Chevron Left
Back to Modeling Risk and Realities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modeling Risk and Realities by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
2,002 ratings
288 reviews

About the Course

Useful quantitative models help you to make informed decisions both in situations in which the factors affecting your decision are clear, as well as in situations in which some important factors are not clear at all. In this course, you can learn how to create quantitative models to reflect complex realities, and how to include in your model elements of risk and uncertainty. You’ll also learn the methods for creating predictive models for identifying optimal choices; and how those choices change in response to changes in the model’s assumptions. You’ll also learn the basics of the measurement and management of risk. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to build your own models with your own data, so that you can begin making data-informed decisions. You’ll also be prepared for the next course in the Specialization....

Top reviews

JN
Apr 12, 2018

covers good amount of material and exactly what is in the outline, presented with enough detail to follow. Good walk-through of the spreadsheets helps understanding, easy to follow along and practice.

LC
Dec 18, 2016

Material was very well presented. Week 3 was challenging, but taking time to print out the slides, work through them rigorously proved very helpful. I found all sections very, very informative.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 282 Reviews for Modeling Risk and Realities

By Irina K

Aug 6, 2018

Only the first lecturer was good. Where are clear excel examples for Week 3, 3.2? You know that students have been complaining over 7-8 months and did nothing! It's a total waste of money.

SERGEY SAVIN is the BEST!!

By Jorge I L

Dec 29, 2019

I felt that it was very repetitive and lacked many tools for risk analysis. Also, i felt it repeated many things from the previous courses in the specialization, which turned ir very tedious.

By Michal C

May 7, 2020

All was great, but week 3 has serious issues with linking what is in the lectures and in the quiz. Also the forum is unmoderated and there are over a year old complaints. The rest was great.

By Brendan G

Oct 17, 2019

I wish after each quiz it would show you how to get the right answer then generate a different question when retaking the quiz. You cannot learn without knowing what you did wrong.

By Viktor G

Apr 26, 2016

Outdated presentation style: mostly "voice behind text and Excel window" long... long videos.

I'm not questioning the material itself, but I was heavily bored during the course.

By Jordan L

May 23, 2018

Very difficult to understand the professors, and I would have wished for more demonstration on excel, rather than explanation through slides.

By Mohammed S

Aug 4, 2020

comparing with the operations analytics with the same instructors it's not as a good as it but at all its nice course

By Jamon F

Nov 3, 2020

Pretty tough, a lot of information to cover. I like challenging material though. 3 stars because I was challenged

By Jeff T

Dec 31, 2019

Reasonably good. Would like to have seen the week 4 extend into using more modern tools such as R or Python.

By Stanley L W

Mar 6, 2019

the first two lectures are great, but the last two come a little hurry and not illustrate very well

By Brendan C

Jun 4, 2018

quiz should be unlocked. Some concepts could be explained better.

By Zijian D

Dec 2, 2018

The second lecturer only read all the text in lecture slide.

By André I

Oct 6, 2018

the quizzes are not really helpful/relevant.

By Evan H

May 21, 2019

Some concepts were hard to follow.

By Cong W

Feb 17, 2020

The courses can be quicker.....

By j v

May 25, 2017

Slides were not useful.

By Zeming Y

Jan 12, 2018

okie not that great

By Ao Z

Nov 19, 2017

希望课程内容可以再深入一些

By Deleted A

Feb 12, 2017

Basic Course.

By STEVE S

Apr 11, 2018

I do not recommend this course or the specialization. I will cite below sentences from the course and you can be the judge yourself.

*** start of cited sentences ***

if we plug in the expected values … we get fifty thousand times ninety, plus nine hundred thousand times ten, plus one hundred thousand times six, plus one hundred fifty thousand times two …….

*** end of cited sentences ***

The professor was actually reading this calculation:

500,000*90 + 900,000*10 + 100,000*6 + 150,000*2

I sat through 3 courses to realize that I should have dropped it in course 1 week 1.

By Brijesh B

Aug 21, 2020

The course was basic and doesn't prepare anyone with an industrial perspective. The content is not enough explanatory on why are we calculating certain numbers. Week 3 was totally unclear topic. Also, more realistic examples would have made the course better.

By Natalia B

Mar 16, 2019

Although great content, I found that the week three has been more theoretical with not enough detail. I still manage some key concepts, but I would have love to understand more how to use in practice the theory.

By Joshua G

Jun 9, 2020

Instructors were not very descriptive. Worst course within the specialization. Really disappointing because the topics covered would've been super useful if I completely understood them.

By Davide B

Aug 7, 2016

Basically i resume of economics concepts that can be taken for granted as a prerequisite of the course

By Andrey T

Jul 3, 2017

Could be more content, and quizzes are really stupid - it's just plugging in numbers!!!