Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.7
stars
47,091 ratings
8,848 reviews

About the Course

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today....

Top reviews

SH
Jul 24, 2021

Thank you for this coursera.\n\nI get know experience and knowledge in using different kinds of online tools which are useful and effective. I'll use some of them during my lessons. And lots of thanks

MS
Sep 17, 2020

very useful. i liked and enjoyed the journey of learning in these five weeks. the instructor is very clear and taught very interestingly. Thanks to her. she looked poised and cheerful and professional

Filter by:

8526 - 8550 of 8,828 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Abdelmalek N

Feb 17, 2020

I

l

i

k

e

i

t

By 손승건

Jan 16, 2020

not bad

By MD S H

Nov 30, 2020

great

By Luca A

Mar 1, 2020

Basic

By Antonio S A

Nov 12, 2019

Basic

By Naman P J

Jun 1, 2019

basic

By Isak S

Apr 6, 2021

good

By Muhammad N A K

Oct 24, 2020

Good

By Arti k b

Aug 11, 2020

Good

By Sai S L . J

Jul 10, 2020

GOOD

By Jakub K

May 25, 2020

soso

By Yannick L A

May 8, 2020

Good

By Sudarshan R P

Apr 29, 2020

Good

By Shaojia W

Mar 24, 2020

good

By Ashish D

Dec 22, 2019

Good

By POULOMI S

May 11, 2019

good

By Catherine L

Sep 30, 2019

V

By Joe W

Oct 29, 2019

After working as a data scientist looking to add "credentials" based on these certificates, I didn't learn any new concepts. If you have never heard of data science and are in high school or just starting to learn about the field, this course would be useful. Otherwise, if you already have experience I would recommend against taking this course.

By NITYANAND R

Jun 1, 2020

really very it is very basic thing to understand, what is data science, but it has been very lengthy process to understand this and unnecessarily time was engaged on IBM Cloud Platform, a person who's going to pursue the entire course will definitely use the tools but to introduce the field it should be very short and precise thing

By Lawrence L

Jul 14, 2019

While I appreciate the talks given by these experts, the way this content was spread out with very little substance was demotivating for me and not an efficient use of time, in my opinion.

It could be much more concise.

I liked the final assignment as a recap and way to interact with my classmates.

By Luigi d M N

May 9, 2020

The course offers some key definitions for what regards data science. The learner should not expect to understand more than just a list of new words related to the topic. The videos and reading material are moderately entertaining and the assessment strategy is excessively straightforward.

By Guillaume T

Feb 24, 2020

The course consists mostly of generalities and has unfortunately nearly no examples.

Showing a data science project with the difference phases of a project would have been great: problem formulation, data collection, data exploration, analysis, visualization, report preparation, etc.

By Max

Jan 27, 2020

Strange timings. Supposed to be 3-weeks course, but could be beaten in one evening. Also, it was not very informative. However, there was useful stuff such as report requirements. Hope, next courses will be more useful in terms of boosting my skills as data scientist.

By Ainsley S

Mar 9, 2021

Maybe consider renaming the course to include something along the lines of "introduction to" or "basics of." I expected meatier information and found very little value exchange for my time. It makes me questions what value would come out of a paid course

By Evangelos P

Jun 5, 2021

It does provide a good overview, but the whole peer review thing is a negative and questions are based on specific knowledge pieces that are not relevant to the topic. E.g. knowing that xyz person worked at yz company should not be a test question...