Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
61,102 ratings

About the Course

Do you want to know why Data Science has been labelled as the sexiest profession of the 21st century? After taking this course you will be able to answer this question, and get a thorough understanding of what is Data Science, what data scientists do, and learn about career paths in the field. The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people using data to derive insights and predict outcomes have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In today's world, we use Data Science to find patterns in data, and make meaningful, data driven conclusions and predictions. This course is for everyone, and teaches concepts like Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and Neural Networks and how companies apply data science in business. You will meet several data scientists, who will share their insights and experiences in Data Science. By taking this introductory course, you will begin your journey into the thriving field that is Data Science!...

Top reviews

AP

Jan 15, 2022

I throughly enjoyed the course and the fact that everything was explained thoroughly. I always enjoyed Dr. White's personal experience with Data Science as well as other Data Scientists point of view.

MS

Sep 17, 2020

very useful. i liked and enjoyed the journey of learning in these five weeks. the instructor is very clear and taught very interestingly. Thanks to her. she looked poised and cheerful and professional

Filter by:

9501 - 9525 of 10,000 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Pedro H

Mar 5, 2019

It's a video telltale of what is Data Science, as viewed by a university professor and some students.

By adams x

Jan 11, 2019

Its a good course, I only advice that reading files from text book display quality might be better...

By Rajeena T J

Nov 18, 2021

Very informative and effective course , bt I recieved course certificate without specifying my name.

By Janice R C

Feb 3, 2021

Definitely recommend this course to someone who's absolutely new to this, and starting from scratch.

By K S C

Aug 22, 2020

it is the best way to learn something, it starts from scratch until the basic point of data science.

By Evandro P

May 5, 2020

In two videos the texts were not correct. I also believe that examples of companies can be inserted.

By Sylvan R

Jan 29, 2020

Good introduction, slightly slow paced without tasks to understand what specific skills are required

By Trung T

Nov 9, 2019

Quite concise and easy to follow though there are unnecessary information from the interview videos.

By Linn B

Mar 5, 2019

Great course give you a good understand as to what data science is. Great for those who are curious.

By Miguel V

May 22, 2022

Low level. many of the questions were about memorizing a text or a list and not about understanding

By Amino W

Sep 28, 2021

thanks to my instructor all you colleagues staff all community in the to proved us for this course

By Abhinand

Jul 5, 2021

Great course which gives the basics and an overview about the data science field and its processes.

By Rushabh S

Jun 14, 2020

The course is very useful to understand about the general knowledge on what data science is today.

By Arnab N

Jun 7, 2020

This is highly theoretical however helpful. I was expecting to start with some level of coursework.

By VISHAL A

Jun 4, 2020

Basic course but gave a very clear perspective of what is data science and what data scientists do.

By Yunus E Ç

May 10, 2020

Reading passage is more sometimes, there are not all valuable information and quizzes are too easy.

By Neelesh T

Feb 7, 2020

I had a great time going through the course and really enjoyed learning!

Thank You Coursera & IBM.😃

By JORGE L

Jan 2, 2020

Very interesting and useful. It shows correctly the main technics and tools used for data scientist

By Neeraj

Jun 5, 2019

Knowledge from different personalities can be easily accessed on a single platform through coursera

By Shagul H M

May 8, 2019

Great introduction for Data Science and as a new learner, I could easily understand the transcripts

By EDGAR H N B

Nov 7, 2022

Buena intruducción al campo de Data Science, pero podrían mejorar las habilidades que se califican

By Fanendra B D

Feb 15, 2022

It's been a wonderful learning. I am happy and learned alot of things about Data, Data Scientist.

By Büşra y

May 3, 2021

This course is helpful to learn general knowledge what data science is and what data scientist do.

By Nouman S

May 2, 2020

This Course is best designed to help understand what data science is, and what data scientists do?

By SIMON M E

May 28, 2019

Thank you very much for this course.

I have learned the unbelievable only in this four hours course