Chevron Left
Back to The Ancient Greeks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Ancient Greeks by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,694 ratings
482 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 22, 2018

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

GL
Oct 15, 2015

Well presented, wonderful insight into the world of the ancient Greeks. I learnt a lot, and it has whetted my appetite for more. I really loved this course, and enjoyed it very much indeed

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 478 Reviews for The Ancient Greeks

By Liliana A O

Jan 10, 2020

El profesor imprime una especial emoción en el relato de los temas, esto logra conseguir lo que Andy dice: que pensemos con los griegos. Es genial.

By Elly C

Jan 24, 2019

The lecturer is easy to understand and follow, and clearly very knowledgable. The course content is interesting and very well laid out / organised.

By raquel p f

Nov 12, 2018

Me ha parecido un curso muy interesante y una manera distinta de ver el arte griego.Los materiales han sido impresionantes para el entendimiento

By Hussain A

Apr 2, 2016

Best instructor and lectures covering the entire area..But Assignments should include more questions so that to cover entire content of course.

By Kai H

Nov 19, 2015

The professor is very comfortable lecturing in front of a camera, which makes it quite easy to follow the lectures and what he is explaining.

By Bradford K

Apr 20, 2020

Very enjoyable and interesting. Readings are important, and take much longer than the estimated time, but the course is well worth the time.

By Gavin C

Sep 24, 2017

Fantastic course in its own right but also offers a historical context for Penn's courses on the Myths and Philosophy of the Ancient Greeks.

By Nina K

Dec 27, 2020

Fantastic format, great reading resources and a wealth of knowledge acquired. Thank you to the esteemed professor Andrew Szegedy-Maszak!

By Hazel S

Dec 29, 2019

An excellent course. Thoroughly enjoyable and really sparked an interest in the Classics for me. Many thanks to an excellent professor.

By James R B

Feb 2, 2019

This course is replete with interesting information. The teaching is very good, as is the layout of the course. Highly recommended!!

By David C

Jun 13, 2017

The course was very informative and gives me what I believe is a solid point in time and space to hang other historical learning on.

By OSCAR M B

May 1, 2020

Very enjoyable and interesting, I recommend it for anyone who has previous knowledge or who wants to get closer to the subject.

By Thomas H

Mar 20, 2021

Wonderful course, each lecture is delivered beautifully and engagingly. I only wish the instructor had more courses available.

By Elizabeth B

Jun 3, 2020

This is an excellent course, run by a fantastic lecturer. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the Greek world.

By Cesha W

Sep 19, 2016

Even though the professor talks in a monotone voice, I was so fascinated by the course content that I was able to overlook it.

By Beatriz m d

Jul 22, 2020

Fue un gran curso,espero que se haya más versiones sobre el mundo griego,sus hombres o mujeres.Y que sea traducido por favor.

By Thomas J N

May 10, 2020

This course incredibly interesting, the topics selected were fascinating to learn about and the course moved at a great pace.

By Soudip B

Apr 24, 2020

Very nice illustrations and explained by Professor.Nice accounts and viewpoints of historical details.Glad I took this course

By Westcott L

Oct 23, 2015

Very good course. I'm enjoying this immensely. Maybe a little less recommended reading, some of the readings are repetitions.

By Fernanda A B

Jun 1, 2020

It is a very good course to do, I liked it so much, and learned a lot of things about ancient Greek!! Thank you, professor!!

By Mauricio G C

Oct 22, 2017

Stunning course! Schematic yet highly enlightening, the perfect entry doorway to ancient Greek culture. Totally recommended.

By rocio g o

Jul 2, 2017

Curso fantástico que nos ayuda a comprender algo más la civilización griega y su influencia posterior en el mundo occidental

By Evelyn H

May 6, 2020

I learned an extensive amount of Ancient Greek history through this course, while staying intrigued nearly the entire time.

By Iván J C

Oct 25, 2017

Me ha parecido un curso muy didáctico, explicado desde una perspectiva muy interesante. Estoy muy satisfecho con este curso

By Markéta K

Oct 13, 2015

Elaborate and absorbing lectures, it was a great pleasure to follow. Thank you, PhD

Andrew Szegedy-Maszak! All the best, MK