Chevron Left
Back to Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms by Stanford University

4.8
stars
4,068 ratings
754 reviews

About the Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

Top reviews

KS

Sep 14, 2018

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

DT

May 27, 2020

Thank you for teaching me this course. I learned a lot of new things, including Divide-and-Conquer, MergeSort, QuickSort, and Randomization Algorithms, along with proof for their asymptotic runtime

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 736 Reviews for Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms

By Saurabh M

Aug 15, 2017

Well explanatory lectures with challenging programming assignments with a benefit to code in any language. Over all a great course !

By Yayin C

Nov 03, 2019

Very good! Just hope that the speaker could speak a little bit slower and make the slides clearer...Hard to read the hand writing...

By Yuanzhan W

Apr 28, 2019

The course is well organized. Clean introduction to most common sorting algorithms and the math behind them. Strong recommendation.

By 陈禧琛

Oct 16, 2017

I benefited a lot from this course, and I learned a lot. I will apply for grants, and continue the study of the following courses

By Yifu S

Feb 01, 2020

Very Nice course,I have got a Master Degree in Computer Science,but i stll learn much new knowledge and thinks from this course.

By Beau D

Nov 17, 2016

The math in this course is quite difficult, but the professor does a great job of explaining it in a very easily understood way.

By Luiz C

Feb 24, 2018

Great course, very well explained, great material and great exercises, with an engaging teacher: cant be much better than that

By Ali S

Oct 31, 2017

The course is not as not programming oriented as the Princeton one, but it is a better course in terms of theory and analysis.

By Amarth C

Aug 24, 2017

Professor's awesome, but some part he speaks a little bit fast, for non-native speaker it asks extra work to fully understand.

By Solomon B

Mar 11, 2017

Excellent course. The statistical analysis was a little too fast and overwhelming towards the end but overall I learned a lot.

By Arjun B

Jul 25, 2020

Despite of being an online course i learnt more than i ever could from my current college curriculum. Cheers to the concepts!

By Ehsan F

Dec 04, 2018

This course was a real one. The only feeling I had afterwards was that I wish I could meet him in person. He is just awesome.

By Venu V

Jan 18, 2017

It's an amazing introduction to algorithms. I enjoyed listening to the lectures. All the algorithms were explained in detail.

By Jay

Mar 19, 2020

Very Nice course for a newbie like me to mastering algorithms. I want to thank you institute for making this course for us.

By Aishwarya R

Jun 21, 2019

Learnt about Merge Sort, Quick Sort, Randomization Algorithms, Selection, Graphs, Min-cut. Thank you Prof. Roughgarden :)

By Rahul K

Feb 07, 2020

This course really give the idea how to approach the problem and analyse it and find the most efficient way to solve it.

By Aksheshkumar A S

May 26, 2020

really an amazing course and have covered the content very nicely and the programming assignments are also very helpful

By GAURAV R

Nov 13, 2019

The course is not an easy one but if done earnestly will help the learner a lot in developing a mindset for algorithms.

By TianJie S

May 12, 2019

very tough and challenging course. The professor explains very detailed mathematics analysis underlying each algorithm

By Michal F

Aug 13, 2018

Well-balanced course in terms of difficulty, theory level and practicality. Final exam could have been more difficult.

By Arju A

May 30, 2020

English got a bit tough for non-native speaker sometimes, but it required brainstorming and that's why a good course.

By BHOGIREDDY R

Aug 06, 2019

Best Course for Programmers. But this course needs some programming prerequisites to understand the concepts clearly.

By Liu X

Mar 02, 2018

Good course to get started with algorithms. I am already a programer, and still learn a lot from this course. Thanks!

By Daniel R

Aug 16, 2019

Although some concepts were a bit too hard to chew, this is a great start for someone who's new to computer science.

By Pritam B

Oct 13, 2017

The course is really good. Helping me to grasp the basic concepts of algorithm and to refresh the algorithms skills.