Chevron Left
Back to Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
1,399 ratings
342 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you how to use your written words to become more persuasive. You’ll learn creative ways to use syntax, effective techniques for telling stories, and a clever method for arranging a complex series of information. You’ll also get a chance to both professionalize your use of punctuation and add a bit of style and sophistication to how you craft everything from sentences to slogans. In addition, you’ll get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include (1) the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2) two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; and (3) a monthly “Good Sentences” email. Social media has only accelerated the ways in which we all must learn to use our writing to connect, compete, and create—sometimes all at once. So join us for this first course in a four-part series and experience the many benefits, both personal and professional, of becoming “good with words.”...

Top reviews

PD

Dec 7, 2021

It is an excellent course that offers deep insights into the importance of words, it's usage in professional writing, and the impact it makes. I've learnt a lot from the course. Thank you Coursera.

GT

Nov 16, 2021

Professor Barry is skilled and compassionate in teaching the writing course. He's very clear with how he discuss concepts and make learning easier. And he's got a good taste in good sentences.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 351 Reviews for Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

By Awilda M

Jul 10, 2021

Very informative. I believe that everyone, no matter their background or field of study, can benefit from this course. Thank you so much.

By Caleb T A

Mar 26, 2022

This course exposed me to a lot of stuffs to improve my writing skill. I particularly like the "Notes on Nuance" segments of each week.

By Tatiana S

Apr 9, 2021

Great course! as a philologist, I'm already familiar with most of the concepts, but I still found great food for thought in this course.

By Maria C

Oct 13, 2020

Excelent structure of the course, nice readings, videos, quices. It has been very useful for me. I have applied it since the first week.

By Shreya N U

Aug 16, 2020

It's absolutely perfect! This course is probably one of the few MOOCs I've come across that are so beautifully crafted for its audience!

By Gabriel P

Jan 22, 2021

Professor Barry packs a lot of great writing concepts into this course. He is entertaining as well as insightful about good writing.

By RJ

Oct 29, 2020

I learned a whole lot about legal writing. Prof. Barry taught a lot of tools and techniques that I will surely use as a legal writer.

By joyce n

Feb 12, 2021

This was an exceptional course—content, structure, and delivery were all fantastic. I look forward to the next course in the series.

By Dan N

Jul 13, 2021

An amazing one for non-native speakers like me. Really interesting. An amazing lecturer with his good teaching methods and books.

By Achuyat S J

Jul 20, 2020

This course was nicely designed and I would like to thank the instructor for making it interesting, participating and motivating.

By Dr. S M

Jun 16, 2020

The course has been awesome; so well designed and conducted with good number of examples, references, and supplementary readings.

By Victor O

Jun 28, 2021

This course improved my editing skills massively. My favorite topic would be the rule of three. Thank you for this opportunity.

By Yaren G K

Feb 12, 2021

Amazing instructor,great matierals,many opportunities to learn how to be a better writer.Very interesting and amazing course.

By Álvaro S

Dec 29, 2020

thanks so much for this course. It was really instructive and Easy to follow, ALL the readings are interesting and engaging.

By MJ

Apr 6, 2022

very informative and good material for students whose wanting to improve more on their writing or communication skills.

By Samuel H

May 28, 2020

Very hands-on lessons and great reading materials to learn not only wording skills but knowledge...even wisdom in life!

By Jacquelyn N E

Apr 15, 2021

Not only was this course informative with tons of material and recourses, but it was also fun, peppy, and exciting!

By Rosedelle B

Jul 5, 2020

It's a nice course especially for someone who is really into literature. I've learned a lot throughout this course.

By Danielle S

Jun 16, 2020

The professor is so engaging. He managed to take a dry subject (my opinion) and make it really enjoyable to learn.

By Samin Y A

Sep 18, 2020

Found it extremely helpful. The instructor was really professional. This is an indispensable course for everyone.

By Jill L

Jul 19, 2020

I learned a lot in a short amount of time, it was well worth it and will enhance my writing skills in the future.

By Zulfiqar A

Feb 13, 2022

Professor Barry has a very unique way of teaching. Overall course is good and one needs to do a lot of readings.

By Kat Z

Jun 25, 2020

Professor Barry is amazing! I thoroughly enjoyed this course; it opened my eyes to writing, learning, and life.

By Sonia C G

Jan 30, 2022

Everything was great in this course. The content and the way of teaching of the professor were just excellent!

By Priya P

May 10, 2021

This course is actually beneficial for the beginner writer's, everything is explained with suitable example.