Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
60,884 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

SB

Sep 9, 2019

Very learning experience, I am a beginner in DS, but the instructors in this course simplified the contents that made me I could easily understand, tools and materials were very helpful to start with.

AP

Jan 15, 2022

I throughly enjoyed the course and the fact that everything was explained thoroughly. I always enjoyed Dr. White's personal experience with Data Science as well as other Data Scientists point of view.

Filter by:

9451 - 9475 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Abraham J

Apr 27, 2020

not bad. the hands on exercise was a bit contrived and felt more like a sales pitch for IBM products.

By rafael g

Apr 22, 2020

Como introducción al concepto Data Science lo veo muy interesante y te hace ver claramente el objetivo

By Shudufhadzo M

Mar 22, 2020

I really enjoyed receiving insight on what data sciences is from different people in different fields.

By AMIT K

Feb 5, 2020

The course was a knowledgeble course. I as a newbie had a wonderful oppertunity to complete the course

By Mokshda S

Jul 31, 2019

this is an interesting course and gives a gentle introduction to start with the basics of data science

By Aashish R G

Sep 30, 2018

All you need to know about data science and opportunities in this field are explained in simple words.

By Faezeh A

Sep 23, 2018

I liked this course but I finished it in three days. So I think it was too small to call it a course.

By Arnaud S

May 28, 2022

Good introduction to Data Science. The rule is well explained and the video are interesting to watch.

By Dhanesh T

May 27, 2022

Gives general information about the subject with inputs from industry professionals and academicians.

By Manolis A

Mar 23, 2022

A well-structured course. My only comment was that it had only given a glimpse of data science tools.

By Michael

Dec 21, 2020

its really well done but I think Coursera could put this as part of a full course and not on its own.

By Jeevan K

May 17, 2020

The session was really an eye opener. Please provide a plan for developing our skills in Data science

By Zhiting S

May 1, 2020

The course is really easy. It is a great beginners' level course but could have been a little harder.

By Haykel S

Nov 27, 2019

Good, but...I think that it's very important to add an abstract or a resume of this part. Some points

By Prabhat P

Oct 11, 2019

it was an introductory level course for data science, where one learns need ant terms of data science

By Tanveer J

Jun 1, 2019

Good kick starter to understand the growth, different components and skills required in data science!

By Pedro H

Mar 5, 2019

It's a video telltale of what is Data Science, as viewed by a university professor and some students.

By adams x

Jan 11, 2019

Its a good course, I only advice that reading files from text book display quality might be better...

By Rajeena T J

Nov 18, 2021

Very informative and effective course , bt I recieved course certificate without specifying my name.

By Janice R C

Feb 3, 2021

Definitely recommend this course to someone who's absolutely new to this, and starting from scratch.

By K S C

Aug 22, 2020

it is the best way to learn something, it starts from scratch until the basic point of data science.

By Evandro P

May 5, 2020

In two videos the texts were not correct. I also believe that examples of companies can be inserted.

By Sylvan R

Jan 29, 2020

Good introduction, slightly slow paced without tasks to understand what specific skills are required

By Trung T

Nov 9, 2019

Quite concise and easy to follow though there are unnecessary information from the interview videos.

By Linn B

Mar 5, 2019

Great course give you a good understand as to what data science is. Great for those who are curious.