Chevron Left
Back to Managing Social and Human Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Social and Human Capital by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
2,505 ratings

About the Course

People are the most valuable asset of any business, but they are also the most unpredictable, and the most difficult asset to manage. And although managing people well is critical to the health of any organization, most managers don't get the training they need to make good management decisions. Now, award-winning authors and renowned management Professors Mike Useem and Peter Cappelli of the Wharton School have designed this course to introduce you to the key elements of managing people. Based on their popular course at Wharton, this course will teach you how to motivate individual performance and design reward systems, how to design jobs and organize work for high performance, how to make good and timely management decisions, and how to design and change your organization’s architecture. By the end of this course, you'll have developed the skills you need to start motivating, organizing, and rewarding people in your organization so that you can thrive as a business and as a social organization....

Top reviews

DM

Oct 19, 2018

Excellent Course. Understanding human behavior is one of the most difficult challenges in an organization. This course describes the challenges well and offers approaches to tackling those challenges.

CE

Jan 12, 2022

Really enjoyed the cases studies throught the weeks and well having the pdfs for taking notes. The final notes on management and decision making will be on my note list for work reflection for sure.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 424 Reviews for Managing Social and Human Capital

By Dimas B

Nov 28, 2018

i think this course is absolutely good for this function, simple to operate the website and good speaker in this course video.

By Ronnie G M

Oct 23, 2016

Incredible course. The material taught and discussions held where practical and applicable to the real world situation today.

By Naufil S

Jun 9, 2023

Excellent course, with all relevant and practical information. It's been a thorough enjoyable and great learning experience.

By Deleted A

Jun 6, 2018

Both professors are great in terms of communication, competence and experience. I loved this course, interesting and useful.

By Baidyanath B

Jun 8, 2020

Exceptional course for professionals looking to take more people management roles and effectively building & managing teams

By Dennis S

Mar 17, 2018

really enjoyed this course...the stories that were paired with the theories are extremely memorable and helpful. thank you!

By Barbara R

May 5, 2020

Using real life examples to introduce us to the relevant theoretical concepts was very powerful. It will stick! Thank you!

By Solomon U

Jul 11, 2019

You will learn better human management practices.I love,most especially,the knowledge I gained about organizational design

By Chiara C

Mar 7, 2018

Great professors, very much engaging and providing examples from real life. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge!

By N.C.

May 20, 2020

Excellent course highlighting the course content through REAL world examples. Great for anyone in a leadership position.

By Jo-Anne W

Apr 26, 2020

Very interesting course! I learned a lot during the last few weeks! Keep in mind that it is only an introduction though!

By Indraroop G D

Mar 31, 2018

The course is very good. The thing I liked about this course is everything is illustrated through examples. Very nice :)

By Camila I G

Apr 17, 2020

Great methods when it comes to teaching theory. It was very easy to understand and great information on how to manage!

By Emily M

Apr 8, 2020

excellent course, i especially liked the first 2 parts of the specification and the addition of videos and researches.

By Vivek G

Jan 10, 2017

This is just a dream course for an entrepreneur. Their are lot of challenging topics clarified by wonderful examples.

By 施倩倩

Nov 9, 2017

The course was great, and the professors were really knowledgable. I hope this course can add more study materials.

By Ambika N

Sep 18, 2018

Some very interesting and nuanced examples to help elucidate human behaviour and management tactics. Learnt a lot!

By Christopher N

Jun 21, 2017

Good course on this topic. Best thing is that they provide good real life examples about the issues they discuss.

By Matt G

May 14, 2018

Informative! There is alot of considerations in managing and hiring new employees and this sums it up quite well!

By Himanya B

Feb 27, 2021

Both Mike & Peter did a wonderful job communicating complex ideas with anecdotes and examples. Thank you guys!

By Koh Y W W

Feb 11, 2020

Overall, a great course to learn about managing human capital. I wish it had further reading of more examples.

By Matthew L

Apr 24, 2020

Amazing anecdotes from both professors, both were extremely knowledgeable and provided great course material

By Mahbub H

Jul 25, 2017

A must to join course for those who want to increase knowledge and skills about the unseen resources around.

By paa D

May 1, 2017

The course has really enlightened me on managing social and human capital. Kudos to the course instructors

By Srimonti K

Jan 10, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed this course - more than I thought I would. Both professors are riveting storytellers.