Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Ableton Live

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Ableton Live by Berklee College of Music

4.8
845 ratings
249 reviews

About the Course

In the past, Digital Audio Workstations (DAWs) were programs used only by audio engineers with a highly specific knowledge base, on machines inaccessible to most people. But over the past 10-15 years, DAWs and the act of recording music have evolved from being a luxury of the few to being available to the masses. Ableton Live is one such application. Used by an extremely broad range of music creators, Ableton Live not only facilitates the work of engineers, producers, and writers in professional, home, and mobile studio settings, but it is also a powerful platform for musicians on stage, in the DJ booth, and elsewhere. In this course, you will explore some of Live’s most powerful and useful functionality: MIDI programming, audio recording, warping and processing, looping editing, mixing, performing, file management, and troubleshooting. Meant to be a springboard for those who are new to Ableton Live and/or DAWs in general, this three-week course will provide you with a strong knowledge base for using Live to take your musical ideas from conception to final recording. The course breaks down the many barriers of entry into music technology and encourages all those who wish, to create fearlessly. Note: If you do not own Ableton Live 9, you can download the free, fully featured Ableton Live Trial. The trial version will allow you to save and export your work for 30 days. If you use the trial version, do not download it until the course is scheduled to begin....

Top reviews

BO

Jun 30, 2018

Great first introduction into Ableton. Very clear and structured unlike a lot of the free tutorials out there. I would love to see a part 2 of this course that goes into more advanced topics.

DS

Sep 12, 2015

I'm now taking this course a second time because it is so absolutely helpful and has really given me a free and friendly place to learn how to use Ableton and get started on music production!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 242 Reviews for Introduction to Ableton Live

By Joshua P

May 08, 2016

Simply an introduction but definitely helps learn the program, at least on a surface level. You will gain basic functionality and be well on your way to crafting more complex arrangements if you desire.

By Leo H

Nov 06, 2016

Veryyy Good

By Mary A V

Jan 04, 2018

This was a great introductory course and it inspired me to take a full length Ableton Live course.

By Malik A

Jan 15, 2016

great !!!!

By Federico t

Aug 02, 2016

it's a great course for people who want to learn easily the base of this program!

By Diana P

Nov 30, 2016

Muy bueno.

By Branislav S

Dec 23, 2015

Very good course for learning how to work in Ableton. Professor Barra teaches really great.

By João A C L M d S

Feb 23, 2016

I've started producing with live in a week. Amazing and clear course.

By Juan P L

Oct 21, 2015

I have being waiting for this a long time :)

By Uri M

May 03, 2017

Great intro to Ableton, with good hands-on experience. Nice starting point for those who seek to expand their music creation toolset.

By André C B

Jan 05, 2016

The MOOC teaches what it is supposed to, although more classes would be nice since Ableton is such a big program.

By Tamu S

Feb 08, 2016

Keeps me connected to music and music technology even in my work life

By Adriana R

Aug 01, 2017

Great class for beginners in Audio production.

By Dan G

Nov 01, 2016

总得来说非常实用,基本上这些基本操作掌握了就可以完成一首完整的作品。关于混音和插件的等的具体技巧还希望能再出一个进阶篇的课程。

By lisa B

Apr 29, 2016

Erin Barra is an excellent teacher; one of the best I've ever encountered. The course plan is well thought out and structured so that absolute beginners as well as those with Ableton experience can benefit. Highly recommend!!!

By Hosain A

Sep 30, 2016

Thank you Ms professor Erin Bara you are the pest

By Marek Z

Sep 06, 2016

Fully recommend if you want to dive into Ableton Live

By Raphael F

Sep 05, 2015

Very helpful

By Roxan J

Jul 23, 2017

This was a great refresher course for me, since I hadn't used Ableton for some time. Highly recommended!

By Ramiro I M

Jul 18, 2016

Perfecto. Para ser una introducción, me ayudó muchísimo. Saludos desde Argentina.

By James B

Nov 03, 2015

Great starting point for learning how to use Ableton Live.

By Nina J

Feb 12, 2018

I am thankful to this course for giving me exactly what I hoped for - a great start into Ableton, and all the tools I needed to start making music with it. It was especially encouraging and motivating to have a woman instructor. Girl power!

By Lucian B

Nov 02, 2015

This course got me fluent enough with using Ableton that I can sit down and play around with it comfortably and create music. Very pleased

By kervens c

Aug 13, 2016

I learned so much in this class and the instructor did a great job explaining the contents

By Daniel P

Aug 24, 2015

Great class to get your feet wet with ableton.