Chevron Left
Back to Managing Social and Human Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Social and Human Capital by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
1,989 ratings
347 reviews

About the Course

People are the most valuable asset of any business, but they are also the most unpredictable, and the most difficult asset to manage. And although managing people well is critical to the health of any organization, most managers don't get the training they need to make good management decisions. Now, award-winning authors and renowned management Professors Mike Useem and Peter Cappelli of the Wharton School have designed this course to introduce you to the key elements of managing people. Based on their popular course at Wharton, this course will teach you how to motivate individual performance and design reward systems, how to design jobs and organize work for high performance, how to make good and timely management decisions, and how to design and change your organization’s architecture. By the end of this course, you'll have developed the skills you need to start motivating, organizing, and rewarding people in your organization so that you can thrive as a business and as a social organization....

Top reviews

DM

Oct 20, 2018

Excellent Course. Understanding human behavior is one of the most difficult challenges in an organization. This course describes the challenges well and offers approaches to tackling those challenges.

J

Nov 05, 2019

A fantastic, thought provoking course. Gave us a lot of things to reflect on and be mindful of in different situations in the organization. Thank you Prof Cappelli and Prof Useem. Grateful to you.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 341 Reviews for Managing Social and Human Capital

By Matheus B

Mar 29, 2019

The actual course was quite good. Did not particularly like the quizes, as the questioning did not test insight, but blunt facts (almost to the degree of "what was the second thing John said"). Would recommend, but not for a certificate.

By Maria L Z

Apr 20, 2020

I really liked the way the professors explain this subject which i ve never heard before, I mean all of us know human resources and their tasks but not all the studies and the thoery concerning the management of the individuals.

By Ziyi W

May 02, 2019

While the case studies in the course are quite interesting, a lot of improvements can be made... I feel the effort from the professors can be greater when I compare this course to the previous two courses in the specialization.

By Gregor Q

May 28, 2020

This was an interesting course with lots of useful information. However, especially Professor Useem's lectures occasionally felt rambling rather than carefully presented. More careful scripting would have been great here.

By Lori K

Apr 21, 2019

I found the course fascinating. I wish we had more information and longer videos.

Also, I would have liked the video transcripts to have been edited before passing on to students. So many mistakes and misspellings.

By Sheldon M

Apr 03, 2020

Good info, a bit vague in terms of what needs to be deeply absorbed, and what is simply examples.

The last guy took a bit long to get to his points, but overall the two were pleasant to listen to, and intelligent.

By Shaun Z

Oct 04, 2018

Much of the content is too anecdotal, but in a good way. Thus the four stars. However, more detailed coverage of the points on the slides, or at least more references for further study, will improve the course.

By Chase H

Feb 27, 2019

Overal this course is quite useful to me, and I think it will be better if we can go into more details of current workplace examples, such as the success and failed stories of leading organizational changes.

By Vyom G

May 24, 2020

Faculty were quite articulate in explaining ideas and the content was also at par. Would help if there was more focus on Social Capital and more real life examples on disruptive org structures in start ups.

By Glenda C M

Sep 06, 2020

I really enjoyed learning the course. i wanna thank the instructors for the hard work they've done , to help me achieve more knowledge and skills based on managing social and human capital.

By Rohit B

Jun 11, 2020

Its basically understanding the human behavior ,yes it has some amazing examples which will make you wonder a lot . So its a sweet little course in this business foundation specialization.

By Karolis K

Jan 15, 2018

Very good quality content with a lot of real-life examples. Although I have seeked more evidence-based ideas to take away. I mean moe theory that could be jused in real life

By Derek E

May 16, 2017

Could have been more challenging, but overall a worthwhile course. Introduces a great range of ideas with real world case studies. Easy to understand and well presented.

By Tim V

Jun 04, 2020

In general a good course with useful content, but lack of good examples and relatively short content compared to other courses of their business foundation specification.

By Melanie G

Jan 08, 2018

Prof. Useem was difficult to follow. His train of thought kept veering off and I often struggled to find the information he was wishing to convey, unfortunately.

By Nick P

Aug 29, 2017

Mr Cappelli's set up of the foundations was engaging and interesting. I especially enjoyed Mr Useem's framing of the content through examples and narratives.

By Tissah K

Apr 08, 2019

Interesting course although i struggled a little due to monotony and understanding of some examples. it is a course that i would recommend to a friend

By Venkata P T M

Jul 30, 2019

Really loved the case studies involved. Helped me understand examples of both good and bad kinds of job design, decision making and systems change

By Ramil A D

Jun 25, 2017

The course was very well presented with practical examples. Hope you will come up with more like this or one program for HR related courses.

By Emerson P

Apr 28, 2020

The course is interisting, but very focused in US market...should be more international with more global examples.

By Soeren J

Oct 22, 2017

Some of the "stories" seemed fairly long and it was not always clear how the "stories" linked to theory/theories.

By Andrew M

Feb 03, 2017

Very Good Course, but 3rd lesson was incomplete and the missing section was not addressed by coursera.

By Sumitra B

Mar 26, 2020

Very informative. Enjoyed every session with Mike. His way of explaining giving examples are amazing.

By Alessandro o

Sep 07, 2019

Very clear and enjoyable. Plenty of nice anedoctes that make learning fun! Thanks for that!

By Philip R

Jul 04, 2017

Good teaching and material, but felt somewhat out-dated (most article references 1960-80s)