Chevron Left
Back to AI for Medical Prognosis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for AI for Medical Prognosis by DeepLearning.AI

4.7
stars
553 ratings
95 reviews

About the Course

AI is transforming the practice of medicine. It’s helping doctors diagnose patients more accurately, make predictions about patients’ future health, and recommend better treatments. This Specialization will give you practical experience in applying machine learning to concrete problems in medicine. Machine learning is a powerful tool for prognosis, a branch of medicine that specializes in predicting the future health of patients. In this second course, you’ll walk through multiple examples of prognostic tasks. You’ll then use decision trees to model non-linear relationships, which are commonly observed in medical data, and apply them to predicting mortality rates more accurately. Finally, you’ll learn how to handle missing data, a key real-world challenge. These courses go beyond the foundations of deep learning to teach you the nuances in applying AI to medical use cases. This course focuses on tree-based machine learning, so a foundation in deep learning is not required for this course. However, a foundation in deep learning is highly recommended for course 1 and 3 of this specialization. You can gain a foundation in deep learning by taking the Deep Learning Specialization offered by deeplearning.ai and taught by Andrew Ng....

Top reviews

JD
Jun 4, 2020

I am a medical image analysis enthusiast. But I always wonder why I can't I combine other patient details for extending it's application. Sure this course is awesome. I really loved it !!

BM
Apr 21, 2020

This course was great and more challenging that I have expected. More focus on statistics and survival data which is important for prognosis. Course has a good flow and valuable content.

Filter by:

76 - 95 of 95 Reviews for AI for Medical Prognosis

By SA E

Jul 9, 2020

It was excellent

By MD A R A

Sep 13, 2020

Excellent !!!

By Julio E F

Jun 30, 2020

Great course!

By Adolfo S

May 18, 2020

Top course

By Kamlesh C

Jun 18, 2020

Thank you

By Matteo R

Apr 27, 2020

Faboulous

By MICHAEL G N

Jun 29, 2020

Awesome!

By Santiago G

Apr 29, 2020

Thanks!

By Jeff L J D

Nov 9, 2020

Thanks

By DR. M E

May 25, 2020

good

By Alex Y

Jul 16, 2020

Unfortunately, I would like to admit that a quality of Andrew Ng's courses declined since he personally stoped working on it... For example, I enjoyed very much all those side steps in material which Andrew did in explaining and giving an intuition to the things directly not related to the subject. He is a person with very wide expertise and this seemingly not related material brings most of the enjoyment I bring home from his courses. Now it is gone... The course is still good, but now it lucks its magic ...

Andrew, please come back ! :) You still have RL unexplained and many other things )))

By Hugues D

May 11, 2020

Hi,

Great course. Maybe I missed something but the explanation to calculate the C_Index does not cover all cases and so the assignment is rather complicated. The Harell's C-Index algorithm is given here: "https://statisticaloddsandends.wordpress.com/2019/10/26/what-is-harrells-c-index/" and it helped me a lot.

Thanks again for course. See you at the next one.

By Erwin J T C

May 22, 2020

I liked this course. Some of the concepts appeared somewhat abstract but I'll just have to review integration and derivatives. There was also a lot of syntax to learn in python but it was great to learn more about how to use numpy and pandas. Can't wait to learn more in course 3: AI in medical treatment.

By Karl J

Sep 24, 2020

Good introduction to these materials, but it's difficult to use this level to incorporate into research. If you want to really use this material, you have to go deeper independently, which isn't much of an issue with the proper motivation.

By A V A

Jun 21, 2020

A good overview of the key concepts, tools and techniques used in medical prognosis with interesting Jupyter notebook exercises and assignments that illustrate the applications and allow us to work hands-on with these techniques..

By Taiki H

May 14, 2020

Good practice, but i want more hands-on assignment which focuses on how to build model from scratch, for example about COX model.

By Giulia C

Oct 17, 2020

The course is well done and the content is high quality, as in the previous course of this specialization

By Nyonyintono J P

Aug 27, 2020

Great course. However, i miss how Andrew deconstructs everything - it completely absorbs all your curiosity. When you move to the assignments, without extra work you can fully understand how the libraries work. This however has a different approach, they absolutely open your mind up and enthuse you to do much more background work. really good stuff!

By Irina G

Jun 23, 2020

I liked very much the first course of this specialization, but the second one is a waste of time. Too much of medical heuristics that doesn't transfer to other fields, and will be forgotten in a week after completing this course.

By geoffrey a

Oct 21, 2020

Good content. Bad quality control. The QC mistakes resulted in wasting hours of student time, and coursera help desk time. It almost resulted in lost income for coursera due to refund of money being my next step I would have taken.