Chevron Left
Back to Modeling Risk and Realities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modeling Risk and Realities by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
2,055 ratings
298 reviews

About the Course

Useful quantitative models help you to make informed decisions both in situations in which the factors affecting your decision are clear, as well as in situations in which some important factors are not clear at all. In this course, you can learn how to create quantitative models to reflect complex realities, and how to include in your model elements of risk and uncertainty. You’ll also learn the methods for creating predictive models for identifying optimal choices; and how those choices change in response to changes in the model’s assumptions. You’ll also learn the basics of the measurement and management of risk. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to build your own models with your own data, so that you can begin making data-informed decisions. You’ll also be prepared for the next course in the Specialization....

Top reviews

JN
Apr 12, 2018

covers good amount of material and exactly what is in the outline, presented with enough detail to follow. Good walk-through of the spreadsheets helps understanding, easy to follow along and practice.

LC
Dec 18, 2016

Material was very well presented. Week 3 was challenging, but taking time to print out the slides, work through them rigorously proved very helpful. I found all sections very, very informative.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 291 Reviews for Modeling Risk and Realities

By Yashowardhan

Sep 23, 2020

The course content was really good and rightly paced. The quizzes were really good and were designed to actually help participant understand the theoretical concepts in a better way.

By Chintamani D

May 11, 2021

Absolute gold. This course taught me to use the complex concepts I knew in excel. This was a challenging and interesting course and definitely useful for people who work in finance.

By Ashwin C

Sep 28, 2020

One of the most useful courses I've taken to date. This course is what the Spreadsheets and Models course should have been. Only complaint was week 3 was unnecessarily lengthy.

By Federico V

Nov 18, 2017

Super clear and super helpful. Nothing otherworldly however I learned new ways of doing data analysis, and it made me dig more into the potential of Excel for scenario analysis.

By Rujuta K

Apr 9, 2018

Really great course! Learnt a lot, more than promised by the course description. The course instructors are really good and very articulate. Thoroughly pleased with the course!

By Karl S

Mar 7, 2018

I thought that this course was tremendously helpful, as it really drove home how to execute simulations which is something that I had considered but not really utilized before.

By Jacob V

Mar 22, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I not only learned a lot in terms of ability to use Excel and am now better equipped to approach data in certain (and uncertain) situations

By Gustavo A

Dec 26, 2017

Great examples, the best course of the specialization so far.

Week 3 was a little bit slow. I think it was going through some theory that was already covered by course 1.

By Ashwin R

Dec 19, 2020

Very good course content. Was looking to apply to non-financial (engineering) modeling. There are similarities and may be able to use the same methodologies to simulate

By Ardian F

May 4, 2020

This course has rich theoretical and practical material if you want to study about risk and reward analysis.

Recommended for aspiring young finance or business analyst!

By John D

Feb 14, 2021

Excellent orientation on risk and modelling. Both instructors were clear, articulate and well-organized. The modules , examples and quizzes reinforced the learning.

By Anna F D

Jun 15, 2020

This course was very insightful. It's a great refresher course if you have a finance background. It's also beginner-friendly if you do not have finance background.

By Ina J

Jun 9, 2019

The professors are amazing. I could grasp all the concepts easily because of the good pace maintained by the professors. Thank you so much for this course!

By Ambuya J

Oct 29, 2018

The course was what I expected it to be. I was desperately looking for enlightenment in model risk and realities which was well delivered in the course.

By Dmitry P

Aug 9, 2017

A well-structured and practice-oriented course with a few useful practical tips about Excel-based business models focusing on risk and reward aspects.

By Juan R M P

Apr 20, 2016

Excellent course. Great and useful examples given by instructors. Also, very helpful that editables files used in examples are available for students.

By Aleksandra Y

Jan 4, 2019

Professor Savin is a rare kind, who explains very clear and brilliant. My excel skills were also sharpened. Overall, a course is worth attending.

By Christine J A

May 27, 2020

Course was easiest to digest compared to other courses in this specialization; PDFs and Excel files provided sufficient learning opportunities

By Paul B

May 31, 2017

Great course. Very practical in approach and well explained by the instructors. This tied well to the earlier courses in the specialization.

By Michael A

Apr 30, 2018

Excellent instruction: slides and lectures are well coordinated. Material is interesting and the test re-enforce the slides and lectures.

By Khubaib A

Mar 14, 2020

This surely was the best course, amongst the last 3. The instructors were great, went in-depth and the tests also had some standard.

By Omar G A

Jul 8, 2019

Well taught. Interesting for the novice at least. Even for the one with experience in modeling and statistics but in another field.

By Teuku N Z J

Jul 6, 2019

The course was very helpful as it gives a balanced theoretical and practical understanding in dealing with risk and uncertainties.

By Don

May 7, 2020

By far the best course of "business & financial modeling". Getting my respect back after losing it in the "spreadsheets & models"

By Meg B

May 13, 2016

Top notch instructors. Very organized. Materials were outstanding, especially the simulations. Enjoyed this class very much.