Chevron Left
Back to The Ancient Greeks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Ancient Greeks by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,716 ratings
489 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 22, 2018

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

GL
Oct 15, 2015

Well presented, wonderful insight into the world of the ancient Greeks. I learnt a lot, and it has whetted my appetite for more. I really loved this course, and enjoyed it very much indeed

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 486 Reviews for The Ancient Greeks

By Nadine A

Dec 31, 2015

This course was simply fantastic ! I was captivated. Pr. Szegedy-Maszak is such a great teacher. He makes you really live and love the subject. I'm looking forward for new courses. Thank you very much.

By Francisco S C C

Apr 6, 2020

This course really helped me to understand one of the empires which fascinated me the most and its influence on today's society. Thank you very much for this thought-out and well-presented course

By FELIPE M

Jul 20, 2017

Great course. I had a lot of fun and learned a lot. The fact that there were liks with assigned readings was really educational. Thank a lot to Coursera and to Professor Andrew Szegedy-Mazak.

By Marina P O

Nov 10, 2016

Me surpreendi muito com a qualidade do curso que deve-se, aliás, ao excelente professor Andrew Szegedy-Maszak.

Recomendo a todos os interessados em aprender mais sobre a Grécia Antiga.

By Robert B

Aug 25, 2015

Excellent course. Professor's Andy's calm and careful delivery is precise, scholarly and entertaining. I particularly enjoyed the readings, which I urge other students not to skip.

By Marcelo G d S

May 17, 2021

FOI UM ÓTIMO CURSO. COM ISSO, CONSEGUI ADQUIRIR UM POUCO MAIS, SOBRE OS ELEMENTOS DA SOCIEDADE GREGA VOLTADOS A CULTURA, AO SOCIAL, AO ECONOMICO, AO POLITICO MILITAR DESSA ÉPOCA.

By Felipe d A S

Apr 16, 2017

Very good. The readings indicated helped to expand my knowledge of Ancient Greece. Every undergraduate student in History, Philosophy, Archeology etc, must take this course.

By Michael S

Oct 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The lectures were easy to follow and the additional reading material fit to the lectures. I would subscribe to a follow-up course any time!

By Nuria M P

Sep 15, 2017

Extraordinario curso, fácil de seguir aún siendo en inglés por la traducción de los vídeos y el nivel de inglés en las preguntar tipo test finales. Altamente recomendable.

By Tallulah G

Aug 1, 2020

A brilliant course that takes you through a section of Greek history and gives an overview of areas of Greek culture and society. Very interesting, and taught very well.

By Luis P G

Sep 28, 2016

Excellent course. It has a perfect rhythm and the teacher has a good pronunciation which it is a important detail for no native english like me. I recommend strongly.

By Alexandra H

Sep 27, 2020

Excellent course. I certainly learned a lot and was able to expand my knowledge. Professor Szegedy-Maszak did an amazing job explaining the content in the lectures.

By Marcílio M M

Aug 13, 2020

A very interesting course, covers much about the subject and suggests many sources of additional readings. The instructor is very good and really keeps the interest.

By Evan S

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent course! The lectures were well-paced, thought-provoking, and really expanded my knowledge of ancient Greek civilization and its impact on the modern world.

By David E H G

Aug 25, 2017

muy bueno, el inicio, no manejo el ingles a la perfeccion , me gustaria q las preguntas finales despues de los videos deben contener en el idioma del participante

By Charles A

Sep 23, 2015

A Great course. very Informative I recommend it to all who want to learn a lot about the ancient Greeks their culture,history and contributions to today's society.

By BIJU I

Oct 7, 2020

Amazing course, not so easy to keep pace with the content included but yet worth doing it.. Enjoyed and learned quite a lot.. thank you to University and faculty.

By Chris G

Oct 2, 2020

An outstanding course. The lectures were well presented, the review quizzes thought provoking and the readings were enjoyable. Thank you for providing the course!

By Felice K T R

Oct 3, 2020

This course was engaging. The lectures were clear and stimulating. I especially liked the discussions around Greek drama, and how integral it was to civic life.

By Javier B

Mar 27, 2021

This is a wonderfull course. I've been listening to that man's voice for so long that now I feel a bit weird thinking that it is over. I really recommend it!

By Akumalla D K

May 16, 2020

I am really happy to learn learn and finish this course under Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and I thank him and Wesleyan University for this wonderful course.

By Dilyana M

May 18, 2016

Inspiring instructor. A lot of clarity in the lectures and some really interesting facts and stories. This course is almost like watching a great movie.

By John M

Jun 1, 2021

It was a great course. It gave me a beginning understanding of the early Greeks and the contributions they gave to the expansion of early civilization.

By Jesus R J

Jun 3, 2020

Muchas gracias por el curso, fue increible, maravilloso, magnifico y me gustaría seguir aprendiendo de diferentes culturas como Roma o Alejandro Magno

By Andrés F G B

Mar 19, 2017

Muy buen curso, cada detalle de la civilización griega fue enseñada de forma clara, logrando entender mucho mas a los antiguos griegos. Muchas gracias