Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
10,459 ratings
2,209 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

BD
Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

SG
Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 2,129 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Tathagata C

Jul 4, 2020

Very good course..

Problems are ranging from easy to difficulty.

One can easily learn the techniques used to learn the course

By Pablo V I

May 17, 2020

Excellent challenging course. Highly recommended for technical people who want to learn the foundations of Computer Science.

By Piskunov I M

Aug 18, 2017

Excellent compilation to increase your productivity. Interesting tasks and great system to check your algorithm. Great work!

By Felipe A G

Apr 13, 2021

It is a great course, a real challenge, you get to understand the theory and you have many qualified exercises to practice.

By D M

Feb 18, 2021

Very important for all programmers out there, especially ones who are self-taught or have not spend much time on Algorithms

By Dev G

Nov 14, 2020

The best course I ever enrolled in! The instructors are highly qualified professionals, and their teaching stlye is superb.

By Jayesh G

Jul 24, 2020

This course really offers a perfect blend of theory and problems. I learnt a lot on how to approach a problem and debug it.

By Sanskar K

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent set of programming exercises and requires some effort on the learner's part. A very good and well-defined course.

By Rohit J

Aug 16, 2016

this course is very useful. Every topic is covered here and the assignments were also very effective to check your concept.

By Rosh D

Oct 18, 2020

So helpful! I loved learning all the new forms and takes on how to develop algorithms. I really expanded my knowledge!! :)

By Renat S

Aug 3, 2020

Nice balance of practical and theoretical knowledge! Absolutely recommend for anyone looking to review algorithm concepts.

By Juan D B P

May 21, 2020

Very good course, with many examples and clear explanations, programming assigments are really chellenging, but fun to do

By Sivagopal M

Mar 1, 2020

The overall course is very good. I feel that the dynamic programming section should be improved everything else is great.

By Andrey K

Sep 9, 2018

The course itself is good, all information is correct and useful. Nice to have so many languages to implement algorithms.

By Daniyar Z

Nov 12, 2016

Nice course! Definitely, I have learned a lot. To be all honesty, I find myself sleeping sometimes during the lectures =)

By ganesh s

Jul 13, 2020

A superb introduction to an algorithmic approach to problem-solving. A must for those interested in competitive coding.

By Md. J D

Aug 19, 2020

It is an amazing course for a newbie programmer to gain sufficient knowledge about algorithmic design and application.

By Pratiksha G

Jul 29, 2020

As the videos are short and effective ,its fun watching these videos and learning new skills.Trully a very good course

By Sachin s

May 31, 2020

Great Experience, been ignoring dynamic programming for soooo...... long, now I finally understand it. Thank You !!!!!

By K V

May 2, 2020

Was very helpful in making the basics clear, and now I've got a idea of how to solve a problem in the most optimal way

By Anuj P

Apr 23, 2020

Probably one of the best courses to start with. Basics are explained in a good manner. Lectures can still be improved.

By Anubhav R

May 27, 2019

Enjoyed the course. The lectures explain the concepts well enough. Programming assignments are challenging but doable.

By Shubham T

Apr 14, 2018

This cource is really very nice. This has enhanced my problem solving skills in programming language very efficiently.

By Rajat A

Aug 17, 2017

The programming assignments are the best thing about this course. They will make you think and are quite fun to solve.

By RAYAL N V

Oct 9, 2020

The problems are really really good for improving problem-solving. Some of them were real brain teasers. Loved them.