Chevron Left
Back to Managing Big Data with MySQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Big Data with MySQL by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,467 ratings
800 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to how to use relational databases in business analysis. You will learn how relational databases work, and how to use entity-relationship diagrams to display the structure of the data held within them. This knowledge will help you understand how data needs to be collected in business contexts, and help you identify features you want to consider if you are involved in implementing new data collection efforts. You will also learn how to execute the most useful query and table aggregation statements for business analysts, and practice using them with real databases. No more waiting 48 hours for someone else in the company to provide data to you – you will be able to get the data by yourself! By the end of this course, you will have a clear understanding of how relational databases work, and have a portfolio of queries you can show potential employers. Businesses are collecting increasing amounts of information with the hope that data will yield novel insights into how to improve businesses. Analysts that understand how to access this data – this means you! – will have a strong competitive advantage in this data-smitten business world....

Top reviews

DQ
Jun 20, 2020

One of the best course till now I find on Coursera, well structured everything and practice questions made me feel like real life problems as data were from real database of dognition and ua_dillards.

YC
Aug 19, 2019

Nice and well-organized course. I joined this course after self-studying on SQL for a few days. The context is really nice. The only problem is the Teradata is not stable. I tried very hard to login.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 782 Reviews for Managing Big Data with MySQL

By Stephan H H

Jul 17, 2020

It is a excelent course. It covers from basics to intermidiate/advanced queries and it makes you feel confortable working on MySQL.

By Li W

Apr 24, 2018

Thanks for all the effort you have made to make this course interesting, practical and encouraging. You are an awesome professor.

By Corinna N

Mar 27, 2017

You get a lot of information and really need to invest some time but I highly recommend it, it includes many practical exercises.

By Guo X W

Jun 30, 2020

Generally enjoyed this course. Course materials were great. Learning curve was very steep towards the end of the course though.

By Vatsal S

May 23, 2020

The course is excellently designed and the tutor is fantastic. I loved the course. It has actually added value to my skill set.

By gayatri d

Apr 27, 2020

Really well structured course, with lots of practice exercises to brush your concepts clear. Thankyou Coursera and Professors !

By Erica C

Jul 26, 2018

The exercise and quiz are pretty helpful and comprehensive for me to fully understand MySQL and Teradata. Highly recommended!!!

By Lee M Y

Apr 9, 2017

Very useful and relevant. Able to get lots of practice with SQL in this course.

However, this is an extremely difficult course.

By Mahendra G

May 21, 2020

the knowledge of data retrieval techniques definitely help me for my college projects.join and inner quarry concepts are best.

By Cynthia N

Mar 9, 2016

Great class to learn SQL! Great learning how to use two different platforms and applying real world applications with queries.

By Evgeny V

Mar 7, 2016

That was a very useful and interesting class! Presenter did a great job, and her materials were very use helpful and relevant!

By Ruth D

Apr 17, 2018

A very steep learning curve, but so, so worth it! Jana is a fantastic teacher and the exercises are comprehensive and useful.

By Han T

Dec 27, 2016

quite useful. there are a bunch of exercises which are extremely helpful to help us get touch with real-world business cases.

By Saurav K

Nov 14, 2016

It's an amazing course. The final assignment is quite challenging but fun. All in all a very rewarding and satisfying course.

By Yoonji R

Aug 30, 2020

Very comprehensive, challenging syllabus - starting from the basics and finishing with real business questions and analysis.

By O M A

Aug 3, 2020

Very advanced and a good coarse to start studying about sql,toughness is also there so if u try hard u will get the benefits

By Mara A

Aug 20, 2017

Definitely worth your time. I don't have any prior knowledge on SQL and this course was a good start for a beginner like me.

By Abel M

Nov 5, 2020

The course material was excellent though challenging. It was worth the time spent reading and working through the exercises

By STEVEN V D

Oct 20, 2017

A classy introduction to data querying and the SQL language. Perfectly explained and great extended exercises. Recommended.

By Vidarbh

Jul 8, 2017

This course proved out to be really helpful for me. The explanation is easy to understand. The implementation is efficient.

By Jesper E

Jul 18, 2017

Best course I've ever taken. Short but precise in the theory and lot's of practice on real data sets from real businesses.

By Oleksii K

Apr 4, 2020

Amazing course! Learned a lot about SQL, how to write powerful queries and translate data-related questions into queries.

By VAIBHAV S

Oct 24, 2020

VERY RIGOROUS COURSE WITH GOOD AMOUNT OF DATA TO PRATICE AND PLAY AROUND WITH.

Perfect place to start for a SQL beginner.

By Dewald J A

Mar 3, 2018

Very good from-the-ground-up coverage of SQL with lots of practice on two different databases and real company datasets.

By Lidens C

Feb 11, 2018

Great realistic, exercises. Having access to large and very real databases really helps with practicing writing queries.