Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Data Structures in Java

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Data Structures in Java by University of California San Diego

4.8
stars
1,195 ratings
293 reviews

About the Course

How does Google Maps plan the best route for getting around town given current traffic conditions? How does an internet router forward packets of network traffic to minimize delay? How does an aid group allocate resources to its affiliated local partners? To solve such problems, we first represent the key pieces of data in a complex data structure. In this course, you’ll learn about data structures, like graphs, that are fundamental for working with structured real world data. You will develop, implement, and analyze algorithms for working with this data to solve real world problems. In addition, as the programs you develop in this course become more complex, we’ll examine what makes for good code and class hierarchy design so that you can not only write correct code, but also share it with other people and maintain it in the future. The backbone project in this course will be a route planning application. You will apply the concepts from each Module directly to building an application that allows an autonomous agent (or a human driver!) to navigate its environment. And as usual we have our different video series to help tie the content back to its importance in the real world and to provide tiered levels of support to meet your personal needs....

Top reviews

DB
Oct 12, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SU
Jun 7, 2017

Fantastic course! I would recommend to anyone interested in learning the graph data structure in a fun and hands-on and engaging way! Definitely one of the best courses I have followed on Coursera.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 280 Reviews for Advanced Data Structures in Java

By Pradyumn A

Jul 13, 2017

Great course for learning data structures with it s applications. A must course for Computer Science Enthusiast.

By Justin C

Feb 9, 2017

Very good course. I wish we could have done more algorithms with the map. Such a great way to teach algorithms.

By Jyotman S

Jan 3, 2016

Very good. Would have been even better if the course was a little more broad and more algorithms were covered.

By Destu A

May 9, 2020

I got a lot of experience and this practice really helped broaden my horizons

Nice and Great , Thank You

By Jingyuan X

Jun 19, 2017

Really a good course, thanks this course,I can independently build project and consider it all by myself

By José L C H

Jun 16, 2016

Now i understand how gps planing routes work! I really like Data Structures and the importance of Graphs

By Edwin C

Aug 30, 2016

Super awesome course, love the professors, would've been even better if covered hashing in more detail.

By Sangil Y

Oct 3, 2018

I really enjoyed all of their courses in this specialization it's easily one of the best courses i had

By Tim S

Jan 3, 2016

Excellent course, if a little short. the instructors did a really good job of explaining the concepts.

By aashrai r

Feb 9, 2016

The content is just amazing, and the teachers are so awesome prompted me to do more courses from UCSD

By Riccardo C

Jan 31, 2016

I recommend it. It 'a complete course and allows you to explore the use of data structures with Java.

By Yubo O

Aug 4, 2017

Nice course about graphs, and a very natural application of graph: Geographic maps.

Highly recommend!

By Francois M

Jan 25, 2016

Excellent! Very ambitious and well calibrated course. That can really be used for real applications.

By Noah D G

Feb 3, 2019

This course was great! Loads of fun, most challenging course I have take in this specialization.

By snapfinger

Jan 21, 2017

Course teams really spend a lot of time for providing a great studying experience and procedure.

By N P

Apr 3, 2016

Best classes I ever took till now. This really enhanced my Java programming skills. Thank you.

By Lachezar

Apr 27, 2017

Excellent job! Learning various search algorithms with diverse applications in real life.

By Roussel K

Jan 12, 2016

Learn graph data structures through the creation of a very cool project. Awesome class!

By Huijun Z

Apr 17, 2016

This course is very helpful in understanding Graph, which was a pain in other courses

By Eric B C C

Jun 26, 2017

Very challenging and rewarding course. My Java skills are better upon completion tha

By Pat C

Mar 5, 2019

very interesting and well structured course. Great teaching, content and exercises

By Stanislav

Jun 16, 2019

Useful course, but in one week can be problem with waiting for peer grade reviews

By Sudharaka P

Mar 1, 2016

Very nice course which gives good introduction to data structures. I love it. :)

By Satyam

Feb 5, 2016

Nice concrete course to take. Good info about graphs as a whole. Enjoyed it. :)

By Vikas D

Jan 3, 2017

Great Instructors...Thank you Instructors,google engineers, coursera and UCSD.