Chevron Left
Back to ADHD: Everyday Strategies for Elementary Students

Learner Reviews & Feedback for ADHD: Everyday Strategies for Elementary Students by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
1,875 ratings

About the Course

This course will provide an overview of ADHD diagnosis and treatment. Course participants can expect to learn about ADHD as a developmental disorder that begins early in childhood, and participants will also learn about evidence-based approaches for diagnosing ADHD. Following that, two evidence-based treatment approaches (the Daily Report Card and Parenting Strategies) will be introduced. (Note these course activities are informational and are not intended to replace working with a licensed/trained professional). Learning Objectives: Students will be able to identify the behaviors characteristic of ADHD, the components of a diagnosis, and evidence-based treatment procedures that can be used in the school or home. 1. Identify the key areas of functional impairment, symptom presentation, and diagnostic decision-making for youth with ADHD. 2. Develop a behavioral intervention suitable for treating ADHD in the school setting. 3. Apply effective parenting and teaching strategies for supporting youth with ADHD in the home, classroom, and neighborhood....

Top reviews

AB

Oct 19, 2020

Very easy to follow and informative course. Learned some things that I didn't know even though I have two children with ADHD. Would definitely recommend to parents who are wondering what they can do.

MS

Feb 23, 2020

Thank you for your helpful and professional efforts. The information you shared so kindly will be extremely useful to me as both a parent to an extremely bright and kind ADHD child and as a teacher.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 578 Reviews for ADHD: Everyday Strategies for Elementary Students

By Abdoulmalik D I

Oct 25, 2016

Thank you

By Talisa L L

May 25, 2022

Thanks

By Bagekari A A

Jun 13, 2020

Good

By Kinjal B

Sep 2, 2020

.

By Mary K

Jun 6, 2022

Decent course. Though I think it's helpful to know how ADHD is diagnosed, and the defining characteristics, I'm not sure if 2/4 weeks needed to cover these areas. I suppose it's good information to have, if you are unfamiliar with ADHD, or are new to the classroom. I found Week 3 the most helpful -- this was the module focusing on Daily Report Cards. Week 4 was targeted towards parents, but the strateies discussed in this module could certainly be applied to classroom use.

Overall, the course was a pretty basic introduction to working with students with ADHD. At times, it seemed to be directed towards educators, and at other times, it was directed towards parents. The strategies mentioned were likely things you've already used in the classroom, or have learned about in your SPED courses.

A good refresher, though.

By Tona J G

Mar 13, 2022

Instructor was very nice but not a good person to do a presentation. His delivery was lacking in quality. He made alot of verbal mistakes and has a lazy speech pattern that made it difficult to understand his pronounciations. His voice would lower towards the end of sentences making it difficult to hear/understand. I would have liked more in depth video presentation regarding training strategies rather than so much given outside readings.

By Nata D

May 16, 2019

I think its a good course for parents and school teachers, includes basic , must know information for people who work/live with children with ADHD . I had higher expectations ( to get to know more detailed information about strategies and intervention process on professional level). Assessment of daily impairment sheet is good to use and thanks for sharing those materials.

By Juanjo R C

Dec 15, 2017

Aun no lo he finalizado, pero tengo la sensación que el curso aborda muy poco sobre el TDAH. He aprendido cosas pero me gustaría que fuera un poco más extenso y con material más detallado ayudando de esta forma a conocer más sobre los niños con TDAH y como poder ayudarles al 100% si es que se puede al 100%

By Sanchayita B

Jun 26, 2021

It would have been better if our hard work got payed off with a certificate that we completed this course successfully. The course is good but without certification there is no proof what we did and we face challenges in the outside world as everyone required proof.

By Sherif M A A A

Jun 7, 2020

I have a feeling the course covers very little about ADHD. I have learned things but I would like it to be a little more extensive and with more detailed material helping in this way to learn more about children with ADHD

By Kayla M

Feb 6, 2018

Could have been more strategies based (even if it were to make the course longer). Did find some of the information useful, some of it is a little out of date, but overall helpful.

By Akila P

Jul 27, 2017

There is a lot of information given and I found the strategies given quite helpful and easy to implement in a daily setting. The additional reading material is also quite helpful.

By Turkina O

Jan 4, 2017

The course provides a concise overview of the disorder and suggests some strategies to cope with it at home and in school. I found it a bit too short and too simple.

By Afnan A M

Aug 23, 2016

It's not professional as that one created by Penn Uni. Named "Pay attention " which is unavailable now and I don't understand why has it been removed from Coursera?!!

By Loreto M A

Jul 20, 2017

Siento que el curso ocupa mucho lo condicionante y esto de alguna manera a la larga afectará la conducta del individuo

By joshi k

Mar 30, 2020

Poor quality videos. Some issue with recorded audio. Not comfortable listening. The narration is too fast.

By Esau G S

Jun 16, 2022

It was an short but interesting course. it gives us some clues to understand and handle the ADHD persons.

By Grace B

Jul 18, 2020

not a ton of new information in here for parenting or k-12 educational settings.

By Michelle C

Feb 17, 2020

This is a good intro or review of ADHD in children.

By XIANGYU S

Oct 13, 2020

So good~! But the quiz is too easy~!

By Anita P

Mar 27, 2021

I learnt a lot of strategies

By Kelly B

Apr 21, 2021

Was very eye opening

By Rachel L F

Sep 26, 2019

It was a good course

By Niki C

Jul 21, 2017

i

By Monika N

Jun 20, 2022

The course didnt really meet my expectations. I didn't like the slides, they were very generic, boring, and just had basic info in there without really explaining what is what later in the lecture. The information was very basic and way too short. I appreciate the opportunity to participate in the class, but I wouldn't recommend it to a friend. Maybe work more on expanding the course and improving on visual aids. Slides after the lecture were a good idea, but the slides itself need to be better. Thank you nonetheless.