Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
10,703 ratings
2,251 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

BD
Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

SG
Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 2,173 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Devkul S

Jan 18, 2019

We can get a clear concept of algorithm and dynamic programming. This course helped me to think loud on a given set of problem

By Ramalakshmi S

Sep 6, 2020

This course was really great. It helped me to learn the concepts and algorithms more clearly than my college. Thanks a lot .

By Faiz B S

Apr 23, 2020

It was a very nice, structured course and really helped me to grasp the basics of algorithms, especially Dynamic Programming.

By Rohit D

Mar 14, 2020

This course is the best one to learn algorithmic design and complexity analysis from scratch to advanced level. Loved it ! ;)

By O'KANE,DREW

Sep 21, 2018

A tough course no doubt, but you learn all the classic problem solving techniques in computer science. Well worth the effort.

By Burak H

Dec 8, 2017

Excellent course! The level is not very advanced but not too trivial either. The set of exercises are very well put together.

By Aditya S J

Oct 31, 2017

The best tutorial to study algorithm

the three approach to solve a problem is awesome

Greedy

Divide & conquer

Dynamic Programming

By Tathagata C

Jul 4, 2020

Very good course..

Problems are ranging from easy to difficulty.

One can easily learn the techniques used to learn the course

By Pablo V I

May 17, 2020

Excellent challenging course. Highly recommended for technical people who want to learn the foundations of Computer Science.

By Piskunov I M

Aug 18, 2017

Excellent compilation to increase your productivity. Interesting tasks and great system to check your algorithm. Great work!

By Felipe A G

Apr 13, 2021

It is a great course, a real challenge, you get to understand the theory and you have many qualified exercises to practice.

By D M

Feb 18, 2021

Very important for all programmers out there, especially ones who are self-taught or have not spend much time on Algorithms

By Dev G

Nov 14, 2020

The best course I ever enrolled in! The instructors are highly qualified professionals, and their teaching stlye is superb.

By Jayesh G

Jul 24, 2020

This course really offers a perfect blend of theory and problems. I learnt a lot on how to approach a problem and debug it.

By Sanskar K

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent set of programming exercises and requires some effort on the learner's part. A very good and well-defined course.

By Rohit J

Aug 16, 2016

this course is very useful. Every topic is covered here and the assignments were also very effective to check your concept.

By Rosh D

Oct 18, 2020

So helpful! I loved learning all the new forms and takes on how to develop algorithms. I really expanded my knowledge!! :)

By Renat S

Aug 3, 2020

Nice balance of practical and theoretical knowledge! Absolutely recommend for anyone looking to review algorithm concepts.

By Juan D B P

May 21, 2020

Very good course, with many examples and clear explanations, programming assigments are really chellenging, but fun to do

By Sivagopal M

Mar 1, 2020

The overall course is very good. I feel that the dynamic programming section should be improved everything else is great.

By Andrey K

Sep 9, 2018

The course itself is good, all information is correct and useful. Nice to have so many languages to implement algorithms.

By Daniyar Z

Nov 12, 2016

Nice course! Definitely, I have learned a lot. To be all honesty, I find myself sleeping sometimes during the lectures =)

By ganesh s

Jul 13, 2020

A superb introduction to an algorithmic approach to problem-solving. A must for those interested in competitive coding.

By Md. J D

Aug 19, 2020

It is an amazing course for a newbie programmer to gain sufficient knowledge about algorithmic design and application.

By Pratiksha G

Jul 29, 2020

As the videos are short and effective ,its fun watching these videos and learning new skills.Trully a very good course