Chevron Left
Back to Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms by Stanford University

4.8
stars
4,380 ratings
841 reviews

About the Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Top reviews

KS
Sep 13, 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

DT
May 26, 2020

Thank you for teaching me this course. I learned a lot of new things, including Divide-and-Conquer, MergeSort, QuickSort, and Randomization Algorithms, along with proof for their asymptotic runtime

Filter by:

801 - 823 of 823 Reviews for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

By Mohammadmahdi H

Dec 17, 2020

The bad handwriting of the instructor is not a trivial issue as he pretends. He also talks very fast that makes it hard for people whose native language is not English to follow.

By Joern K

Aug 9, 2018

Seems a bit dated, videos are reused from older courses and sometimes don't fit well together anymore. Content is great and lots of fun to work through.

By Daniel Y

Nov 7, 2020

This course requires mathematical backgrounds. The professor talks super fast and sometimes he makes you asleep..

By Hardik A

Dec 22, 2018

Great course theory wise, but the programming problem is unrelated and gives too little practice

By David A

Oct 19, 2020

Audio out of sync, sometimes material climbs in difficulty without the climb in explanation imo.

By Neelesh K

Apr 25, 2020

The explanation could be better. The hand writing must be improved.

By Kamil K

Oct 5, 2017

Not practical enough, too academical approach for me.

By Safa N

Dec 17, 2020

I wish the lecture videos were shorter and clearer

By Wai C C

Aug 22, 2020

Too few examples but too many verbal explanations.

By Yash R

Apr 23, 2020

The course goes too fast and it skips the basics.

By Nishtha

Jun 20, 2020

i want to unenroll in this course. how to do so

By Mubin A

Mar 2, 2020

concepts explanation need to improve

By XiangRui L

Dec 21, 2020

The visualization was limited.

By Gangadharan V

Jun 4, 2017

Good course

By Ian P

Jun 27, 2018

He's a personable instructor, but I think there are too few examples, the course is too devoid of interesting history, and the language and assignments can be unnecessarily obtuse. I'll happily work through a challenging course, but it feels like a waste of time if most of your effort is spent translating.

By Ahmad K

Dec 20, 2017

The content is good and the instructor is good. On the other hand the fact that you cannot submit assignments or problem sets without purchasing the course is quite annoying. On all other courses which I have done without purchasing, you were able to do the full course which includes the problem sets etc.

By Amir A

Jun 15, 2020

it can be better if the professor tried to learn more algorithm instead of focus deeply on them

By Zengjia Y

Nov 1, 2019

Too theoretical, a bit too far apart from industry.

By Teoh Z N

Oct 2, 2020

I had high hopes for this course, given a rating of 4.8 stars. I made the mistake of enrolling in the class without reading the reviews.

The instructor is, frankly, not excellent at explaining concepts. Even though I had already known most of the materials taught in week 1, I still had trouble understanding the instructor. I am quite disappointed. Having completed week 1, I figured unenrolling the course would be the best option for me.

Lesson learned: ACTUALLY read the reviews (particularly the ones with low ratings) before enrolling in any classes.

By Alireza K

Feb 3, 2021

Note-taking was not possible.

The speaker speaks so fast.

The instructor does not explain simply, rather closer to being unnecessarily complicated.

By Tony A Z

Jan 29, 2021

not engaging enough!

By Shivam P

Aug 13, 2020

Only for geniuses

By Deleted A

Jun 1, 2020

time waste