Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Algae

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Algae by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
724 ratings
214 reviews

About the Course

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

Top reviews

AZ

Apr 10, 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

PG

Apr 16, 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 212 Reviews for Introduction to Algae

By colin w

Jul 16, 2020

Great introduction to algae and their uses. Focus is heavily on microalgae and producing algae for use as an oil, bio-fuel and in bio-products but also gives a good overview of macroalgae (seaweed) and how they grow and develop too. Would recommend to anyone with an interest in either microalgae as a bio-product and macroalgae as an aquaculture product for food and other appplications.

By Harald S

Jun 24, 2018

The content at large excellent but but most of the diagrams were not in focus therefore justimpossible to read/follow/understand ( had to use other sources ) The textmass connected could just have some corresponding time notes..thus easier to follow.. As such quite a few questions came to be exlpained ..in good way Many many thanks to you all

By Enos P N

Mar 04, 2020

I was taking this course because I want to learn more about macroalgae cultivation. So it was not what I expected. But the course talk more about microalgae cultivation (industry), which at some point is inaccessible to more traditional community who can't afford high capital to start with.

But overall, it was a good introduction course.

By Nicolas D

Apr 14, 2020

The course is rather well done and teaches a lot. It's a big eye opener on algae but on plants as well. The only part I didn't like at all was the bio-manufacturing one which felt like a marketing presentation more than explaining actual processes (including even some FUDs).

By Claudia C V T

Jun 28, 2020

Excelente material, tal y como lo dice, es material introductorio, por lo que si alguno desea venir en busca de información profunda, no la encontrará aquí. Un poco de todo y sobre todo, aplicación de la información. Excelentes explicaciones y planteamiento.

By Dominica Q

May 29, 2020

I enjoyed the course, i liked the quality of the questions and the power point presentations used.

What I didn't really like was that every lecture was given by a different proffesor... anyway, I had a good experience and learned many new things :)

By Shrihari N

Mar 30, 2020

Great Introductory course! However, I would have liked to better understand the challenges in bringing algae derived biofuels to the market, and more details about other applications of algae, such as wastewater treatment, Hydrogen production etc.

By Alisa V

Aug 18, 2019

This was really a great in-depth introduction to algae! The modules were very well structured and assignments tested the understanding of important concepts. Also very manageable for those people working full-time jobs! Really enjoyed it!

By yogita g

Sep 10, 2020

exceptional introduction I must say. I am an BS Aquaculture from URI and an oyster hatchery manager and was more than satisfied with the curriculum and the expertise of the speakers. I would greatly encourage a follow-up course.

By David D R

Oct 24, 2018

Excellent overview. Needs some editing for minor errors. Some questions need to be redesigned since many forms of answers could be correct, e.g. energy source for photosynthesis could be light, sunlight, photons, etc.

By Soham S G

May 07, 2018

some lectures were pretty boring. just add a little bit of fun and excitement in the professors' voices so that to capture the attention of the students.

By Carolina H M

May 24, 2018

Thanks, it was a very good course, but I recommend putting additional bibliography to read and complement the information

By Mohamed S

Apr 29, 2020

its being 4 years since graduation, this course brings much happiness, knowledge and experience.

kind regards.

salem.

By Delphine N

Oct 19, 2020

sometimes a little bit too technical for an introduction, but very interesting, well designed and well taught-

By Saskia M

Jan 06, 2019

Very nice course.

It was focused very much on micro algae, I would have liked more info on seaweed.

By Anindita S

May 11, 2020

The courses are really great to learn. You will know so many interesting things about the courses.

By sean c

Oct 08, 2020

Lots of practical industrial material. I had trouble finding reading resources.

By SPANDANA J S 1

Sep 24, 2020

It was a very informative course with practicality prioritized.

By Josuah D Z

Sep 29, 2020

The online course of introduction to algae is nice and good.

By Daniel M G G

Apr 17, 2018

Muy bueno para ser introductorio al tema de las algas.

By Bimal Y C

Jul 14, 2020

Good course to get basic knowledge related to algae.

By Yoav A

Sep 12, 2018

Interesting material and proffesional teachers

By jacopo b

May 13, 2020

perfectly made with an overview of everything

By Rocio E

Jul 07, 2020

buen aporte al conocimiento de las algas

By Komal G

Sep 30, 2020

it is really good for a beginner.