Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
5,224 ratings
1,101 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second). Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,032 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Jorge M

Jan 13, 2018

Excelent

By WENBO M

Aug 16, 2017

Really great course for an introduction to greedy, divide-and-conquer and dynamic programming techniques. Programming assignments are challenging for beginners but are really helpful for mastering the concept and materials. Referenced materials are useful to understand the concepts when listening to lectures is not enough.

By Khalid M A

Jul 24, 2016

The ideas I learned about the classical algorithms and their run-times are really useful and interesting. The problems are also very good.

By Jakub T

Oct 24, 2017

A very useful piece of knowledge for software developers, especially after they get a bit of practice and need to refine their knowledge.

By Karun

May 09, 2016

Great course to understand different categories of Algorithms and which one to apply to solve a problem

By Shaival

Sep 21, 2016

Awesome explanation, very concise.

By Матвей С

Jan 03, 2017

Tasks are amazing. But sometimes had to google some extra help.

By Atulya S S

May 21, 2017

I like the set of assignments in the course. Well organized and well explained

By Jan K

Mar 01, 2017

The best course I have done on Coursera. The authors have put together a great set of lectures and especially programming assignments, which really force you to think about what you are doing rather than go by trial and error. What's more, you can submit these in about a dozen commonly used programming languages so you can practise the language of your choice while learning about algorithms. Highly recommended!

By Filippov S

Jan 28, 2017

Great and challenging course.

By Victor F

Jun 08, 2016

Extremely useful course, that will improve your understanding of the core algorithmic techniques.

By Aarshay J

May 23, 2016

Another one of Coursera's trademark course. Really awesome for beginners in Algorithms.

By Hao-en S

Jan 19, 2017

Nice materials and challenging problems!

By Francisco A A M

May 11, 2018

College quality course. Maybe even better.

By Mehul R

Feb 29, 2016

very nice

By Madan K

Aug 09, 2016

AWESOME course ,A must for any programmer.

By Spiridonov A

Oct 08, 2016

I was great! A lot of useful and interesting tasks to improve your skills.

By Sudhindra M

Mar 23, 2018

cool one

By Zhehui Z

Jun 07, 2016

Very clear introduction to algorithm basics. Reasonable quizzes and assignments.

By Noah P

Mar 01, 2016

Excellent course with tons of exercises and interesting lectures.

By Ram P

Apr 07, 2016

This is awesome and problems are challenging which pushes me towards my goal.

By Aditya S

Aug 08, 2017

Very well structured. Sure to help learners!

By Ashish K

Feb 06, 2017

The course is a great first course on algorithmic toolbox. I love the way the toolbox serves as a precursor to the more involved courses. In particular, the topic of stress testing is something that MOOCs don't cover in general and lead me to give up in my earlier MOOCs.

All in all, great job professors Sascha, Daniel, Neil, Michael and Pavel.

You guys are awesome.

By Arjun A S

Apr 25, 2016

Gives you very good insight into Algorithms basics that gets you going great with advanced courses.

By Virginia R A

Jul 29, 2016

Excellent!