Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
6,056 ratings
1,272 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM

Sep 29, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 1,201 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Herman C

May 14, 2016

More information should be given for the failed test cases. Is a waste of time to find bug if you don't know what the bug is. ie test case 4/13 in the minimal dot product assignment

By Ranjeeta K

Jul 01, 2019

I really liked the course design as it included programming assignments along with course lectures. Except for some errors caused in the submissions, everything else was just fine.

By Matija K

Aug 02, 2017

The programming assignments are great. They are not easy and really make you think and work. Some topics should be better explained. Especially in the Dynamic programming lectures.

By Aidar

Sep 19, 2019

Michael Levin should make more slides for explanation (with step-by-step examples) how Alex Kulikov and other mentors did. Also, it was difficult to hear only his broken english.

By Kerem C T

May 15, 2019

Very hard topic explained good. I had to get help from other videos(outside this course) explaining some of the algorithms in detail. Other than it was a good experience overall.

By Maziar M

Apr 17, 2018

The assignment are perfect. They are comprehensive and pretty challenging. Although, I believe the lectures could be a little bit better organized. Specially the last two weeks.

By Comsaripalli V P K

Apr 03, 2018

The Assignments and the Syllabus are Good. But The explanation of the faculty is not that great. You would need to read external material to better understand whats happening

By Andrey G

Sep 11, 2016

Понравились задачи и освещенные темы. Для работающих людей график сдач очень жесткий. Хочется успеть решить все задачи, но банально не хватает времени из-за дневной нагрузки.

By Tan P Z

Nov 18, 2019

I dont think anyone can keep up with the explanation of DP pseudocode, ironically went to watch youtube videos instead for explanation of code. Good course other than that.

By Mehmet S

Jan 28, 2019

Everything is good, except the test cases in the assignments are not given. It takes a while to debug without test cases. At least we should be given the failing test case.

By Menachem M H

Apr 03, 2017

Not well explained. Do read the resources and spend time on YouTube and stack overflow to understand the concepts. Otherwise definetly a challenge and an interesting course

By CHITRESH K

Aug 21, 2017

Nicely explained , enough for solving the assignments. Good for understanding various techniques used in solving different and almost all possible problems efficiently.

By Kushal A

Jul 03, 2016

The course material is very good indeed, but some of the instructors were somewhat difficult to understand because of strong accents. Subtitles were largely inaccurate.

By Arpit V

Feb 13, 2019

The practice question helps with solidifying the understanding.

1 star less, as this could be improved by giving dry run of as an example for algorithm implementation.

By Jan R

Aug 22, 2017

Course content generally was interesting, though explanations were sometimes hard to follow. Slides could contain more information to make the matter easier to grasp.

By Eshan R S

Aug 25, 2018

Some instructor's accents were sometimes confusing, and the subtitles weren't good enough, but everything else was splendind and the exercises were well-thought-out.

By Shangqun y

Jun 30, 2017

Overall, the course is good, the programing problem is challenging, demanding a lot of thinking. I hope the explanation of the algorithmic can be more clear though.

By Daniele P

Aug 14, 2016

I learned a lot in this course and it was sufficiently challenging. My only qualm was that some of the pseudo-code was hard to understand and slightly misleading.

By 张艺谙

Oct 30, 2019

Most of the lessons are useful, but some parts are not much clear for me, so that I need to find some other materials.

The programming exercises are challenging.

By Socrates V F L

Aug 26, 2016

To complete this course you should be familiar with programming. While the first weeks are relatively easy to follow, last ones are really hard to keep up with.

By Daniel U

Mar 24, 2016

This is an awesome Course. I'd like that the failed tests, of the submitted programs, to be shown, in order to have a better idea where you are doing wrong.

By Sahil J

Aug 29, 2016

I found the course to have some really helpful approaches to solving algorithmic problems when test inputs are unknown. Great "Toolbox" for a programmer.

By Prianka B

Oct 11, 2016

Alexander Kulikov, Michel Levin and Neil Rhodes are awesome teachers. Every topic of this course opens a whole new dimension of concept. It was awesome.

By Pankaj K

Nov 11, 2019

Week 6 of the course is little bit hard as compare to the initial weeks and the rate of increment of difficulty is high in the last part of the course.

By Ryan C

May 12, 2019

Highly informative, touching on all the key areas while remaining succinct. Problem sets were excellent – only suggestion would be to add more of them.