Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Ableton Live

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Ableton Live by Berklee College of Music

4.8
845 ratings
249 reviews

About the Course

In the past, Digital Audio Workstations (DAWs) were programs used only by audio engineers with a highly specific knowledge base, on machines inaccessible to most people. But over the past 10-15 years, DAWs and the act of recording music have evolved from being a luxury of the few to being available to the masses. Ableton Live is one such application. Used by an extremely broad range of music creators, Ableton Live not only facilitates the work of engineers, producers, and writers in professional, home, and mobile studio settings, but it is also a powerful platform for musicians on stage, in the DJ booth, and elsewhere. In this course, you will explore some of Live’s most powerful and useful functionality: MIDI programming, audio recording, warping and processing, looping editing, mixing, performing, file management, and troubleshooting. Meant to be a springboard for those who are new to Ableton Live and/or DAWs in general, this three-week course will provide you with a strong knowledge base for using Live to take your musical ideas from conception to final recording. The course breaks down the many barriers of entry into music technology and encourages all those who wish, to create fearlessly. Note: If you do not own Ableton Live 9, you can download the free, fully featured Ableton Live Trial. The trial version will allow you to save and export your work for 30 days. If you use the trial version, do not download it until the course is scheduled to begin....

Top reviews

BO

Jun 30, 2018

Great first introduction into Ableton. Very clear and structured unlike a lot of the free tutorials out there. I would love to see a part 2 of this course that goes into more advanced topics.

DS

Sep 12, 2015

I'm now taking this course a second time because it is so absolutely helpful and has really given me a free and friendly place to learn how to use Ableton and get started on music production!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 242 Reviews for Introduction to Ableton Live

By Adrian K

Nov 09, 2015

Excellent! the best way to learn!

By Ramiro I M

Jul 18, 2016

Perfecto. Para ser una introducción, me ayudó muchísimo. Saludos desde Argentina.

By Nina J

Feb 12, 2018

I am thankful to this course for giving me exactly what I hoped for - a great start into Ableton, and all the tools I needed to start making music with it. It was especially encouraging and motivating to have a woman instructor. Girl power!

By kervens c

Aug 13, 2016

I learned so much in this class and the instructor did a great job explaining the contents

By YaNa

Aug 31, 2015

Excellent Course... Erin Barra is really excellent in teaching. Now I can proudly say even i can work in ableton live nicely. Thank you Coursera

By Alida B

Apr 19, 2016

Really great course! The videos were very clear and I learned a ton about a program I've been using for years to record audio only.

By Yaroslav Y

Jan 26, 2017

Great introduction to Ableton 9 for a newcomers. You'll learn basics, but those that are enough to start create music.

By Nacho A

Sep 18, 2015

good, straight to the point Course, you can learn other things in this course like Blend.io

By 李留洋

Nov 04, 2015

学习完了,非常喜欢,感谢老师

By Ben O

Jun 30, 2018

Great first introduction into Ableton. Very clear and structured unlike a lot of the free tutorials out there. I would love to see a part 2 of this course that goes into more advanced topics.

By William R

Aug 11, 2015

Awesome!

By Αγγελική Β

Aug 19, 2015

Thank you Berklee!

By Hai y

Jun 07, 2018

tQ

By Fisher M

Apr 03, 2017

very good

By Tyona T

Jan 25, 2017

it's awesome for beginners!

By pau c d m

Sep 06, 2018

Very good course

By Vincent O

Sep 27, 2018

Awesome course for getting to learn your way around Ableton as well as how to go about making music on Ableton Live.

By Adrie B

Sep 02, 2018

Great way to get started for beginners. Thanks for these amazing tutorials.

By Christian A T P

May 12, 2019

Excelente curso, buena información y buen contenido.

By Gretchen

Jun 13, 2019

Very fun specially to connect with people who are learning the same as you and working to get better

By Kurakin A

Sep 29, 2019

Awesome, useful, inspiring and extremely helpful. You could clearly see the outcome by comparing your records BEFORE and AFTER. The course forces you to actually work on your tracks with all the tools it teaches you straightaway.

By MUKISA J

Oct 08, 2019

this has been the best introductory course I have ever taken

By Assaad M

Dec 08, 2018

Very insightful , the course allowed me to better organize my music, and achieve cleaner sound.

Even though it is basic, the fact is that when you are interacting with the community and submitting assignments, allows you to dive deeper into the creative process.

I highly recommend this course for any amateurs outhere willing to take their skills to another level.

Thank you coursera, and berklee for making this course available

By Nicholas S

Feb 07, 2019

Great intro course, but needs to be updated!