Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
4,395 ratings
844 reviews

About the Course

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

Top reviews

AP

Jun 16, 2019

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

Jul 31, 2019

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 819 Reviews for Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

By Aditya J

Dec 30, 2017

Best online Course in Financial Modelling !

By Roderick B

Mar 13, 2016

Very insightful and excellent explanation by the videos.

By Kumar T

Jul 18, 2016

nicely thought and concepts well explained.

By Rowena L

May 09, 2018

Professor is engaging and explains well, which is very important! Some are just such a bore I just fall asleep. Wish there were more details and demonstration on modelling.

By Akshat S

Jun 16, 2016

Great course

By Pushon G

Jan 15, 2017

Very comprehensible way of teaching. It has helped me in many ways

By William M

Apr 27, 2016

Great course that introduces all the various topics in modeling and gets you to started thinking about how to process information, in addition to giving you the tools and skills needed to succeed. Well worth the price.

By Victor_M

Sep 29, 2016

Very useful and helpful! Thank you Professor Waterman!

By Priyanka S

Mar 19, 2018

Concepts were made so ease to understand

By Hristo D

Mar 01, 2016

The course was very useful in introducing me to the basic concepts of modelling. I am now familiar with the necessary vocabulary to participate in conversations about modelling. It also refreshed my intuition on the basic mathematical functions. Most interesting part was the steps I have to follow when I want to construct a particular model in order to help me in answering questions about a business process.I also found out that this is a continuous process and usually I might not construct good one from the first time. I am looking forward to the next stages and so far I would definitely recommend it to my friends!

By George L

May 12, 2016

Fabulous foundation course. Strikes a balance between assuming no previous knowledge and challenging the learner with some deeper concepts.

By valentina c

Nov 24, 2016

I really like this course. Excellent professor.

By Jose A H M

Feb 29, 2016

Great introduction into mathematical ways to model real complex problems.

By Nicolás I M B

Dec 02, 2017

Great course with a great instructor; would have been interesting to model though.

By Flavio F

Jun 07, 2016

Very good course so far.

By 李瑞

Apr 12, 2016

great explenation

By Omar P A

Sep 22, 2016

Excellent course. interesting and every class so much clear.

By Felipe A C

Sep 23, 2017

Very clear and easy pace, and very interesting, looking forward for another Wharton course.

By Ryan P

Jul 12, 2016

Very well explained! Thank You very Much

By Jonathan I O

Jun 01, 2017

The delivery is just perfect.

By peter a

Jun 08, 2017

Excellent, clear presentation. One would be well advised to know pre-calc beforehand. This would be a more complete course if multiple math exercises were offered as well as more detail about the math formulas. But the concepts are well presented, and one can still pass the tests without being a total 'math-head'. The transcripts of the lectures could really use editing.....really!

By Ujjwala M

Mar 09, 2018

Explained in a simple and easy to understand way in the right pace.

By John C

Feb 08, 2018

Very good. Covers the basics thoroughly and in easily digestible lessons.

By Colin E

Mar 03, 2016

I think this was a very good course. Level of instruction and pace were appropriate for someone with 2 hours/week to spend and who wanted to improve their knowledge of these topics. Its probably more useful for someone with some previous experience, limited time and some problems they want to solve, rather than a student. It had a good balance between a lot of breadth for time invested. If you approach this as a high-level overview that will help you efficiently focus your own search for knowledge it's extremely well done; I thought knowledge communicated for the amount of time spent was quite high.

By Tse K Y

Feb 19, 2017

wonderful introduction !!!!excellent!!!!