Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,830 ratings
2,075 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG
Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM
Sep 28, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 1,997 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Mohit S C

Jul 14, 2019

This is a must for everyone out there who wish to improve their algorithm skills. Their is so much that I learned only in 2 weeks.

By Dennis S

Jun 10, 2016

Great course. The team is doing a great work improving it all the time and the grading system and lecture are really good as well.

By Nestor A

Jan 22, 2017

Very informative. I am a self-taught programmer, and this definitely helps with the programmer's mindset. Definitely challenging.

By William L

Nov 25, 2016

Great class for students with some elementary programming background who are eager to learn the fundamentals of algorithm design.

By Nemat S

Sep 27, 2016

An excellent course. The video lectures are brief but explain the main points very well. The assignments are very well organised.

By Mohammed H

Mar 21, 2020

A well designed course, with challenging assignment problems. The best part, this course comes with fair quantum of mathematics.

By derrick k

Oct 3, 2019

This is a must study for every software programmer. This course has really opened my approach to problem solving and efficiency.

By Abhijeet B

Jun 16, 2020

The best course to learn dynamic programming and divide and conquer algorithm, Thanks to all teachers for designing this course

By Hassan E

Jan 29, 2017

It is amazing course. It presents the toolbox in a sequence of incremental levels to help you completely understand each level.

By Simon,Yunhui Z

Nov 3, 2020

It's a very good course for me to understand what's algorithm, very detail explanation. Hope it would be useful for daily life

By Rajeswar S

Jun 5, 2020

The method and the procedures taught in this course were totally new for me and really improved my logic and reasoning skills.

By Devkul S

Jan 18, 2019

We can get a clear concept of algorithm and dynamic programming. This course helped me to think loud on a given set of problem

By Ramalakshmi S

Sep 6, 2020

This course was really great. It helped me to learn the concepts and algorithms more clearly than my college. Thanks a lot .

By Faiz B S

Apr 23, 2020

It was a very nice, structured course and really helped me to grasp the basics of algorithms, especially Dynamic Programming.

By Rohit D

Mar 14, 2020

This course is the best one to learn algorithmic design and complexity analysis from scratch to advanced level. Loved it ! ;)

By O'KANE,DREW

Sep 21, 2018

A tough course no doubt, but you learn all the classic problem solving techniques in computer science. Well worth the effort.

By Burak H

Dec 8, 2017

Excellent course! The level is not very advanced but not too trivial either. The set of exercises are very well put together.

By Aditya S J

Oct 31, 2017

The best tutorial to study algorithm

the three approach to solve a problem is awesome

Greedy

Divide & conquer

Dynamic Programming

By Tathagata C

Jul 4, 2020

Very good course..

Problems are ranging from easy to difficulty.

One can easily learn the techniques used to learn the course

By Pablo V I

May 17, 2020

Excellent challenging course. Highly recommended for technical people who want to learn the foundations of Computer Science.

By Piskunov I M

Aug 18, 2017

Excellent compilation to increase your productivity. Interesting tasks and great system to check your algorithm. Great work!

By Dev G

Nov 14, 2020

The best course I ever enrolled in! The instructors are highly qualified professionals, and their teaching stlye is superb.

By Jayesh G

Jul 24, 2020

This course really offers a perfect blend of theory and problems. I learnt a lot on how to approach a problem and debug it.

By Sanskar K

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent set of programming exercises and requires some effort on the learner's part. A very good and well-defined course.

By Rohit J

Aug 16, 2016

this course is very useful. Every topic is covered here and the assignments were also very effective to check your concept.