Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.7
stars
45,044 ratings
8,425 reviews

About the Course

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today....

Top reviews

PD
Jul 18, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

KK
Feb 23, 2020

Terrific introduction to the Data Science course. Never expected but was extremely excited with the quality of content, speakers and a very honest attempt to making this course interesting.\n\nKrishna

Filter by:

8126 - 8150 of 8,372 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Michael K

Apr 1, 2019

This course seemed more like marketing for data science. I will reserve judgement for later courses, but there is nothing interesting or useful from this first leg of this specialization.

By Trent C

Feb 11, 2020

This course was essentially wikipedia entry level of information. Feels like this was included to increase the amount of time you spend on the course overall, therefore paying more money.

By Marieke P

Aug 29, 2020

A very simple course, that has a few videos trying to 'sell' data science. If you're unsure if the data science field is for you, then you might take a look at this. Otherwise: skip it.

By ASHISH K

Apr 7, 2020

This Course give a basic idea of data science it only explain the terms related to the course.Quiet goon enough to brief you about to decide whether to go with data science field or not.

By Kenneth

Mar 16, 2019

I dont believe reading a couple of articles and being quizzed directly on what is written in front of you is an effective form of learning or training. Need to ask more open questions.

By Vikhyat C

Jul 23, 2020

This course gives you just an idea about introduction to the course in which how & what can you do in data science. But what I felt that it not that type of course for which you pay .

By Tabinda S

May 22, 2020

Readings are not in-depth, and give you an overview of a topic rather than a deeper understanding of it; you don't learn anything technical though checkpoints suggest you should have.

By Joel R

Jan 18, 2021

Could have been quicker. Tests did not gauge learning well--too much rote repeating of assigned reading. Reading passage format was not conducive to reading on laptop or smartphone.

By Nathan A

Aug 14, 2020

It is a bit too focussed on introducing products without going into the theory or methods. it did not help that I had to redo all the quizzes because Coursera lost everyone's data.

By Tatiana

Nov 3, 2020

As a part of the specialization, it's a great introduction course. As a stand-alone course, it's not worth your time if you are familiar with skills data scientist should have.

By Natasha S

Apr 27, 2020

The main points could have been communicated in much less time. For me, it was just something to get through before getting to the more substantial classes that follow.

By Jeremy H

Apr 7, 2019

This is just a bunch of grad students and professors giving their opinion on what Data Science is, it's not really a course so much as an undergrad youtube project.

By Steve O

Oct 30, 2018

Intros are usually boring but this was quite good at giving the big picture and the need for human interaction. The IBM cloud "service" leaves much to be desired.

By Yael L

Feb 13, 2019

this is a promotional course with a lot of buzzwords and zero content. could have been summed up in 2 5min videos. shame on wasting students time and effort.

By Stefanie G

Sep 9, 2019

I thought the course would give a more practical introduction of Data Science. This was more about understanding what it is and how it is applied in theory.

By vaishali p

Sep 19, 2020

CONTENT WAS GOOD , BUT IBM CLOUD WAS VERY COMPLICATED. WAS NOT ABLE TO PROCEED FDURTHER INTO THE COURSE. KINDLY ELABORATE MORE ON PAID AND LITE SERVICES.

By Philipp H

May 8, 2020

only general information, quiz with unnecessary questions, at least I know that the more bathrooms the higher price can be earned by selling a house :)

By Alejandro

Feb 20, 2019

The course is mostly introductory and very basic. I think it could be helpful if you have never had any contact with the Data Science idea.

By Tonia G

Aug 15, 2020

The first part is great but the second part goes super crazy technical and is impossible to keep up without a computer science background.

By Daniel G

Jan 21, 2020

Not necessary in my opinion, have very little viable information and trying to promote the subject by creating unrealistic expectations.

By Valentin B

Nov 21, 2019

Most videos are are very very basic. It seems like an introduction to the introduction. I hope it will go faster in the next courses.

By Ana S

Apr 18, 2020

The course is motivational, but it is long and nothing practical is learned. Also the week 3 grading part doesn't make much sense.

By Lizzy B

Oct 17, 2019

Very (too) general intro to DS

superficial

Questions in tests are often irrelevant and somethimes the answers are just plain wrong

By Sophie L C H

Sep 10, 2019

I did not like the readings. The font was small and the storytelling not so creative and comprehensive. i did like some videos.

By Xiaohan W

May 20, 2019

Good way for beginners to decide if they want to do data science as a career, but poorly designed questions and grading system.