Chevron Left
Back to Command Line in Linux

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Command Line in Linux by Coursera Project Network

4.6
stars
904 ratings

About the Course

Linux is a popular operating system that is based on the Unix operating system. It has many distributions which have different interfaces for installing software, different user interfaces, and so on. One thing all of the ‘distros’ have in common is that they all have a command line interface, or terminal. In fact, sometimes there is no user interface except the terminal itself. A Linux server running a web application on AWS, for example, may only contain the software required to run the application, and no GUI ‘window’ system at all. It is crucial to learn the Linux command line if you are going to be a productive Linux user and/or administer a Linux server. In this course, you will use Linux commands to navigate Linux directories, search for files, search for patterns, create files and directories, and remove files and directories. Note: This course works best for learners who are based in the North America region. We’re currently working on providing the same experience in other regions....

Top reviews

JJ

Mar 24, 2021

good way to get a basic understanding of linux navigation, having the terminal side by side with the course is helpful. The simulator will move to the side on its own but is easy to open back up.

KB

Oct 29, 2022

Excellent course! I recommend this course to all beginners and Intermediates. I was able to learn a lot about Linux commands in such a brief time.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 184 Reviews for Command Line in Linux

By Md. S H

Aug 25, 2020

Good

By Md. I A

Aug 19, 2020

Good

By Snow L T

Aug 18, 2020

Good

By begari n n

Aug 17, 2020

Good

By Abu H V

Aug 11, 2020

good

By Aracatla s

Aug 11, 2020

Good

By Vijayalaxmi

Aug 10, 2020

nice

By Prasanth k k

Aug 10, 2020

Good

By NGUYỄN C T

Apr 18, 2024

oki

By Zain M

Dec 12, 2023

nyc

By Tanmay n

Aug 6, 2020

👍

By Yaswanth, N

Aug 5, 2021

By Ammon F

Nov 26, 2021

This was very valuable information and I really learned a lot of useful skills in this course. The only reason that I rate this a 4 and not a 5 is because the course seems to jump around and assumes that I know some command lines even though this a beginner course. I felt like the transition from task 7 to 8 was very drastic and overwhelming for a beginner.

By Thanmmay y

Aug 10, 2020

it was really great learning about new thing and the way they explained was great and even interesting. i really enjoyed the classes

By ķakashi Y

Aug 1, 2022

Overall is a good course but i think there could have been more commands that could have been thought.

By Rishi K

Sep 10, 2020

Great for beginners..

Could have been better if "Linux permissions" were discussed in more detail..

By Ernest A

Jul 10, 2023

I was short and didn't cover the majority of Linux commands but it's a good start

By suraj k

Sep 10, 2020

this course is linux terminal in a nutshell. Beginner Friendly. But too short

By Haritha K M

Aug 2, 2021

It is great at the beginning but a little confusing towards the end.

By 221910320032 B A

Dec 9, 2020

amazing course. learned so many things in such less time thank you

By TUSHAR M

Sep 25, 2020

extreamly basic course , it should go upto higher level

By DHIRAJ S

Oct 9, 2022

Had great experience of learning command line

By Kazi T I

Sep 14, 2020

Useful for learn more about given exercises.

By Sarvesh S

Jul 25, 2023

nice basic overview for linux beginners

By Shahid S

Aug 15, 2023

helped to achieve what was described.