Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.7
stars
43,947 ratings
8,208 reviews

About the Course

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today....

Top reviews

BB
Feb 21, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

MG
Jun 26, 2020

I throughly enjoyed the course and the fact that everything was explained thoroughly. I always enjoyed Dr. White's personal experience with Data Science as well as other Data Scientists point of view.

Filter by:

7926 - 7950 of 8,156 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Jeremy H

Apr 7, 2019

This is just a bunch of grad students and professors giving their opinion on what Data Science is, it's not really a course so much as an undergrad youtube project.

By Steve O

Oct 30, 2018

Intros are usually boring but this was quite good at giving the big picture and the need for human interaction. The IBM cloud "service" leaves much to be desired.

By Yael L

Feb 13, 2019

this is a promotional course with a lot of buzzwords and zero content. could have been summed up in 2 5min videos. shame on wasting students time and effort.

By Stefanie G

Sep 9, 2019

I thought the course would give a more practical introduction of Data Science. This was more about understanding what it is and how it is applied in theory.

By vaishali p

Sep 19, 2020

CONTENT WAS GOOD , BUT IBM CLOUD WAS VERY COMPLICATED. WAS NOT ABLE TO PROCEED FDURTHER INTO THE COURSE. KINDLY ELABORATE MORE ON PAID AND LITE SERVICES.

By Philipp H

May 8, 2020

only general information, quiz with unnecessary questions, at least I know that the more bathrooms the higher price can be earned by selling a house :)

By Alejandro

Feb 20, 2019

The course is mostly introductory and very basic. I think it could be helpful if you have never had any contact with the Data Science idea.

By Tonia G

Aug 15, 2020

The first part is great but the second part goes super crazy technical and is impossible to keep up without a computer science background.

By Daniel G

Jan 21, 2020

Not necessary in my opinion, have very little viable information and trying to promote the subject by creating unrealistic expectations.

By Valentin B

Nov 21, 2019

Most videos are are very very basic. It seems like an introduction to the introduction. I hope it will go faster in the next courses.

By Ana S

Apr 18, 2020

The course is motivational, but it is long and nothing practical is learned. Also the week 3 grading part doesn't make much sense.

By Lizzy B

Oct 17, 2019

Very (too) general intro to DS

superficial

Questions in tests are often irrelevant and somethimes the answers are just plain wrong

By Sophie L C H

Sep 10, 2019

I did not like the readings. The font was small and the storytelling not so creative and comprehensive. i did like some videos.

By Xiaohan W

May 20, 2019

Good way for beginners to decide if they want to do data science as a career, but poorly designed questions and grading system.

By Ross Q

Dec 31, 2019

An introductory course light on information best suited for those who have not had any formal education beyond high school.

By Zuzanna c

Oct 13, 2018

I believe this course was very long for what it is. I believe it could have been narrowed down to one video of 20 minutes.

By Oludayo

Dec 11, 2018

I didn't expect this style of lecture. Still to be convinced. Mostly interviews. I think the approach should be changed.

By Bryan R

Oct 31, 2019

This probably should have been integrated into Module 2. As a stand-alone it is lacking in much in the way of content.

By Bernardo M B

Dec 13, 2019

Unnecessarily long, although the content is interesting. Quizzes and assignments are not really engaging or too easy

By ozan c o

Oct 7, 2020

There is not much I have learned. Videos were not very informative; text provided in the courser were better off.

By Nathan E

Feb 6, 2020

It was a decent overview of the subject, but I didn't feel like there was a whole lot that wasn't already obvious.

By Chiara P M

May 15, 2019

not that helpful and a bit boring to do the assign, but overall a nice overview f you know zero about data science

By Avery W S

Mar 20, 2019

Doesn't cover any real material, you can move fast through the course, but I found it to be a waste of my time.

By Mukto A

Dec 15, 2020

A very soft introduction to DS, and a massive waste of time. Hope the next courses in the series are better.

By Nicolas C

Jun 17, 2020

Too many videos, very little information and things to apply. I hope the next courses are richer in content.