Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python by EDHEC Business School

4.8
stars
153 ratings
41 reviews

About the Course

The practice of investment management has been transformed in recent years by computational methods. Instead of merely explaining the science, we help you build on that foundation in a practical manner, with an emphasis on the hands-on implementation of those ideas in the Python programming language. In this course, we cover the estimation, of risk and return parameters for meaningful portfolio decisions, and also introduce a variety of state-of-the-art portfolio construction techniques that have proven popular in investment management and portfolio construction due to their enhanced robustness. As we cover the theory and math in lecture videos, we'll also implement the concepts in Python, and you'll be able to code along with us so that you have a deep and practical understanding of how those methods work. By the time you are done, not only will you have a foundational understanding of modern computational methods in investment management, you'll have practical mastery in the implementation of those methods. If you follow along and implement all the lab exercises, you will complete the course with a powerful toolkit that you will be able to use to perform your own analysis and build your own implementations and perhaps even use your newly acquired knowledge to improve on current methods....

Top reviews

MM

Apr 14, 2020

Loved how this course was presented. It built well off of the first course and provided labs that let me explore the content. I really enjoyed how Lionel and Vijay presented the material.

MM

Dec 03, 2019

The course is excellent, one of the best finance courses on coursera, but you should know in advance that you will not have any help from the staff, at least that was my experience.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 42 Reviews for Advanced Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

By Serg D

Nov 21, 2019

Another great course from edhec business school on portfolio construction. The reason why i am giving 3 is because forum quality and support is below acceptable. What is the point for Claudia to encourage this conversations? We come here to learn practical skills and sometimes need help and support, which does not exist. Great course otherwise.

By Hong M

May 22, 2020

It is my great honor to attend the high quality course Advanced Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python. Thank the instructors for their professional guidance in the class and classmates, TAs for their hospitality in the forum. The course is one of the best Coursera courses I have taken, which not only provides profound finance knowledge, but also guides on fantastic Python Programming which becomes very useful tool in practical market/ investment analysis. Highly Recommend! Best Regards and blessings.

By Guglielmo

Apr 24, 2020

This Course is really amazing! I appreciated the way the lab-sessions are explained, since, in contrast to the first course, the instructor briefly explains the code forcing you to play around with. In this way, I really improved a lot my coding skills. Furthermore, I found both interesting and helpful even the theoretical part, with Lionel that walks you through difficult concept in a very effective way giving you a solid understanding of the core concepts related to portfolio Construction and performance improvement. Therefore, I strongly suggest this course to everyone interested in learning some practical coding skills in financial field.

By Runar A Ø

Feb 16, 2020

I highly recommend this course. The information and explanation is outstanding, and is something that is really applicable, not just theory. The lab instructor Dr. Vijay Vaidyanathan does a good job of explaining each element, but if he took the time like he did in MOOC 1 it would be perfect. The quiz is great because you have to really understand the theory and code in order to answer them, so you can't just skip through the labs and except to pass.

This and the previous MOOC in the specialization has been two of the best courses I have ever had in terms of practicality and effective teaching.

By Vadim T

May 16, 2020

One of the best courses (Specializations) that Coursera has to offer. Really enjoy video lectures and programing labs. My favourite part is that the course is related to the real-world and addresses the questions of the applicability of recent theoretical developments. Learned modern state of the art technologies and enjoyed playing with the numbers. Programming assignments could have been harder but they are fun anyways.

By Enrique A V Y

May 17, 2020

Really good one just like the first MOOC, however, the lab sessions are a bit more hands off, which is okay if you payed enough attention on the first course. Otherwise, you might struggle with it. I really wish to thank both VJ and Lionel for the great quality of their teaching, hard to find anything like it even in presencial classes.

By Prashant B

Dec 23, 2019

Even though the exercises were not detailed as in MOOC1, this did give more in depth knowledge of python exercises..

Some of the new additions to the ERK Risk Kit functions - explanation of basis of function

list risk_contribution function is given, but the foundation on why /what is missing, how is implemented

By Jerry H

May 09, 2020

Absolutely enjoyed the course, learned new concepts and new perspectives on methodologies I already knew and used. Would have like to see them go a bit further into more advanced portfolio construction techniques. One more week building on week 4 would have been great.

By Tim E

Feb 06, 2020

Brilliant course and I would highly recommend to anyone seeking an overview of some reasonably complex aspects of portfolio construction explained in a very intuitive and approachable manner, reiterated through detailed practical examples in the Python lab sessions.

By Anurag J

May 28, 2020

Loved every bit of the course, the use of python greatly enhanced the experience both in learning the concepts with granularity and how to employ the concepts learnt here in real world. One of the best course i have been through. Thank you!

By Michael M

Apr 14, 2020

Loved how this course was presented. It built well off of the first course and provided labs that let me explore the content. I really enjoyed how Lionel and Vijay presented the material.

By Mario R M

Dec 03, 2019

The course is excellent, one of the best finance courses on coursera, but you should know in advance that you will not have any help from the staff, at least that was my experience.

By kitiwat a

Jan 05, 2020

I like the way instructors explained difficult topic and digest it to simple way. The coding side was also impressive. WIth novice background in Python, I would able to understand.

By Dwaipayan B

May 05, 2020

This course teaches a great approach to portfolio construction. Crisp course content makes learning even more convenient. My sincere regards to the team behind this noble task,

By Mirkamil G

Apr 12, 2020

Really appreciated from both of the instructors, from thier very high level of theory and practical programming skills. Hoping to use these khowledge in pracsis some days.

By Rehan I

Apr 02, 2020

Another excellent course. One thing I would have liked to have is longer lab session videos like in MOOC 1 to ensure we can re-create the notebooks as we go along.

By Nikolay N

Mar 07, 2020

Very interesting course with a lot practice stuff. A very proficient mentors with strong theoretical background in finance and good Python skills.

By Fabian M H C

Jan 13, 2020

Enjoyed the part on the implementation of the Black-Litterman model and the Risk Parity portfolios. Looking forward to the third course.

By Roshan M

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course once again. Both Professors Martinelli and Vijay are outstanding in their explanations!

By Ruediger K

Mar 14, 2020

Really well done. Of Course, this is a rapidly evolving field and one cannot stop with this Course alone.

By Samantha T

May 04, 2020

Best course ever! A good preparation for the industry. The codes are easy to understand.

By Jacob W

May 19, 2020

Great way to learn about more sophisticated allocation methods in Portfolio Management.

By Konstantinos R

Nov 06, 2019

Very demanding, especially the tests. Extremely interesting lectures and to the point.

By Christopher G

Apr 30, 2020

Very good course. Simple to follow and the right level of detail for practitioners

By Jochen G

May 14, 2020

Fantastic course, many thanks to the team! It was fun and challenging!