Chevron Left
Back to The Ancient Greeks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Ancient Greeks by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,840 ratings

About the Course

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

Top reviews

AS

Apr 22, 2018

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

GL

Oct 15, 2015

Well presented, wonderful insight into the world of the ancient Greeks. I learnt a lot, and it has whetted my appetite for more. I really loved this course, and enjoyed it very much indeed

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 527 Reviews for The Ancient Greeks

By Stephen M

Dec 20, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed and gained a greater understanding of Ancient Greece. The lectures were informative and gave great insight to the events of that period. I would strongly recommend taking this course and thank all involved in the creation of this course

Stephen Miller

By Chuck C

Sep 6, 2020

I had taken philosophy courses in the past. This course helped me understand the historical and cultural influences at play. I quite enjoyed it and found it broadened my understanding of those times but also the genesis of many political concepts at play in modern times.

By Billy W

Nov 1, 2015

Professor Andy lectures really made me enjoy my time spent learned and studying about the Ancient Greeks, now having skimmed the top of some history of the Ancient Greeks I look to discover more by myself and as suggested in this course. "Think like the Greeks." Good day.

By David H

Aug 22, 2017

This course was very interesting and the way presented was great. By concentrating on the major events and historical figures everything fell into place logically and chronologically. The Prof was good at getting his message across. Thanks for a pleasure able course.

By Shirlei P S N A

Aug 10, 2020

O curso possibilitou o aprendizado aprofundado a respeito dos Gregos Antigos, sua História, sua cultura e as influências até os dias atuais da nossa sociedade. Como sou estudante da Antiguidade, para minha formação esse curso veio a contribuir enormente. Obrigada!

By Luiz A G

Sep 23, 2021

The greeks history period covered by the speeches was very well presented by the professor, although the amount of information given were a bit difficult to memorize due the timeline it covered and the richenes of the events, characters and situations involved .

By Elena

Sep 23, 2015

I loved this course and I was a bit sad when I finished it. I found it very interesting and the teacher was very good explaining and making it simple enough. The material used (presentations, maps, photos) really helped to round up the lessons. Overall, a ver

By Germán K

Dec 23, 2019

Excellent course to think about the story. Coordinated with an exhaustive teacher to explore through of the epic, tragedy, comedy, architecture and art in general as elements to get closer to understanding the Ancient Greeks and their democracy and politics.

By mohamed G

Mar 31, 2016

So thanks Prof ,i think that it was a great course and really my hope now is to visit Greece to recall Homer,Socrates,Hesiod,Solon.........................

As a course ,Ancient Greeks resource me much and i advice all students to take this wonderful course.

By David G

Dec 15, 2021

P​rofessor Szegedy-Maszak does an outstanding job of presenting ancient Greek history in an enthusiastic and meaningful way. I really appreciated his thorough preparation and candidness in sharing his wealth of subject matter expertise. Thanks so much.

By Leonard S

Jan 21, 2018

An excellent course taught by a talented professor. The course gave me a better appreciation of the influence of Greece in the classical era to our present day society. It did make me interested to reading more and thinking about visiting Greece one day.

By Natalia K

Jan 28, 2016

An amazing course! I have found many interesting details and also received completely new way of seeing the history of democracy! Special acknowledgment to professor Andrew Szegedy-Maszak for his work and generous way to give knowledge to the students!

By Miriam E G

Apr 22, 2018

Un curso super completo para iniciar el estudio de Grecia en tiempos antiguos. Un profesor muy didáctico. Los materiales sugeridos son abundantes para quienes quieran seguir estudiando. Uno de los mejores cursos de historia en Coursera por lejos!!!

By Caitlin B

Sep 13, 2015

What an excellent course! The lecturer sets a good pace and is very engaging. The subject matter is interesting, and the course hours per week are very reasonable. I also really like the MCQs to consolidate your learning at the end of each lecture.

By Jemima P

Feb 18, 2016

This was an excellent course on The Ancient Greeks. I studied Ancient History and Archaeology at University a few years ago and I found this a brilliant refresher to knowledge I had forgotten. It was well structured and interestingly taught.

By Jonathan C

Dec 19, 2020

Outstanding course. A fair amount of work is required for someone with little or no previous background in Ancient Greece, however I thoroughly enjoyed reading and researching the topics. The video lectures are excellent, thank you Andrew.

By Beth

Nov 7, 2018

This course is outstanding!! Professor Andy is full of passion for his subject - and it's a fascinating one! Free quizzes is an act of generosity in this day of restricted access Mooc's. Very active course mentors too! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

By Francine

Jul 31, 2016

An excellent course, one of the best I’ve done at Coursera. I hope Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak will give more courses on this subject, starting with the end of this course, the 4th century BCE, progressing to the 3rd, 2nd etcetera BCE!

By James R M I

Nov 15, 2015

Professor is very knowledgable and honest about the topic. As a student of classical civilizations I loved his simple communication style to explain concepts that tend to become overly complicated by bad professors. Definitely enjoyed

By Corina

Aug 9, 2016

I found Wesleyan University's course "The Ancient Greeks" rich in varied information. Professor Andrew Szegedy-Maszak's lectures are particularly thoughtful and the quizzes are clear. An altogether enjoyable, well-worth experience.

By Madhuri L R

Jul 2, 2020

The outlines of the Greek civilization are very well crafted in this course, especially professor Andrew Szegedy is very calm and composed, authoritative as well. Neither he exaggerates the things nor he disowns.

Thank you all...

By Deborah S

Nov 19, 2017

I very much enjoyed this course, which was wide-ranging and informative, while still being accessible for someone (me) who didn't know much about the period. It has definitely inspired me to go on and learn more about the period.

By Agnieszka M C

May 18, 2019

I will recommend this course. I was astonished by how many words, expressions come from greek language. The idea of democracy, the society in the ancient Greece all based up on the sources from that time. I enjoyed all 7 weeks.

By Xiao C

Sep 28, 2020

Absolutely enjoyed this class. The professor is great, knowledgeable, persuasive, very effective. I would take another class of his for sure.

It would be great if the dead links on the reading assignment pages could be fixed.

By Alan A

Jul 25, 2020

This is a wonderful course. I have learnt so much about 1000 years of Greek history, and I am left inspired to find out even more. There is a lot packed into the seven weeks of video lectures, but it never feels overwhelming.