Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
5,975 ratings
1,252 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG

Jan 20, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MB

Mar 06, 2018

Cool course. Thank you! One suggestion about your book (Learning Algorithms Through Programming and Puzzle Solving): could you add some theory which would serve as a brief reminder before problems?

Filter by:

976 - 1000 of 1,189 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By dheeraj

Jan 17, 2019

This is the best course on Algorithms and Data Structures online. This course ended up helping me in problem solving. I am very grateful

By Chang W S

Jul 12, 2018

Perfect lecture for study algorithm...eventhough I started from scratch in data structures and algorithm knoledge, it helped me a lot

By Bowei H

Jun 04, 2019

For a beginner, it would be better to provide the test datasets as it can help learner find the bug in their program. (Too ACM now)

By Juan S Z M

Aug 05, 2016

It is a brilliant course, well organized and pretty interesting. However, the problems are not as challenging as one could expect.

By fengyu

Dec 12, 2017

the teacher explain the algorithm elaborately, it really useful for me. And the OJ is excellent, I really recommend this course.

By aamir a

Aug 13, 2019

Great course. The only thing i'd like to change will be the accent used in teaching videos. I was hard to understand sometimes.

By Ahmad W

Jul 14, 2018

the instructors except daniel kane are really boring . they dont seem like they have 1% enthusiasm, the assignments are perfect

By Dariusz R D

Jun 17, 2018

it's quite good course which explain implementation, unfortunately book that can be bought as e-book doesn't contain solutions.

By Aldunin D A

Apr 15, 2018

I see no active help on the forum atm. 2nd part of dynamic programming is not explained detailed enough. All the other is fine.

By Michele P

Sep 19, 2017

The chapters about "greedy algorithms" and "divide and conquer" are well done. The one about "dynamic programming" lacks depth.

By Vipul T

Dec 26, 2019

It was an amazing month-long learning experience for me. I got this course with financial aid of coursera.

Thanks to coursera!

By CSSI-Coursera P

Aug 16, 2019

While few algorithms are given, concentrating on each one are helpful for a deep understanding. Subtitles could be improved.

By Albert S

Oct 09, 2016

Programming assignments are well structured in such a way that it encourages one to continuously improve upon the solution.

By Victor D C

Nov 19, 2017

Some videos are not clear and you have to read on your own about some algorithms. But the material an content was good.

By Naman Y

Oct 03, 2019

Topics in dynamic programming could have been explained in a better way and problems could have a little more variety.

By Nancy Y

Jan 16, 2019

Course is good, but nobody to respond in discussion board. I wish instructors/mentors available for clarifying queries

By Aman G

Jan 13, 2018

Please improve the video narration of some teachers as it gets really confusing sometimes what they are talking about

By Sachin R k

Aug 14, 2019

Assignments are of very good standard! I'd say they are tough and challenging which was the best part of the course.

By Fujii

Jul 22, 2018

It was difficult but somewhat easy to understand,

even though I didn't have enough knowledge of mathematics to start.

By Anthony N

Feb 16, 2018

Great fun for long-time professional. It's worth it to review these algorithms, as they're still interview material.

By Greg H

Oct 19, 2018

Was a great review of the tools you'll want to be able to pull from and communicate through as a software engineer.

By Alina D

Oct 17, 2017

There are some issues are needed to be more detailed, and opposite some easy issues are explained too meticulously.

By Raghavendra N M

Nov 30, 2019

It was really a good experience with coursera .I really enjoyed and also learned a lot .So thank You so much...

By Hanu

Aug 06, 2017

Hi,

Please cover few more examples on O(log n ) and O(n log n). O(n) and O(n2) was easy to understand.

Thank you

By shubham k

Nov 26, 2019

Real good exercises were provided and the explanation to all the algorithms was also detailed and to the point