Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
10,227 ratings
2,166 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG
Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

BD
Jan 19, 2021

The course was really amazing which provided deep knowledge from basic to advance that how algorithms works and how to design algorithms. Thanks to all the expert teachers who taught in this course.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 2,090 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Akintimehin A O

Sep 13, 2020

Wow!!! I'm actually super delighted that I've been able to complete this course. It was a great experience for me altogether because I have been so passionate about learning algorithms so I can get a job in a top company in the US, UK or Canada. I really want to thank Coursera for the opportunity to learn under great tutors. I'm super excited, and would recommend this course to anyone willing to learn algorithms.

By Андрей

May 26, 2020

This course is awesome! Good speakers, interesting lectures and a lot of tough challenges, applicable to real world problems. I found it very helpful. After completing this course you'll achieve an ultimate problem solving ability. Although it may be dificult for a total beginners. I would recommend it for those who aready has at least a little experience in programming. Also, basic knowlege of math is required.

By poojitha b

Jan 19, 2021

Me coming from a non CS background, I felt the problem sets challenging not only in terms of coming up with the solution but also thinking about the various test cases that might come up in the process. The course lectures are clear and helped me in understanding the main idea behind the concept. The interactive puzzles are engaging and fun. My suggestion would be to include more examples in the course.

By Mohit M

Jul 26, 2020

The problems were quite interesting and I faced a bit of difficulty in solving all of them because there's a lot of difference in writing algorithms and typing the code and I tried to cover that gap. Overall the lectures were very informative along with the quizzes and assignments . So I am very thankful to Coursera and all the professors who put in their efforts to enhance our problem solving skills.

By Bijoy K B

Jan 14, 2021

I really enjoyed learning from this course. I get to know about a lot of programming techniques. I m happy that I enrolled in this course. The assignments were fun and interesting to solve. I got a lot of help from the Discussion Forums as well. All of the teachers explained all the concepts, some of were new to me, in a very easy way, easy to understand. I also learned a lot about algorithms.

By Ardak K

Dec 9, 2020

Excellent Course. I learned a lot on algorithm, I can now bravely say that I know a bit on algorithm and can solve many basic problems. One remark though, I see that a lot of the instructors are not good at English and some of them are not good at delivering the information. Overall I enjoyed the course, the problems are so interesting that you can get lost in them for few days.

By Mohammad U C

Apr 12, 2020

The course is very well taught by Daniel Kane,Alexander Kulikon, Michael Levin,Pavel Pevzner and Neil Rhodes. Through this course i am to optimize algorithm in a very efficient way and also able to calculate its run time and complexity, this course gives a clear understanding of the algorithms taught and the programming questions are also up to the point . Thank you very much

By DANAJITHA K K

May 23, 2020

Are you a person who thinks algorithms are not so interesting? Why don't you just try this course and try solving the problems in this course? You will definitely get a better interest in algorithms. This course has definitely been very useful for me. I whole heartily suggest you to take up this course, if you are really interested in coding or solving problems efficiently.

By Atwin P

Feb 24, 2021

Hands down one of the best, with absolutely the most intellectually challenging (and rewarding!) assignments, courses I have taken anywhere ever. Massive thank you to the instructors and those involved in preparing the materials and the well-designed assignments as well.

Recommending this to anybody even remotely interested in algorithm and data structure.

By Mayank S

Jun 12, 2020

Brilliant course, it has given good amount of knowledge to apply algorithms in real world programming. There is only one issue which is the test cases are hidden from user which results in random hit and trials to achieve the respective result. The grader should improve and show what is causing test case to fail rather than printing anonymous statements.

By Андрій Л

May 9, 2020

Decent course for those who want to improve their programming skills. If you want to enrol, keep in mind that applying without having some background experience dealing with such algorithms will result in you not being able to pass it properly. The authors and presenters of the course have done a great job. My thanks and appreciation to you all.

By Balavinayak R

Apr 13, 2020

Excellent course! The course gives a rigorous coverage of tools and methods like Greedy algorithms, divide & conquer and dynamic programming. The programming assignments seem to have been meticulously designed by the instructors and one will come out of the course as a much better programmer if he/she works on these problems diligently.

By Stanislav S

Jan 12, 2021

So far the best course on algorithms for beginners I've found on the web. It's easy enough and does not require deep knowledge of math or data structures. On the other hand it is demanding enough and not a kind of useless video courses you can watch during lunchtime, this one actually makes you think and I can feel the effect already!

By Abhishek R S

Aug 21, 2020

I thank coursera . great tutors and the doubt solvers who consistently helped me with lectures and discussion forums and also for helping me enhancing my skills specially on recursion and dynamic programming.

I strongly recommend everyone to take this course who is thinking to dive in the pool of data-structures and algorithms.

By Marcello M

Jun 11, 2020

I teach CS in High School. I have a degree in Maths, so I never had formal, deep teaching in Algorithms - did it all by myself. In this course I learned a lot of things that I did not know, and some I never imagined they existed! I intend to reause some materials with my pupils next year! Thank you very much.

By Muhammad Y

Mar 29, 2020

This Course contains challenging assignments to solve, that makes the concept is more clear to understand, but I do not like when instructors are explaining the algorithm on pseudo-code only, if there is virtualization for how the algorithm works, this will make the concept is easy to understand and apply.

By Samuel G

Nov 4, 2020

If you like to write/read pseudo-code, write programs, debug programs, and puzzle out solutions to interesting problems, then this is the class for you. I had an absolute blast in this class and I'd take it again just for fun. It's as good as any video game, and maybe a little better. 5 Stars, for sure.

By Prince S M

Jun 27, 2020

It was a really amazing experience of learning on coursera. I'll surely suggest my friends to learn from this platform.

I have learned various approaches to solve a programming problem such as greedy, divide and conquer, dynamic programming and their time and space complexity as well and stress testing.

By Firas Y

Dec 6, 2020

That was very helpful, the courses are very well articulated by great professors and I appreciate that. I think I improved a lot in some areas like debugging, testing and the divide and conquer algorithms, while I learned something new like dynamic programming, which I wanted to learn for a long time.

By Aditya A S

Aug 29, 2020

Exceptional course. The approach to problems are smooth, the algorithms having arrays are for some reason indexed from 1 and not 0, as if it matters, but it did somehow successfully troubled me xp. But overall all the algorithms are small, and complex enough to stress your nights.

-AdiTOSH007/YouTube

By Aviral A

Jun 10, 2020

Very well structured course, with great assignments. The teaching staff if very helpful and active on the forums. Just one feedback, I would appreciate if at the end of each week there were links to some practice problems (on any platform or website) to further strengthen and develop the concepts.

By Drumil M

Nov 14, 2016

Instructors are perfect. The course is intense and not easy. But the way the concepts are taught is very lucid. One of the best courses on coursera. I am leading my way to the specialization. Again, the instructors are really great. The assignments are the best part of this course. Must take.

By Neil S

Aug 5, 2020

A challenging but rewarding course. Not reccomended for beginners. Be sure to have a confident grasp of control flow statements and programming logic.

As a beginner, some problems took me many hours to solve.

I highly reccomend for people who have never been introduced to Algorithims before.

By Andrew T

Oct 27, 2017

I really like this course and I have learned many new and interesting things. I think a good improvement may be a little more examples of real life problems which can/should and should not be solved using provided algorithms/methodologies... I plan to continue specialization a little later.

By Vivek S

Mar 16, 2020

This course is one of the best course to learn and understand the algorithms and why they are important to understand. The instructors were great and their way of teaching was just perfect. Plus the assignments were very interesting and gave very insightful knowledge on various algorithms.