Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Thinking (Part 2)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Thinking (Part 2) by Rice University

4.7
stars
214 ratings

About the Course

Experienced Computer Scientists analyze and solve computational problems at a level of abstraction that is beyond that of any particular programming language. This two-part class is designed to train students in the mathematical concepts and process of "Algorithmic Thinking", allowing them to build simpler, more efficient solutions to computational problems. In part 2 of this course, we will study advanced algorithmic techniques such as divide-and-conquer and dynamic programming. As the central part of the course, students will implement several algorithms in Python that incorporate these techniques and then use these algorithms to analyze two large real-world data sets. The main focus of these tasks is to understand interaction between the algorithms and the structure of the data sets being analyzed by these algorithms. Once students have completed this class, they will have both the mathematical and programming skills to analyze, design, and program solutions to a wide range of computational problems. While this class will use Python as its vehicle of choice to practice Algorithmic Thinking, the concepts that you will learn in this class transcend any particular programming language....

Top reviews

RL

Mar 24, 2018

Great class...Luay's lectures and problem sets were a great continuation to what Joe and Scott started. I suppose I will get started on Course 7 shortly.

JO

Apr 28, 2018

Excellent class in the series. Even if computational biology is not your thing, the assignments are really interesting, fun and informative.

Filter by:

26 - 39 of 39 Reviews for Algorithmic Thinking (Part 2)

By Ganapathi N K

Nov 11, 2017

Fantastic course

By Paritosh P

Jun 7, 2020

GOOD N LEARNING

By Siwei L

Dec 25, 2017

Great course!!!

By Dmitrii A

Jul 24, 2017

Thanks )

By Jin X

May 2, 2016

Love it.

By Tae J Y

Aug 18, 2017

Good!

By Bhavya G

Jun 7, 2020

GOOD

By Todd R

Sep 4, 2016

.

By Nitin R

Jun 6, 2020

The course is theoretically more difficult than most other Algorithms course you'd find here on Coursera. It is mathematical in nature. So, if you want a more practice-approached model, please search elsewhere. However, again, it is a wonderful course for understanding stuff in their conceptual nature.

By UKA M M

Dec 30, 2023

This is really good course but bad thing about the course is masrks is given by the students or other person and some people give it bad marks even that's it correct that's why this is the disadvantages of this course .....

By DA R B

Oct 16, 2023

It is painful to take couple of days to wait for someone \\review applications so that I can move on to next chapter!

By Martin W

Feb 3, 2017

Really like the mix of theory and practical application

By Gman

Jul 14, 2022

really having a hard time understanding this professor....personally I think homeworks are much harder than projects/applications. I learned more by goolging the stuff it's teaching on my own than listening to presentations. If you are taking as part of the specialziation, bite the bullet. Otherwise, there are better algo courses.

By Na Z

Sep 23, 2022

The worst course I've ever taken!!!!! Don't wast your time unless you are very rich and have nothing to do. They asked 5 peer revview to pass the course for each project, and they force you to read the optional material otherwise you can't pass the quiz. They only test the hardest part in the quiz to keep you as long as you can in each course so that they can earn money. Anyone see this PLEASE RUN AWAY FROM THIS WORST COURSE!!!!