Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,879 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

RS

May 11, 2020

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

MS

Sep 17, 2020

very useful. i liked and enjoyed the journey of learning in these five weeks. the instructor is very clear and taught very interestingly. Thanks to her. she looked poised and cheerful and professional

Filter by:

9026 - 9050 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Iqra Y

Feb 1, 2023

This course is based on data science basics and provided me a lot of information about the data science field, how data scientists work and what they do, scope of data science field. Much thanks to IBM and coursera for providing such courses to students that enhance their knowledge about the modern trending fields.

By Jessica M

Jul 29, 2020

The course is a very good introduction to the subject matter. I am glad that I took the time to go through everything so that I could understand what data science exactly entails and how to go about educating myself in it. It has sparked an interest in me to continue on my journey of self education in data science.

By Mihai F

Mar 29, 2020

It was interesting to hear the opinions of the different data scientists that were interviewed for this course and finally to be introduced with the book "Getting Started with Data Science" by Mr. Murtaza Haider, Ph.D.

The other professor, from the NYU, talked too much, and unfortunately too much about himself. :)

By Daniel A

Feb 7, 2022

This course was well put together and provided me with more information than I expected. The only issue I had was with the IBM content slides/ screenshots being outdated and It really confused me at first because I did not expect that. However, I was able to navigate on my own but that was not an ideal situation.

By Vera G

Dec 19, 2019

pdf from the book are a few years old, and data science is a field that evolves very quickly.

Also, regarding the Watson Visual Recognition exercice: the link did not work. I registered going directly to the page, but eventually, the link was not available on the IBM could page, and so I could not do the exercice.

By Thomas H

Feb 17, 2020

Preliminary course provides a basic introduction to the question: "What is Data Science". It provides an interesting, albeit brief, introduction to IBM Cloud and a couple of its features. More as an appetite whetter than sufficient to do much useful with. Looking forward to see what arises in the later courses.

By Damsel I F

Apr 18, 2021

The introduction on data science is clear and concise. Learned new terms such as machine learning & deep learning and felt excited to learn more on the technical functions or platforms in processing big data. There are just some questions in the quizzes and videos that I don't think is related to Data Science.

By Aurangazeeb A K

Apr 10, 2020

The course is great. The essential know-hows for anyone thinking of stepping into the world of data science are included in this course. The most positive part about this course is that the lectures are timed right they are neither too long nor short. Overall a wonderful and enjoyable course ! Thank you IBM !

By Fernando L C

Feb 17, 2020

A found to be a great motivational course and it meets the objective of giving a perspective of what it is to be a data science. I found the quizes a bit ambiguous and some of them were easy to check / deduce without even reading the corresponding documents or videos. But this course really makes its point!

By James S

Aug 26, 2019

Overall it is a good class. I enjoyed the content and exercises. There were a few issues with navigation and quiz scoring. More than once, the "mark as completed" button did not work and quiz failed to load or save score. I like the videos in which multiple people with diverse background were interviewed.

By Nat P

Aug 24, 2019

Wonderfully structured overview. Interesting to hear form both aspiring data scientists and Professors White and Haider. I have a technology background and am interested in shifting my profession in this direction, and this course mapped out what that move would entail and what skills I need to develop.

By DEVULAPALLY A

Jan 23, 2023

This Course gives a total understanding of Data Science and Data Scientist roles and careers.

if you have the aptitude and desire to work with Data, enjoy coding, have no problem learning Maths and Statistics, and are a good storyteller. then you can certainly enter a Data Science field and excel in it.

By Chay M

Dec 13, 2021

I thought the course was well done and informative. The only thing I did not like was the fact that some of the material in this course was a bit irrelevant for me personally, such as the "Data Science in Highschool" section, but overall I thought it was a good overview of various aspects of the field.

By SANTOSO H

Dec 18, 2020

This course is similar to https://cognitiveclass.ai/courses/data-science-101 with number DS0101EN.

It was taken from Cognitive Class AI from IBM Canada. Mostly it is good Coursera content because more eye catching with Professional Certification, include with IBM badge. I learn a lot!!! Thank you IBM.

By Osayimwen E

Oct 7, 2020

Although I was expecting to start programming upon taking this course. However and discovered and learned a lot beyond the programming I envisaged for, as I was introduced to the theoretical framework forming data science and data scientist. I will highly recommend this course to potential aspirants.

By Josh H

Jul 21, 2020

A nice, simple introduction to what the field of data science is all about. Even though most of what is taught here is common knowledge for those somewhat well-versed in technology, it's good to brush up on the essential questions to remind ourselves why we want to pursue a data science career.

By Shivnaesh k

Feb 17, 2020

The knowledge about regression, neural network and data science, and tool like hadoop was really awesome and very clear to understand the things.

Now I can differentiate the real meaning between data science and data science and can grow up in this particular subject very efficientely I hope so.

By Cris P

May 21, 2019

Nice start. Give enough motivation to continue learning more after that course. One thing it could be better are the lectures in videos. The quality is OK, but I think it could have more videos, more details, I mean, more content in general. Overall, worth a lot.

Thank you IBM. Thanks Coursera.

By Olivier D

Mar 19, 2019

Very good content. Covered this stuff before but if I were a beginner it woudve been very helpful and easy to follow along. For that reason I give it a four. I cannot give it a 5 because truthfully speaking I just read the document and answered the tests so I cannot say everything was a five.

By Rebecca L

Sep 24, 2021

The material is great. However, the way the lecture demonstrate is a bit boring. There are just too many Q&A in the course. Also, the quizzes are sort of meanless and, personnally speaking, out of date to job market, and unrelated to specific job positions that our candidate are looking for.

By Joshua O

Aug 5, 2020

The information within the What is Data Science course was excellent. My issue is with the fact that I went through the entire class and after receiving the grade for my Final all but one of my quizzes lost their scores. I had to redo all of the quizzes before receiving credit for the class.

By Aravindhan V

Oct 10, 2021

The course did a decent job of introducing the field. But a lot of the tests and quizzes were pointless; they were testing the ability to remember meaningless facts (who said what etc) from the reading assignments, rather than evaluating the students understanding of what data science is.

By Atfy I Z

Apr 10, 2020

A great introductory course for those who are completely new to Data Science, Machine Learning, and all those related terms.

For those who have somewhat idea on the subject, or even have read a few elementary articles about Data Science and its trends, this course can be completed quickly.

By Marijn G

Oct 29, 2021

The course gives a really nice look into data science. If I should give some criticism at all it would be about certain common information which is provided and also tested in quizzes which contributes very little to the goal of the course.

Further more I'm really happy with the course.

By Aimee X

Mar 5, 2020

During this course, I have realized that data science is so important and it all around the daily operation of everyone.

Be better understand what is data science is the basic to learn and improve the efficiency and we could find more interesting in our work and life then can be engaged.