Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
1,629 ratings
402 reviews

About the Course

Course 3: Advanced Writing This is the third course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By raising your level of academic writing, this course helps prepare you for college-level work. After completing this course, you will be able to: - plan and write a more sophisticated argument essay - identify plagiarism and explain how to prevent it - read and analyze several articles to form your own opinion on a topic - make connections between several articles - form thesis statements from your readings - use sources effectively when writing an essay Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

TQ
Dec 7, 2020

A must for non-native learners and advanced learners. Step by step method of writing for many different school boards in South Asian countries. Extremely practical way with appropriate examples.

DB
Aug 16, 2016

An absolutely wonderful course! I learned a lot about advanced essay writing. I think it is a must-take course for those who are interested in writing academic and research essays!

Filter by:

376 - 395 of 395 Reviews for Advanced Writing

By Sergio A G M

Feb 13, 2016

It has good content, but there were missing classes to give more advices or clear any question students have, when grading peer review homeworks there were plenty of mistakes that would have been avoided if there were more video lectures or forums with teachers.

By Dashrath R

Jul 8, 2020

It was a great experience to learn these things, before I want aware about that, now I now soothing and this will help to learn and rectify unfamiliar things .

By salamades

Aug 14, 2016

Not the course id think it would be.

I learn less information than i d expect but these were still usefull information.

By Aditya U

Feb 12, 2020

I got what i needed from this course, so i wish not to continue with it anymore.

It was a very helpful course.

By Dr. S H

Jun 6, 2020

Peer review systems does not guarantee accuracy of personal development

By Azeezathul S I

Aug 13, 2020

Advanced English is very useful to me to learn about how to write it.

By Mark G W

Feb 18, 2020

Thank you. I learned a lot of this course.

By Rhonda H

Oct 2, 2016

it is okay, not what I expected, but okay.

By 刘诗琦

Mar 17, 2017

把学术剽窃专门拎出来讲也是非常良心了。

By Fulgence M

Jun 23, 2017

good

By Sasha G

Feb 21, 2021

I enjoyed the course content, but I felt that most, if not all of it, was concerned with citations. I wish that the course had provided more information on strategies and tools to structure the different writings we did over the course duration. Although the samples were good guidance, I would have liked to see more strategies to help writers organize their writing; maybe using the different paragraphs they discussed in one of the modules only. I felt that the writing assessment criteria was poorly constructed, only related to the formatting of the writing, and not focusing on paragraphing or evidencing ideas, even though the writing instructions did specify a certain minumun number of paragraphs, sentences, and citations per paragraph.

By Adam S

Nov 3, 2016

It helps you build your essay-writing muscles gradually. Too much emphasis on plagiarism. Some flaws in the grading forms. The level of the participants is quite mixed, most feedback they give is useless ("good").

By Digby D

May 22, 2018

Disgustingly juvenile for what alleges to be an "Advanced" course, avoid if you care about writing quality essays or writing in general.

By Lingfei T

Dec 20, 2015

It is not very "advanced"

By Mohammad M H

Jun 5, 2020

Thank you

By Kathya S

Feb 18, 2017

It says 'advanced writing' but it is advanced for college students, not advanced overall. I found it extremely basic.

By khyati s

Jul 15, 2020

even after giving all answers correctly im not getting grades above 80

By SRAVANI K

Jul 1, 2020

Unenroll

By Deleted A

Jan 3, 2021

m