Chevron Left
Back to Algorithmic Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithmic Toolbox by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
9,777 ratings
2,068 reviews

About the Course

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Top reviews

SG
Jan 19, 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM
Sep 28, 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filter by:

1926 - 1950 of 1,991 Reviews for Algorithmic Toolbox

By Krikchai P

May 9, 2020

subtitle does not match with audio.

unclear explanation.

By Kuldeep G

Aug 23, 2020

I think that video lectures can be made more detailed.

By Alakesh B

Jul 27, 2020

Weeks 5 and 6 were a nightmare. Very poorly taught.

By Rishi V R

Jul 6, 2020

More clear explanation with examples are needed

By Jayakumari M

Mar 4, 2020

Few videos in week 6 are not loading properly.

By siddhartha b

Jun 5, 2020

I learned a lot with the help of this course.

By Sanatan S

Jun 29, 2020

An okay course, a bit less implementative.

By GUDLA M S 1

Jun 6, 2020

the teachers were good and explaining well

By Erickson N R I

Nov 5, 2020

I didn't get anything after the 2nd week

By Apurv A S

Apr 5, 2020

The assignment questions were very tough

By HARSH S G

Jul 31, 2020

Can be made a bit easy to understand.

By Sawan P

Jun 29, 2020

Video Explaination should be improved

By Jitendra S

Aug 13, 2017

Need to more practise question

By Bijoy D

Jun 15, 2020

explanations are not so good

By Nicolas E

Oct 26, 2016

A little light on the theory

By Aryan V

Jul 7, 2019

subtitle donot work on pc

By Alan Z

May 17, 2018

Not well designed course

By harshit s

Jun 21, 2020

not good for begineers

By Ashwin M

May 15, 2020

Advanced for beginners

By 刘晓菡

Mar 2, 2018

kind of difficult

By Liangqu C

Sep 22, 2017

Feel not great

By Yi L

May 27, 2019

继续努力

By Nuthalapati s s

Nov 20, 2020

ok

By Zhongyu K

May 13, 2016

Even though this course covers a lot fundamentals for introduction to algorithm, the course itself is not designed as good as I expected. For starters, the weekly problem designs aren't very good. Some problem statements are ambiguous and not very clear unless you read more than one time or take a closer look at the examples. Often, the input format/arguments are designed to take redundant info. Some problem even has more than one possible correct outputs, which is just confusing for learning purpose.

In terms of lecture videos, it's good that there are some classic algorithm problems being demonstrated in the video, however the linkage between how to express a problem in mathematical languages is poorly explained. For example, in the lecture of edit distance, the realization of the matrix was not well explained at all. I personally appreciate a lot of the thorough proving steps introduced in the lectures, however I personally think the proofs are often not well explained to the audience (I also understand that it's more difficult to explain proving steps). Considering the large variety of audience, I would recommend the instructors separate the comprehensive more in-depth knowledge into optional videos, in this way the audiences could decide if they want to spend time in optional videos or not based on their own needs, meanwhile the instructors could spend a little bit more time to explain the difficult concepts better. Overall, I know that talking and analyzing algorithms can be kinda of boring and challenging, but I wish the course videos could be stated in a more interesting and intriguing way.

By VICTOR A

Apr 26, 2016

The course starts very promising, but it gets worse week after week, culminating on a barely understandable week about dynamic programming. That’s when I gave up and decided to write this review instead, with just one assignment missing to complete the course.

Some of the teachers aren’t native english speakers, which is fine, but their english is very hard to understand. I found myself having to watch some portions of the videos over and over again in order to understand what was being said. I tried reading the transcripts instead, but the they’re even worse! It seems that they were automatically generated from the videos, thus suffering with the poor pronunciation.

The teachers use mathematical sophistication that feels unnecessary, but to be fair, they do mention it on the FAQ as part of the necessary background. However, even though it’s an online course, they barely use any teaching method besides very raw slides, some dry mathematical proofs and someone speaking about the content. The only resources offered to help learning are a few open source visualizations. I expected much more.

The only good aspect from this course are the assignment checkers, which allow you to write your solutions in multiple languages.

I deeply regret the money and time I spent on this course.