Chevron Left
Back to Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Wonders of Ancient Egypt by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
756 ratings
251 reviews

About the Course

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Top reviews

VE
Jul 10, 2020

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

MM
Sep 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the history of Ancient Egypt. I have viewed the treasures of Tutankhamun twice. This class gave me a more in depth view of the culture and the art of Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 250 Reviews for Wonders of Ancient Egypt

By Alexis F

Apr 5, 2020

SO GOOD

By Emil

Apr 27, 2018

D

o

n

e

i

t

!

By Victoria S M

May 24, 2020

Great

By Xavier M

Feb 24, 2019

TOP !

By WenYu Z

Oct 23, 2018

真的很感谢

By Домрачев Е В

Dec 22, 2017

meow

By Claudette D

May 15, 2019

A

By Paraskevi G

Nov 13, 2017

Extremely interesting follow-up to the previous course of Penn uni on Egypt! Although it does require knowledge of that course, it is not hard to follow even without it. Information is easily comprehensible and accessible. The lector is easy to comprehend, very knowledgeable and provides many examples but it is obvious that he reads his speech from a screen in front of him and that makes his lectures rather stiff and less enthusiastic. Also, I would prefer it if the hieroglyphs were explained phonologically as well for better accuracy but they are actually presented in a more accessible way for the general public and extra bibliography is provided for those interested in the topic.

By Meguid E N

Apr 8, 2020

Excellent mini course.

I wish it was more comprehensive.

I didnt necessarily like the video clips style...; having 10 videos clips of apparently 7-10 minutes but in reality more like 3-5 minutes, if one excludes the credits and acknowlegments, is distrupting to learning. Three or 4 clips of 20 minutes each would have been more valuable.

The reading list is excellent and in particular the essays of the MMA.

The quiz is perfectly pitched.

Thank you very much for a useful learning experience.

I will try to enroll as a mentor!

By Simone L

May 17, 2019

A worthwhile course that goes well as a sequel to Dr. Silverman's Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization. It's a little uneven in information density. And the problems with editing causing anomalous quiz questions are still there, though less than in the first course. Once again, there was insufficient proofreading of the transcript, but I always reformatted and corrected each transcript immediately after watching its corresponding video, so I used this as a technique to reinforce the information!

By Nabeel M

Jun 10, 2021

fantastic course with great information - like the intro course it suffers from a few issues such as the subtitles are more harmful than helpful, mispelling and representing information that is not only wrong but sometimes the opposite of what it means... sometimes the delivery also is a little confusing... but overall I am thankful for this course and the wealth of information it gives us. thank you David

By Michael A

Jun 22, 2020

Great material if you can hammer through it. The content is great; but be forewarned that the professor is very stilted in his speech pattern and this can be disconcerting. It helps to view the videos at 1.25 or 1.5 speed to accommodate for this. Otherwise, I really learned a lot. I MOST enjoyed the section on hieroglyphics and even tried to practice a few of them on paper. Have fun with this one!

By Oliver G

Jun 24, 2020

A good course that looks at Ancient Egypt, like the other course that the Pen does on Ancient Egypt I think the videos could have been a little longer and more fleshed out in terms of content. Still it is another quick and easy course with some very interesting parts like the introduction into hieroglyphs and the look into the various burial methods of the Ancient Egyptians.

By Asante T

Aug 14, 2020

This is a really great course about one of the most interesting civilizations in human history. The topics covered are engaging and well-organized, and the attention to detail is admirable. I particularly enjoyed the opportunity to learn to write hieroglyphs, and unearth some ancient mysteries that tell a dramatic tale of ancient human life.

By Kofi D

Oct 9, 2020

For all lovers of ancient Egypt, this course gives kind of an opening scene to culture, architecture, and other facets of the ancient kingdom. I look forward to continuing my pursuit of the subject and hopefully some day the online course will take on a virtual reality exposition into the museums and on site into the valley of the kings...

By Tanya H

Mar 11, 2018

Very interesting course, but the flow of the lecture videos is seriously disrupted by the inclusion of the credits for the entire week's lecture videos, which sometimes takes up as much as half of the video time. This was fixed in the more recent course of this type, but the videos in this series could use a re-edit to match.

By Lucy H

Nov 10, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this course as it gave me something interesting to learn since finishing university.

I would suggest making the lectures a little more exciting as something they can seem very monotone.

I really enjoyed the hieroglyphs and was impressed with Dr Silverman's skills of writing backwards!

By RESSE B

May 10, 2019

Nice class, I particularly enjoyed the part 5 and 6. The part about the hieroglyphes could have been very interesting also, but you should try to "bring (more) life" (di-'nx) to these videos. But any wayn thank you for your workd, it was nice to study from this mooc.

By Christine B

Jun 19, 2018

Excellent course even if the delivery is a bit dry. The content is top notch from an expert with plenty of visual aids. Time well spent if you like history and/or Ancient Egypt.

By Gail M

Jun 3, 2021

Excellent Course - found it fascinating

Like the first course, I do suggest that the notes be proofed and corrected although for the most part I could figure out the errors

By Maria C F L

May 27, 2020

Interesting course although I was expecting more discussions on the actual wonders instead of an introduction to the art, religion, language and history of ancient egypt.

By plann

Jul 25, 2019

I chose ancient Egyptian history because I wanted to see the Pyramids, the Nile River. Now, after understanding the culture here, there is a sense of awe in my heart.

By Celeste H

Jun 27, 2018

This was a great course to do! Quick and easy! Sometimes I found the lectures weren't quite linear and became a bit confusing, but it was really fun to learn!

By Miguel P

Feb 19, 2021

Highly interesting and well exposed. It really open the appetite for further knowledge of such amazing subject.

Congratulations to everyone involved!!!!

By Myvanwy W

Dec 12, 2019

i enjoyed this more than the last ancient Egypt course, I think the delivery was better. Overall well organised and easy to follow