Chevron Left
Back to Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest by Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
stars
1,150 ratings
477 reviews

About the Course

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Top reviews

DB
Feb 6, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO
Jul 16, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filter by:

451 - 470 of 470 Reviews for Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

By Aurelien T

Sep 30, 2015

Far too basic in content. It's clearly aimed at people with next to no experience at all on writing and publishing! However, it still is insightful and inspirational as, 'Writing for Young Readers' is taught by two established children writers and, packed with interviews of other writers from all around the world. A nice introduction but, just that -an introduction. If you have experience writing (for children or else)

By Jennifer F

Jul 27, 2020

Course Material is good, particularly the last module and David Hill's author interviews. I would suggest that you limit the uploadable file format to pdf because I'm wary of grading documents that are not pdfs that I have to download to read. For example, instead of an enquiry letter a student submitted an anime image, and I can't tell is that a misunderstanding or a joke.

By Sue L

Dec 12, 2016

While I found the content and instructors to be very good, I don't feel I received any true constructive criticism that will help me with my writing. I would have preferred having an instructor review my work and provide proper feedback. I understand it costs to have someon

By Alexander S

Feb 5, 2016

A good but simple introduction to writing. The instructors (particularly David) are friendly and helpful - it's just that nothing is dealt with in any great depth. However, that helps make it good as an introduction.

By Around H

Dec 22, 2020

I enjoyed the assignments and reading the other peoples work. I would love to hear from the instructors personally on my work. It is good to read others writing and get some feed back.

By Cristian S P

May 30, 2016

Kind of basic about the writing stuff, i wish it work more about audience and characteristics of each age. Very useful the second part of the course, about editing.

By Marjolein D

Dec 18, 2015

Good videos but strucural info and help. Unfortunately , for me it wasn´t very exciting or motivating and perhaps that is because of my own interests.

By Monica B C

May 22, 2020

Yo envío mis trabajos, pero dice que estoy atrasada y no se como revisar el porque del atraso. Necesito ayuda. Gracias

By Eddie M

Dec 21, 2015

The last two weeks of this course held great information. However, the first three weeks seemed to lack focus.

By Mogeeb A R M

Feb 3, 2020

Nice course for writers in the start of their career, specially those intending to write for children.

By Ana O

Sep 3, 2015

I enjoyed the course but I would prefered it to be longer. I found the second part more useful.

By Kate M K

Aug 20, 2021

A very good introduction for writing stories. Lots of useful, practical advice. Thank you.

By Annabelle k l

Oct 26, 2015

Its intresting but often feels repetitive and more like advertising.

By Thomasybruce

Sep 8, 2015

The interviews and course discussion are invaluable in this course.

By Amy

Mar 24, 2016

Pretty basi

By STEPHEN E

Oct 9, 2016

Very generic advice although the interviews with children's writers were illuminating and helpful. The marking system was inaccurate, for example it deducted marks for submitting an assignment over word count when it wasn't! Good, solid advice about setting character, scene and place and ideas to help you out of writer's block. The two main presenters were very knowledgeable and it was pitched to an international audience. Some of the activities were repetitious but I guess the craft of writing is but there was a sense of the course tapering away at the end with a proposal letter to a publisher with very little exemplar material being provided to assist.

By Maureen M

May 1, 2021

I really enjoyed this course and the others I have taken through Coursera as well, but I am frustrated with the marking system! Some peers don’t fully understand the criteria or they are scammers, give 0% and tell you to take their English as a second language course. The system should figure out how to flag these people somehow. If I got 100% from one and a 0% from another that should tell you something.

By Bev G

Jul 10, 2021

This course is touted as being for beginners and people who have already done some writing. For beginners yes... and I'd put this at about a Grade 7-8 level of teaching, perhaps. Much to simplified and not enough details. People are not told that there are online resources to check spelling and grammar that are very helpful and writing programs, as well. I copied the transcripts for my own use later, only to find spelling errors, grammar mistakes and the wrong words being used, all things that were under the what not to do category in one of your modules. The only good thing about this course is that it kept my brain moving and motivated to write. So, if you're a beginner, you'll enjoy this course, but if you've been writing for awhile, don't waste your time, unless you have nothing better to do. Happy writing!

By Mehdiya a

May 19, 2020

I'm thankful for their effort but it said I didn't submitted my assignment and the peers reviewed it and it said all of them I got 0 and not passed

By Deleted A

Aug 13, 2020

Lot of trouble in submission of assignment