28, 2016

Good materials for the fundamentals of quantitative modeling. Need to pick up some maths and stats theories to help read the materials.

By Sorin G

Dec 30, 2017

I have enjoyed it!