Chevron Left
Back to Managing Big Data with MySQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Big Data with MySQL by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,452 ratings
796 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

Top reviews

DQ
Jun 20, 2020

One of the best course till now I find on Coursera, well structured everything and practice questions made me feel like real life problems as data were from real database of dognition and ua_dillards.

YC
Aug 19, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 778 Reviews for Managing Big Data with MySQL

By Yuliya S

May 20, 2017

EXCELLENT, all the parts are totally amazing. I have learned a lot - and used in practice!

Thanks Jana a lot. Magnifique.

By Anurag s

Sep 24, 2016

I personally found this course useful. Adding dognition database to make students feel of real database is a great plus.

By Julie K

Aug 21, 2020

I was most looking forward to doing this course. There was so much to learn and really helped understand Tableau better

By Andreas H

Sep 29, 2017

The editors made a huge effort for this course! Taking this course was a pleasure and a great opportunity to learn SQL!

By Aparajit K

Feb 18, 2018

Course provides in depth understanding of relational databases, MySQL and how to write queries in an efficient manner.

By Huang M

Sep 16, 2020

very informative and detailed. The forum especially helps me a lot and I have to thank Chris for his timely response.

By rAj S

May 23, 2020

will recommend this course for all the SQL newbies and professionals to brush up their skills.Great content delivery.

By Logan L

Oct 9, 2017

Super helpful for beginner like me to learn SQL language.

Step by step instructions let you build a solid foundation.

By Qian W

Aug 29, 2017

I really learnt a lot about the SQL language and I believe that this course is very helpful to my data analysis jobs.

By MAHIMA S

Jun 9, 2020

Exercises and quizzes are very well structured and everything is explained from scratch. Great learning experience.

By Najmeh T

Feb 17, 2016

It was one of the most efficient courses I have ever taken. Thank you very much. I learnt a lot from all excercises.

By Xin S

Oct 29, 2016

This course takes longer time than I expected but the practices are concrete, well-designed, and therefore helpful.

By An Z

Aug 8, 2016

Good introduction course to MySQL. Hope they includes how to import data, create table and update information too!

By Christopher L

Aug 9, 2019

Challenging, insightful and informative. And excellent course on using MySQL and TERADATA for business analytics.

By Brianna B

Aug 13, 2020

I am currently working with SQL but this course was a great refresher and good for anyone new to these concepts.

By Lakshya B

Jul 6, 2016

Amazing course and the quizzes are challenging. Learned a lot. Gives hands on experience on mysql and Teradata.

By Ishan C P

May 26, 2020

Recommended course for anyone who wants to practice writing complex sql queries.

Glad that i completed this! :)

By Umar F

May 2, 2020

Simply brilliant. Needs a lot of patience and perseverance, but worth it in the end. Thanks to Dr.Schaic Borg.

By Olga A

Mar 11, 2019

Thanks a lot for this informative and fascinating cours. I found a lot and learned how to work with databases.

By Fatemeh T

Jun 26, 2016

I wish there was a financial support for full enrollment at this course. but still GREAT course to experience.

By Michael D

Mar 5, 2016

Great, great, great course. Interactive and engaging. Relevant and focused. This is the future of learning!

By Sanem D T

Dec 6, 2019

A fantastic and challenging course to upgrade your technical skills from Excel to SQL!

Highly recommended.

By Tim B

Jun 8, 2016

Excellent introduction to SQL. Good, short overview of theoretical background. Lots of practice exercises.

By Zain S

Jun 8, 2016

Amazing Course. Learned a lot. A bit tough with exercises but was very helpful. Thank you for everything.

By LI K

Feb 29, 2020

It's really helpful which exceeds my expectation.

You can learn MySQL systematically through the courses.