Chevron Left
Back to Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mastering Data Analysis in Excel by Duke University

4.2
stars
3,734 ratings
902 reviews

About the Course

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Top reviews

JE
Oct 30, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

PW
Oct 13, 2020

The course was excellent. A little difficult and overwhelming at times but as long as you stayed the course the professors gave you every opportunity to succeed. Thank you for your time professor.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 885 Reviews for Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

By Anna K

Dec 10, 2020

Even though the course can be considered as very complete, useful and challenging at the same time, the challenge was partly generated by the unclear instructions for the course, the tests and the assignments. It was quite difficult to follow (thank God to the forum!).

By Malcolm N

Sep 20, 2016

nice syllabus overall with great exercises.

wish it would teach more commonly used excel skills in business e.g. pivot tables, index-match, vlookup etc.

lectures were a bit hard to follow (esp the mathy ones) - i'd suggest reworking the blackboard craft

By Marcus H

Oct 15, 2020

Great course and an amazing professor; however, Week 4 and beyond should be redesigned. Linear regression is not that challenging of a topic, if taught well, and based on the discussion forums, too many people got lost at that point in the course.

By Pratyush A

Aug 25, 2020

Too much mathematics. People who want to get deep into the working out analysis should do this course. If you want to learn basic analysis then its better you do some other course as this is heavy on theory and the quizzes are very tough.

By Ali H A

Feb 14, 2016

This course did not live up to its potential.

The course should be retitled as an "Intro to Statistics" not learning functions and visualizations on excel.

I still have three stars because I at least picked up some useful concepts from it.

By Cynthia N

Feb 7, 2016

Great class, however I felt it was very heavy on statistics and math concepts versus how to use Excel for data analysis. I would've liked to see some strategies on how to analyze large datasets, look for trends, and clean up bad data.

By Lieselot D

Jul 17, 2018

The course was challenging and I learnt a lot. Some more practical exercises would have been helpful for me. Now everything came together in the peer graded assignment, where I missed some professional feedback to learn from.

By Bích L N

Mar 10, 2016

The attendants might already have a good foundation of econometric and probability statistics before taking this course. Some definitions might be difficult to understand especially how it would be applied in real life.

By Edward J

Oct 15, 2020

A very challenging course with a lot of very heavy maths at times. I found Daniel very engaging and he is obviously very passionate about his field. However, some of the instructions were ambiguous or unclear at times.

By Hazel H

Dec 29, 2017

so many materials need to read, feel loss patience. but in general, the course is useful. hope can reduce part of the material, no one can stand after 5 or 10 min's video, another 5 or 10 mins reading come along with.

By Yuting W

Aug 5, 2018

The tool and the video don't relate very tight.The tool costs me a lot of time.By the way ,for the Quiz 4, I totally can't get the results for the quiz.I found someone in the discussion met the same problem.

By Felipe B

Feb 1, 2021

Content in ok, but the format of the class it's screaming for a redo. This is not an easy topic, and the lectures are a little hard to follow. I learned more doing the final assignment and googling a lot.

By AASHISH P

Dec 5, 2020

This course very useful for people who are looking to make a career in Data analysis. It is quite difficult to understand the course for beginners as the teaching could have been in more easy language.

By Skyler M

Aug 4, 2016

This course is very challenging. I may not have had the proper background in mathematics to full absorb the material. Similarly I may have to busy of a lifestyle to have properly focused on this class.

By John E P

Aug 9, 2018

This course was very informative, but in my opinion it has a very steep learning curve. The course takes some very steep jumps from basic concepts to building binary models with out a lot or guidance.

By Pylo N

Oct 24, 2020

The course is not bad, however, the final assignment is not explained sufficiently. Instructors should provide a more clear approach and information given that this course is for beginners as well!

By Dove

Dec 7, 2018

Too much math makes it difficult to comprehend. I like week 1, basic excel also practical and easy to understand. But after week 1 everything becomes super confusing... The frustration is real.

By Qinwei W

Jul 9, 2017

This requries you other mathmatic or stastical background. So when you choose this course, you need check if you have master these knowledge. Otherwise this course will be so hard to you.

By Andrés A S N

Jul 14, 2020

The concepts that this course offers are extremely interesting and useful, however I think some of them are not fully explained, so you might have to do more research on your own.

By Bader A A

Oct 21, 2019

the data in this course is more as methodology than descriptive, he should have explained more about the real use of methods in data analysis because you will stuck a lot

By Ketaki N

Jul 26, 2020

Lectures were good, but directions and guidance for quizzes and project had some knowledge gaps, had to utilize outside resources to understand complete certain concepts

By Zuoren P

Jun 28, 2016

Quiz does not require hands-on experience of creating templates but rather simply plugging in numbers. Students may forget most of the content after finishing the quiz.

By Вера З

Jun 24, 2020

The course is good, but in some aspects over-complicated. I requires deep understanding in statistics and give not many insight regarding the Excel functionality

By Mustafa F A

Jul 28, 2019

not easy and enough documents. It does not teach excel. Excel is a bait for the ones who want to learn excel. The name should have been mastering data analysis

By Eduardo L G

Dec 31, 2015

The course gives you interesting analysis tools, but the title suggests you are going to learn new Excel tools, and you actually use it at a very low level.