Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,774 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

KK

Feb 23, 2020

Terrific introduction to the Data Science course. Never expected but was extremely excited with the quality of content, speakers and a very honest attempt to making this course interesting.

Krishna

PD

Jul 18, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

Filter by:

9126 - 9150 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By anurag s r

Jun 27, 2020

A fantastic course to boost your knowledge about Data Science and how it's revolutionizing the world and a how you can become a Data Scientist.Its for all the aspirant who have no information about Data Science or a Data Scientist.

By jimena r

Jun 12, 2020

In general, the course is very effective and useful. I feel some of the questions raised in the assessments after each reading are not key. Could include other type of questions that are more critical for the knowledge development.

By Maxwell Z

Feb 15, 2022

A good introduction to what a data scientist does.

However, many of the tests later on expect you to remember specific quotes and authors. Testing on comprehension is limited and relies on you remembering things that do not matter.

By richard p

Dec 31, 2019

Some of the course material in week 1 in regards to setting up and using the IBM cloud lite account has changed and no longer matches what it actually looks like. It took a while to conduct some research and get past this hurdle.

By Muhammad A W

May 13, 2020

the course was good and gave me a basic understanding of what data scientists are and how they generally approach a problem. it could've been extended to a little practical side of this field, but still am happy with the content.

By Vyom G

Feb 9, 2019

I liked it and it was a great motivation for me towards Data Science. Although the course did not gave any implementation details nor any programming or mathematics tutorial but was more for motivation and guiding the way ahead.

By Steve C

Jul 3, 2020

Would have liked a bit less music. Speakers were good. The university professors were comfortable in front of the camera and were well-spoken.

There was one instance, I think in Week 3, where the translation was completely off.

By Gencal Y

Apr 19, 2020

It is so basic course and some materials should be fixed (some videos have inappropriate subtitle for example).

On the other hand, it gives what is offering. You can learn exactly what is data science and what data scientist do.

By Jonathan P

Dec 16, 2021

I found the course content to be good, but I've put 4 stars as I felt the questions in the "final exam" were relatively trivial in the sense that I don't believe they accurately represented the learning outcomes of the course.

By Somessh B

Jul 23, 2020

Material is good however, some of the documents referred to are old in time and relevance. Fox example, document mentioning demand of data scientist gave predictions for 2018. Hence, these documents are at least 4-5 years old.

By Sergio R

Mar 17, 2020

Introducción a la ciencia de datos de una manera somera. Alguna información es relevante, como la clasificación y las herramientas, así como las habilidades y conocimientos necesarios para hacer correctamente uso de los datos.

By Claire H

Aug 30, 2018

The course is perfunctory for introducing the field to newcomers. Pacing is a little slower than I'd like. I enjoyed the focus on curiosity, social skills and storytelling as integral components of a successful data scientist.

By Tyler K P

Sep 3, 2020

Good introduction to Data Science. Gives a very in-depth perspective on what the day to day life of a data scientist looks like. Also provides examples of attributes and skills which will be helpful to future data scientists.

By Naveen A

Mar 7, 2020

It very crisply introduce you to the world of data science. I personally like the reference material they have followed in the course. Thank you and looking forward to complete all other related course to this specialisation.

By SHAHAR R

Jan 12, 2020

The course provides good basic understand of "What is Data Science".

But some of the quiz questions tent to focus more on finding the exact words as defined in the text, rather then test the understanding of learned materials.

By Eric B

May 7, 2022

This course is a good, easy introduction to Data Science. Because it is short, straightforward and does not require any particular skill, I would encourage anyone asking themselves about Data Science to complete this course.

By chandan p

Oct 6, 2018

The course provide a very good and detailed introduction about data science and its sub field. along with the history of data sciences.

Further, course structure also tell you what does industry expects from a data scientist.

By John M

Sep 21, 2021

Great general introduction to give familiarity, especially to someone completely unfamiliar. However there is no technical content, and quizzes test recall of trivial case example details rather than understanding concepts.

By Pedro S

Jan 25, 2021

Good overview on what is data science, what is the role data scientists and what the competencies required to be a data scientist. If you want to dive on this subject and you don't know where to start this course will help.

By Runar O

Dec 11, 2019

This course could be week one of a larger course, as it only took a few hours or so to complete. In addition, a lot of the questions were based on what someone said, or some random fact, but not necessarily anything useful.

By jesus m

Nov 1, 2022

i dont consider it necessary to be so textual in questions referencing the readings. in my case the main value of the course is not on memorizing the name of google's cfo or the exact expected\ number of data science jobs

By Michael A K

Sep 10, 2020

This orientation course is not what I expected. I was expecting a deep dive into Data Science and its tools. However, it was very informative about the skills needed by the Data Scientist to perform in this field of work.

By Jose B

Jan 20, 2020

Overall, a good introduction to what data science is and what is not. A good eye opener before taking the plunge into the overall program.

Having said that: The lesson could be shortened a bit and achieve the same result.

By Juan J I F

Feb 16, 2019

it was a nice experience to have actual data scientist telling you their own definitions and experiences regarding this subject. It may have lacked a little of on hands assignments, but was overall a rewarding experience.

By Tom H A L

Nov 29, 2019

Informative course, that describes what a data scientist is and provides a background to the topic. As part of the specialization it is fine, but certainly not worth paying for on its own. Completed in 2 days after work.