Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Ableton Live

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Ableton Live by Berklee College of Music

4.8
stars
853 ratings
251 reviews

About the Course

In the past, Digital Audio Workstations (DAWs) were programs used only by audio engineers with a highly specific knowledge base, on machines inaccessible to most people. But over the past 10-15 years, DAWs and the act of recording music have evolved from being a luxury of the few to being available to the masses. Ableton Live is one such application. Used by an extremely broad range of music creators, Ableton Live not only facilitates the work of engineers, producers, and writers in professional, home, and mobile studio settings, but it is also a powerful platform for musicians on stage, in the DJ booth, and elsewhere. In this course, you will explore some of Live’s most powerful and useful functionality: MIDI programming, audio recording, warping and processing, looping editing, mixing, performing, file management, and troubleshooting. Meant to be a springboard for those who are new to Ableton Live and/or DAWs in general, this three-week course will provide you with a strong knowledge base for using Live to take your musical ideas from conception to final recording. The course breaks down the many barriers of entry into music technology and encourages all those who wish, to create fearlessly. Note: If you do not own Ableton Live 9, you can download the free, fully featured Ableton Live Trial. The trial version will allow you to save and export your work for 30 days. If you use the trial version, do not download it until the course is scheduled to begin....

Top reviews

DS

Sep 12, 2015

I'm now taking this course a second time because it is so absolutely helpful and has really given me a free and friendly place to learn how to use Ableton and get started on music production!

JE

Oct 05, 2015

This is already very, very helpful with mastering the use of Ableton, understanding how the I/O functions work, and polishing a track to the mastering level. Great program and very intuitive!

Filter by:

226 - 244 of 244 Reviews for Introduction to Ableton Live

By Nicholas S

Feb 07, 2019

Great intro course, but needs to be updated!

By Mario V M

Nov 29, 2016

Perfect Starting point to Ableton Live!!!

By Kunal D

Jun 01, 2016

Good course . A must take for beginners !

By Angelene M S V

Nov 06, 2015

Very good instructions of the teacher!

By Aswin V

Feb 19, 2017

Really useful for beginners!!

By Albert B

Dec 07, 2016

If only it was a week longer.

By Jason

Oct 19, 2015

Good information!

By jose m

Oct 16, 2015

Very interesting.

By Kinich U M B

Jun 14, 2016

great

By Juan E

Nov 02, 2015

Nice!

By Tyler G E

Nov 02, 2015

It's amazing that we live in an age where you can take online classes like this for free.

I went from not knowing my way around Ableton to being able to make simple tracks in a few weeks.

The course load is pretty light, but it makes it easy to stay motivated and keep up from week to week.

The instructor has her quirks, but don't we all. I feel like this course is great for introducing someone who has prior experience with writing music and using DAWs to Ableton Live. However, for someone who already knows the basics of Live, this probably won't be of too much use.

By Erik P

Jun 20, 2017

Great introduction to a tool I knew already.. however that being said.. some of the quiz questions were just not very well written / clear. Compared to what I'm used to in Coursera, I'd request Berkelee to go back and polish this course a bit more. Also, the use of 3rd party services is a bit off putting.. especially ones as invasive as the ones used by this course.

By John N W

Mar 19, 2016

I did not understand the submitting process till the fourth week. I feel that you could have offered a more detailed description . Doing the review in the fourth week did not do justice for my peers.

By DWARKESH S

Apr 18, 2017

I personally think that I've learnt more from Google and YouTube then in this course. You can join the course for certification. Other then the certificate, I find this course not much of value.

By aditya b

Dec 27, 2017

can be more comprehensive

By Barend

Oct 23, 2017

Unlike to the other Berklee courses (I normally find them really good), this course was not useful. Week 1 and 2 do scratch the surface of some Ableton topics, too fast and forgetting all the necessary details. All instructions were just done random clicking, nothing musical. Often she did not even let us hear what she did. Nothing is properly explained.

The quizzes were too easy and the peer review assignments were all three weeks the same.

Week 3 is totally useless and suddenly only explains advanced stuff not available in Ableton Intro, or explains how to google.

Finally, this course requires (only for the assignments) to install Blend, create a user account there, and submit all your assignments to the Blend open online collaboration platform. Available for the whole world. This is totally irrelevant for this course and many students have technical problems with this. This can for example be seen the forum (BTW: the discussion forum questions are unanswered by Technical Assistents - normally, for Berklee courses, also that is much better)

So, in my opinion, this course should be redone completely.

By Sergiu

Jun 01, 2016

Don't recommend.

You're better off skimming through the ableton manual and using the search function to get the answers you want.

By Rudy W

Jul 14, 2017

Super-annoying voice, lack of explaining many details, moving too fast - Ableton Live has a far better self tuition options.

By Randall C

Nov 17, 2016

Mo comment went way too fast no contact not deep