Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
6,025 ratings
1,268 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,198 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Tanmay B

Mar 16, 2020

The course content was nice and concise. Looking forward to applying these in my coming coding competitions.

By S.Parthasarathy

Jan 16, 2020

It was really a great course. Thanks to the instructors for being very clear and precise in their teaching.

By Akhil S

Jul 19, 2018

Excellent course , helped a lot to learn and explore new ideas and algorithms.

Thank-You Algorithmic Toolbox

By rishikeshshukla47@gmail.com

Jun 16, 2018

Everything taught was great and has helped me lot. The coarse taught me new things which were very helpful.

By Saurabh S

Jan 20, 2019

Its amazing due to new questions... its a best course if you have to learn algorithm... I really mean it..

By Prabhat S

Sep 15, 2017

was perfect to start and thanks to instructor, I cleared many confusions and learned some nice new logics.

By Cardy M I

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent course! If you want to learn about basic principles of algorithm design, then take this course.

By Héctor C

Oct 30, 2017

Very nice course, I really liked the homework problems, I think most of them are enlightenment exercises.

By VASU S

Jan 24, 2020

Amazing learning experience. Thank you Standford University and Coursera for this wonderful opportunity.

By Davoud S B

Jan 03, 2020

very helpful, practically teach you how to apply basic programming while learning differernt algorithms.

By Баранов А Е

Jan 14, 2017

Informative, with minimal theory - it is plus for me, because allow save time. Some tasks is not easy :)

By Saurabh K M

Dec 06, 2019

Assignments are really good. Most of the important algorithms are covered and added to the assignments.

By Xiaoyuan C

Dec 23, 2017

Excellent course! Interesting, easy-to-understand, very good lecture sildes and programming assignment!

By Mauro B

Sep 11, 2016

Solutions are explained with too much detail. You should give the student a chance to learn by herself.

By Karun

May 09, 2016

Great course to understand different categories of Algorithms and which one to apply to solve a problem

By XIAO S

Feb 12, 2018

I really love this course, but the problem is that I hope to have better texts to read and understand.

By Marcus V M d S

Mar 28, 2017

The programming assignments are great, with the right amount of challenge to help fixate the learning.

By Seman B

Nov 24, 2017

Практические задания показались гораздо более сложными, по сравнению с тем, что объясняется в лекции.

By Anisuzzaman K

May 15, 2016

Algorithm Toolbox is an awesome course for getting started with problem thinking and problem solving!

By Alexander N

Oct 10, 2018

This course prepared very well. Improved my programming skill thanks to good programming assigments.

By Wai Y W

Jul 08, 2018

Excellent course for beginner! It would be even better if more tips for assignments can be provided.

By Arjun A S

Apr 25, 2016

Gives you very good insight into Algorithms basics that gets you going great with advanced courses.

By Md F

Jun 20, 2018

Excellent .. Programming skills to solve any problem using Algorithm will be drastically improved.

By عبدالحميد ع ع

Sep 09, 2017

It is a wonderful but i recommend some examples on slides on python or c++ to clarify the concepts