Chevron Left
Back to Managing Big Data with MySQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Big Data with MySQL by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,778 ratings
885 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

Top reviews

DQ
Jun 20, 2020

One of the best course till now I find on Coursera, well structured everything and practice questions made me feel like real life problems as data were from real database of dognition and ua_dillards.

YC
Aug 19, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 869 Reviews for Managing Big Data with MySQL

By Rosalie D

Nov 1, 2020

I learned a lot from the course. It teaches the core concepts of SQL and also provides practical applications and activities. However, even when I have already completed the course and got the certificate, I did not realize that it still keeps on renewing the enrollment for 6 months and took money from my card! I tried to find Coursera's "customer service", but seems that they don't have one. Tried messaging on Facebook and calling their phone number, but no responses on both. Their help page also did not help resolve my problem. I am still hoping that someone can help me with getting a refund. Thank you in advance.

By Ted Z

Jun 23, 2020

The course starts out well, but by the 2nd half you pretty much end up teaching yourself by reading questions (that sometimes contain wrong information) and non-clickable article links from PDFs that work half the time. The Teradata interface is terrible, limiting you to seeing 10 lines of code in queries that are usually 2-3x that long, and without the line number references that most interfaces have that help you find errors. But it does cover the basics well before veering off into nested subquery logic that could have been done in easier ways.

By Justin F

Dec 9, 2016

This course provided a good introduction to SQL for me as a beginner and through challenging lessons forced me to learn SQL basics. After Week 3 however, I found that the level of difficulty increased steeply and not enough assistance was provided in the lessons to get through the course at a reasonable pace. In addition to providing answers to each week's exercises, further review of how the answer was obtained and the breakdown of the logic behind it would be helpful.

By Barshan S G

Feb 3, 2021

The initial stages of this course was wonderful and quite exciting. However, gradually it became hard and in my opinion the final QUIZ was extremely complicated and in contrast with the preceding quiz its a giant leap. I am disappointed with the final quiz and actually it made me lose interest in the topic matter.

Then again, considering the range of content, I am really surprised and the platform of delivery, specifically Jupyter Notebook is fantastic.

By Max R

Dec 7, 2017

I brute forced my way through this class. Many new topics are shown in the exercises and not discussed. Some of the exercises have misleading (or incorrect) information which made me spin my head for a long long time. However... at the end of it I do understand SQL query formation pretty well. If I could go back in time, I'd force myself to take this class with a friend or partner instead of trying to go it alone.

By Haolei F

Mar 8, 2016

The video instruction are not as helpful as I wished. They were too brief, and all the learning end up with doing the exercises. The regular exercises and the quizzes use different database system, and it sometimes hard to transfer what you learn to the quizzes.

The pre-quiz exercises are more helpful imo, but no answer key is provided. Sometimes I am still confused even after passing the quiz.

By Mohammad A

Jan 20, 2020

Great content, but this was over kill. The course was useful but I found it extremely straining to have to use 2 platforms (Jupyter and Teradata). I pretty much had to keep thinking everything twice, and it was over complicated especially that the Teradata website doesn't run smoothly and had many connection issues.

By SIDDHANT J

Apr 28, 2020

I was continuing with this course and have completed 2 weeks, but the Teradata Viewpoint doesn't seem to work. I am trying for the past 2 days and hence, I will not be able to continue this course. I liked the first 2 weeks though.

By Wen

Jun 21, 2017

Good, difficult course.

Materials have errors from a long time ago and no one seems to be updating it. These errors are wasting students a lot of time. Mentors and staffs respond to posts in a polite and timely manner.

By TE Z

Aug 31, 2019

the instructions of the final assignment seems a littble bit confusing. Many have reported the issues but the staffs didn't respond in time and the materials haven't been updated for a period.

By Anne-Sophie P

Jun 27, 2018

Very interesting and hands on course. But not a lot of maintenance, explanations and assistance on the questions, especially the Teradata exercises.

By Tristan J

Apr 8, 2018

The content is there but often poorly delivered, the videos aren't much help and it feels like the course is not setting you up for success.

By Jéssica A R

May 4, 2018

Is a great course, However, I Think some materials could be explained more by the professor, and not just for the student read.

By Xu L

Jul 23, 2018

A great course! However, some logistic mistakes prevent me from finishing the course. (Teradata account info)

By Ayoub E

Aug 20, 2021

I don't have any thing to learn about this course so it's very amazing for another person

By Yifan G

Nov 14, 2016

there are so little video tutorials, and too many exercises without video instructions.

By Jiahui B

Nov 28, 2017

It will be better to combine the lecture and code.

By Camilo E S C

Mar 2, 2020

Jupiter is way more helpful

By Jeffrey G

Oct 4, 2018

SQL interface is cumbersome

By Nimish K

Dec 19, 2016

reviewed. good course.

By Dhiyan J

Sep 16, 2021

Good course overall.

By Mathilde S

Jan 2, 2021

Good but not amazing

By Hui Z

Apr 16, 2019

too much exercise

By Squirrel M

Nov 21, 2017

OK, not great

By Semaka M

Feb 9, 2021

Gooo