Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.7
stars
48,253 ratings
9,099 reviews

About the Course

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today....

Top reviews

RS
May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

MG
Jun 26, 2020

I throughly enjoyed the course and the fact that everything was explained thoroughly. I always enjoyed Dr. White's personal experience with Data Science as well as other Data Scientists point of view.

Filter by:

8851 - 8875 of 9,120 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Kenneth

Mar 16, 2019

I dont believe reading a couple of articles and being quizzed directly on what is written in front of you is an effective form of learning or training. Need to ask more open questions.

By Vikhyat C

Jul 23, 2020

This course gives you just an idea about introduction to the course in which how & what can you do in data science. But what I felt that it not that type of course for which you pay .

By Tabinda S

May 22, 2020

Readings are not in-depth, and give you an overview of a topic rather than a deeper understanding of it; you don't learn anything technical though checkpoints suggest you should have.

By Joel R

Jan 18, 2021

Could have been quicker. Tests did not gauge learning well--too much rote repeating of assigned reading. Reading passage format was not conducive to reading on laptop or smartphone.

By Nathan A

Aug 14, 2020

It is a bit too focussed on introducing products without going into the theory or methods. it did not help that I had to redo all the quizzes because Coursera lost everyone's data.

By Tatiana

Nov 3, 2020

As a part of the specialization, it's a great introduction course. As a stand-alone course, it's not worth your time if you are familiar with skills data scientist should have.

By Courtney S

Aug 26, 2021

I guess this is useful if you want to learn about IBM's services, but it's not good for much else. Coursera is as bad as Amazon with padding bad products with 5-star reviews.

By Natasha S

Apr 27, 2020

The main points could have been communicated in much less time. For me, it was just something to get through before getting to the more substantial classes that follow.

By Jeremy H

Apr 7, 2019

This is just a bunch of grad students and professors giving their opinion on what Data Science is, it's not really a course so much as an undergrad youtube project.

By Jochen K

May 10, 2021

Content was very simple and very repetetive. Reading material was scanned book pages in low quality. The Intro course was not a very pleasing learning experience.

By Steve O

Oct 30, 2018

Intros are usually boring but this was quite good at giving the big picture and the need for human interaction. The IBM cloud "service" leaves much to be desired.

By Lo E

Aug 12, 2021

Too long for an introductory course and the assignment is not relevant to learning about Data Science....my passion about DS shouldn't require anyone to assess.

By Yael L

Feb 13, 2019

this is a promotional course with a lot of buzzwords and zero content. could have been summed up in 2 5min videos. shame on wasting students time and effort.

By Stefanie G

Sep 9, 2019

I thought the course would give a more practical introduction of Data Science. This was more about understanding what it is and how it is applied in theory.

By vaishali p

Sep 19, 2020

CONTENT WAS GOOD , BUT IBM CLOUD WAS VERY COMPLICATED. WAS NOT ABLE TO PROCEED FDURTHER INTO THE COURSE. KINDLY ELABORATE MORE ON PAID AND LITE SERVICES.

By Philipp H

May 8, 2020

only general information, quiz with unnecessary questions, at least I know that the more bathrooms the higher price can be earned by selling a house :)

By Alejandro

Feb 20, 2019

The course is mostly introductory and very basic. I think it could be helpful if you have never had any contact with the Data Science idea.

By Tonia G

Aug 15, 2020

The first part is great but the second part goes super crazy technical and is impossible to keep up without a computer science background.

By Daniel G

Jan 21, 2020

Not necessary in my opinion, have very little viable information and trying to promote the subject by creating unrealistic expectations.

By Valentin B

Nov 21, 2019

Most videos are are very very basic. It seems like an introduction to the introduction. I hope it will go faster in the next courses.

By Ana S

Apr 18, 2020

The course is motivational, but it is long and nothing practical is learned. Also the week 3 grading part doesn't make much sense.

By Lizzy B

Oct 17, 2019

Very (too) general intro to DS

superficial

Questions in tests are often irrelevant and somethimes the answers are just plain wrong

By Sophie L C H

Sep 10, 2019

I did not like the readings. The font was small and the storytelling not so creative and comprehensive. i did like some videos.

By Xiaohan W

May 20, 2019

Good way for beginners to decide if they want to do data science as a career, but poorly designed questions and grading system.

By Ross Q

Dec 31, 2019

An introductory course light on information best suited for those who have not had any formal education beyond high school.