Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Algae

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Algae by University of California San Diego

4.7
196 ratings
63 reviews

About the Course

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

Top reviews

AZ

Apr 10, 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

TR

Sep 05, 2019

An excellent detail introduction covering the details of algae\n\nevolution, algae bio- chemistries & structures, algae cultivation, harvesting, producer methods, products and applications.

Filter by:

51 - 63 of 63 Reviews for Introduction to Algae

By Saskia M

Jan 06, 2019

Very nice course.

It was focused very much on micro algae, I would have liked more info on seaweed.

By Richard K

May 08, 2018

very informative course

By Carolina H M

May 24, 2018

Thanks, it was a very good course, but I recommend putting additional bibliography to read and complement the information

By Soham G

May 07, 2018

some lectures were pretty boring. just add a little bit of fun and excitement in the professors' voices so that to capture the attention of the students.

By Harald S

Jun 24, 2018

The content at large excellent but but most of the diagrams were not in focus therefore justimpossible to read/follow/understand ( had to use other sources ) The textmass connected could just have some corresponding time notes..thus easier to follow.. As such quite a few questions came to be exlpained ..in good way Many many thanks to you all

By Daniel M G G

Apr 17, 2018

Muy bueno para ser introductorio al tema de las algas.

By Yoav A

Sep 12, 2018

Interesting material and proffesional teachers

By David D R

Oct 24, 2018

Excellent overview. Needs some editing for minor errors. Some questions need to be redesigned since many forms of answers could be correct, e.g. energy source for photosynthesis could be light, sunlight, photons, etc.

By Ryan Z Y

Jun 11, 2019

It was an interesting (and generally in-depth) introductory course. Recommended to take good notes!

One downside of the course -- there are a few times, when the lecturers do not really explain things well enough (Ex: there was a lecturer who did not explain how a "Zobi Harvester" worked in-depth; And because he was a leader of the company that invented the "Zobi Harvester", it seemed as if he was merely turning that specific Coursera lecture into an advertisement!)

By Alisa V

Aug 18, 2019

This was really a great in-depth introduction to algae! The modules were very well structured and assignments tested the understanding of important concepts. Also very manageable for those people working full-time jobs! Really enjoyed it!

By Diana G

Aug 28, 2019

El programa es mucha teoria y solo al final algo de practica.

By GINA R

Sep 03, 2018

no se encontraron lecturas en learning objectives

profesores no responden preguntas en foros

no se entrego ninguna leccion en manufacturing de macro algas

By kathy r

May 21, 2019

Not what I had expected- I was looking for biological algae intro, and this was an industrial application of algae course. Interesting I guess, but not what I was wanting.