Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.7
stars
45,108 ratings
8,441 reviews

About the Course

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today....

Top reviews

RS
May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

MG
Jun 26, 2020

I throughly enjoyed the course and the fact that everything was explained thoroughly. I always enjoyed Dr. White's personal experience with Data Science as well as other Data Scientists point of view.

Filter by:

8126 - 8150 of 8,384 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Aleksandr S

Oct 25, 2020

Generally useless pile of videos explaining basic stuff about data science without saying anything useful. Final assignment was a total joke focused only on one particularly uninteresting and not-so-relevant topic. Very disappointed

By Muhammad S

Aug 9, 2020

I finished all three weeks did all the quizzes and even delivered my final assignment of week 3... and suddenly i lost the progress of the first 2 weeks!!! How is that!?!?!?!?

I had to redo the quizzes again to gain the certificate

By Olivia

Feb 7, 2021

This course is quite honestly not worth the money spent. It's such a high level overview of "data science." The topics covered in this course are quite literally what would be covered solely on Day 1 of a real college course.

By Grace B

Sep 17, 2019

I felt this course could have been a lot shorter. The reading were okay but it seemed like a lot of fluff and not so much information. Really, it can be summed up in maybe 15 minutes of videos and the 4 short readings.

By Daniel B

Apr 22, 2020

The amount of structure and formality is not in keeping with the quantity of practical knowledge and skills i'm walking away with. Hoping that the course accelerates a LOT or I'll probably look elsewhere.

By Muthumari

Feb 17, 2021

This course is totally theoretical and no hands-on available.

Mostly this course cover the personal experience of the data scientist.

Three weeks form this course of no use.

Please try to give more details.

By Catherine P

Sep 15, 2020

I feel like I learned a few things but I could have learned all of those in a half hour video rather than a full course. The course also felt like an ad for data science and IBM more so than a course.

By auden w

Jul 22, 2020

The course videos and readings were interesting but passing the course is not worth your time. The quizzes and final project are only focused on restating what you read, making the class unchallenging

By Adam P

Mar 23, 2020

An okay introduction to what data science means and to careers in the field, but basically nothing in the way of skills provided. Hopefully the other courses in the series will provide more of that.

By Steven P M

May 22, 2018

Introduction with a capital I. In the final assignment they've asked the students to describe things like "The Table of Contents" and "The Executive Summary". Really? Are you kidding me...

By Sanket p

Nov 19, 2019

The Course provides just very basic introduction to the topic which in my view every applicant must be knowing about.

One good thing was to hear from the professors and others in the field.

By Michael K

Apr 1, 2019

This course seemed more like marketing for data science. I will reserve judgement for later courses, but there is nothing interesting or useful from this first leg of this specialization.

By Trent C

Feb 11, 2020

This course was essentially wikipedia entry level of information. Feels like this was included to increase the amount of time you spend on the course overall, therefore paying more money.

By Marieke P

Aug 29, 2020

A very simple course, that has a few videos trying to 'sell' data science. If you're unsure if the data science field is for you, then you might take a look at this. Otherwise: skip it.

By ASHISH K

Apr 7, 2020

This Course give a basic idea of data science it only explain the terms related to the course.Quiet goon enough to brief you about to decide whether to go with data science field or not.

By Kenneth

Mar 16, 2019

I dont believe reading a couple of articles and being quizzed directly on what is written in front of you is an effective form of learning or training. Need to ask more open questions.

By Vikhyat C

Jul 23, 2020

This course gives you just an idea about introduction to the course in which how & what can you do in data science. But what I felt that it not that type of course for which you pay .

By Tabinda S

May 22, 2020

Readings are not in-depth, and give you an overview of a topic rather than a deeper understanding of it; you don't learn anything technical though checkpoints suggest you should have.

By Joel R

Jan 18, 2021

Could have been quicker. Tests did not gauge learning well--too much rote repeating of assigned reading. Reading passage format was not conducive to reading on laptop or smartphone.

By Nathan A

Aug 14, 2020

It is a bit too focussed on introducing products without going into the theory or methods. it did not help that I had to redo all the quizzes because Coursera lost everyone's data.

By Tatiana

Nov 3, 2020

As a part of the specialization, it's a great introduction course. As a stand-alone course, it's not worth your time if you are familiar with skills data scientist should have.

By Natasha S

Apr 27, 2020

The main points could have been communicated in much less time. For me, it was just something to get through before getting to the more substantial classes that follow.

By Jeremy H

Apr 7, 2019

This is just a bunch of grad students and professors giving their opinion on what Data Science is, it's not really a course so much as an undergrad youtube project.

By Steve O

Oct 30, 2018

Intros are usually boring but this was quite good at giving the big picture and the need for human interaction. The IBM cloud "service" leaves much to be desired.

By Yael L

Feb 13, 2019

this is a promotional course with a lot of buzzwords and zero content. could have been summed up in 2 5min videos. shame on wasting students time and effort.