Chevron Left
Back to Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Wonders of Ancient Egypt by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
708 ratings
233 reviews

About the Course

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Top reviews

VE
Jul 10, 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

MM
Sep 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the history of Ancient Egypt. I have viewed the treasures of Tutankhamun twice. This class gave me a more in depth view of the culture and the art of Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 232 Reviews for Wonders of Ancient Egypt

By Fatima F

May 24, 2018

I really enjoyed the course. This was the second from Penn University I attended to. High quality, meaningful course.

By Christianna G

Jun 11, 2020

This was a really fun course to take over the summer and I can't wait to show my students everything that I learned.

By Hugh B

Aug 22, 2020

Very informative and enjoyable. May have inspired me to look into careers in egyptology. Just all around very good.

By Jen R

Feb 29, 2020

I know have enough information to teach my year 9 class Ancient Egypt with this course and the intro course Thanks!

By Andrew R

Nov 24, 2020

A wonderful course for anyone interested in Ancient Egypt, and of course King Tutankhamun. I highly recommend it.

By Amanda O

Jan 17, 2018

I learned so much during this course! It kept my interest and I loved logging on and learning more every week!

By Raven C

Sep 28, 2020

I love the course I I learned a lot more than I thought it was lot of things I knew and some I did not know.

By Luís M G d S A

Jun 15, 2020

A very useful course. Deepen knowledge of Ancient Egypt.

N.B.: I also like to see a course on Ancient Nubia,

By Paolo A

May 18, 2020

A fascinating insight into Egyptian life, magic, art, and writings. Delivered in a clear and concise manner.

By Katie H

Jan 3, 2020

I learned a lot in this course. Egypt has lots of interesting things to study. Highly recommend this course.

By Estela U G

Dec 26, 2020

Muy entretenido y un gran introductorio a la cultura del Antiguo Egipto hasta tiempos de Horemheb. Gracias!

By Joyce G A

Jul 15, 2020

excellent course, its my first time learning online and I learned a lot. Ancient Egypt is truly amazing!

By Vojtěch K

Jun 12, 2019

Very good course about Ancient Egypt and a nice follow-up on the Introduction course with Mr. Silverman!

By tamar

Mar 5, 2021

It was everything and more that I hoped for. Thank you for this course and for your recommended books.

By Atoosa

Dec 18, 2019

Great course.

Did not disappoint!

Loved the numerous museum pictures with detailed explanation.

Thank you

By Andrea M

Oct 11, 2020

Eu achei o curso muito interessante e superou minhas expectativas, muito obrigado pela oportunidade.

By Ellie

Nov 11, 2019

It was a fun course to experience and it showed me a different view on the ancient egyptian culture

By elodie r

Oct 14, 2020

So interesting I loved it, I did the course in 2 days. I love Egypt culture and I learnt so much

By Manal K

Jan 1, 2020

Clear , concise and loaded with information yet not dull at all.

Thank you , enjoyed every minute.

By Sven S

Dec 29, 2017

This is really a great course. Very interesting topics and beautiful materials. I learned a lot.

By Dararat K

Dec 3, 2017

Thank you so much for this wonderful course. I'm looking forward to next chapter of Egyptology.

By Carrie M

Jan 28, 2018

Great course! So informative and I love the presentation of the material. Thank you so much!!!

By Aaman L

Nov 2, 2018

A masterful exposition of art, culture, writing, magic and the complexity of the 18th dynasty

By Daisy N

May 18, 2020

A really interesting course, well presented and informative. I recommend taking this course.

By Kiara M M R

Jan 19, 2019

Me encanta. Estoy aprendiendo mucho sobre la escritura en el Antiguo Egipto. Lo recomiendo.